We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, average hotel”
Review of Rungstedgaard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rungstedgaard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rungsted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I recently stayed there for business. Good internet connection, and friendly staff. But no dinner offered as the kitchen closes very early, and the rooms are rather bare. Avoid rooms on the ground floor as there is a bit of a smell.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

For an overnight stay on a business trip it was OK but nothing more than that.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Three of us visited on business for 2 nights. It is a very Danish hotel i.e very quirky and different to the norm. Very clean, very friendly staff, lovely setting and good brekfasts. Rooms a little Spartan and dinner not available i nthe hotel but there are lovely restaurants nearby. Would return again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We were invited to a birthday and 13.00 nearby the hotel so we emailed the hotel in advance and asked if we could get the room at 12.00 which they confirmed to us.

It rained cats and dogs when we arrived and when we left and the parking lot is quite far from the main building so bring an umbrella! This is Denmark.

When we arrived, the very snappy receptionist asked whether we were participating in the wedding party that night and when we said no, she informed us that we could not get the room until 15.00. When we protested, she got upset and phoned the cleaning team in a very unpleasant way. We were finally given a room and it was certainly newly cleaned - the floor was soaking wet. The room was very small - 10 m2 - and almost everything was very old - stone cold floor in the bathroom and nowhere to put toiletries. Nothing provided by the hotel except liquid soap and two plastic glasses + towels.

Well, we went to our party and when we came back around midnight, the reception was closed so we could not ask about the breakfast time. We had a 3 hour drive back home the next morning so we got up early and went to breakfast at 7.15. No breakfast and we were told that it was at 8.00 and if we could wait a little while, we could have some bread.

We left - the reception was still closed at 7.30 so we could not pay and left a business card with the key in the reception.

Do not go there unless you have to - it looks great from the outside and all public areas are nice but the rooms are really not worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trane&Trane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I must admit after having read the two other reviews on here I was a little sceptical about staying at Rungstedgaard, but as such we didn't have much choice as we were attending a wedding in the nearby church and the party was close by, so this place was ideally situated.
But we needn't have worried as we were met by an extremely helpful Receptionist when we arrived, and that really set the tone for our entire stay. We were so well looked after from when the booking was made until the day we checked out.
The room was light and airy, and really comfortable with free WiFi which you don't get very often and that was a real bonus. They even had complimentary mineral water and many different types of coffees for guests to enjoy.
We had wonderful buffet breakfasts and could sit outside in the garden and look out over the sea all the way to a small island called Hven. It is just such a beautiful and relaxing place.
In fact the whole place is beautiful and very Scandinavian, really bright and fresh.
We both felt really welcome and have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Living in Rungsted we wanted our US friends (a couple in their late 60s) closeby and suggested Rungstedgaard. A mistake we will not repeat. Our friends were given no welcome and information about breakfast hours, emergency escape, check out time, phone no. for reception etc. Nor was such information to be found in the room. They were - with heavy luggage - not offered any help to get to the room (on 3rd floor in the opposite end of the hotel) regardless of them being senior citizens and no elevator in that end of the hotel. They struggled their way to the room to find - a small dinky single room for the two of them. An amazingly dumb mistake by the receptionist who saw and handed out keys for the both of them. (Visitors with just the slightest walking disabilities should be aware that this is not a hotel for them. Long walks on each floor, no elevator, and only sparingly waring of the many construction hassards - uneven floors, supporting pillars in the middle of a walk way etc.

On their 3rd morning at the hotel they were refused breakfast in the restaurant. The serving hours were different from the two previous mornings. Which could be okay - if the hotel informed the guests of the breakfast hours - upon arrival or at least in written material to be found in the room. The view from the room was of a huge pile of gravel (identical to photo no. 3 on the review "watch out building site". And regardless that the water in our area is extremely hard (high content of calcium) there was no conditioner to be found in the bathroom of the hotel room - only shampoo and a very small bar of soap. Ameneties were at an absolute minimum in number and quality. To be honest we have visited hostels in Denmark with much higher quality and better service.

Our friends were offered no compensation for the lack of quality and service and not much in terms of a propor excuse either. The construction (going on until summer 2011) was part of the problem, and the hotel should definitely have closed down during the construction period (but probably can't afford to do so). However, the remaining problems were all related to a lack of understanding of how to run a hotel professionally.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Hotel is nicely situated close to the marina, woods in the back, next to the Karen Blixen museum, big parking, nice spacious rooms, relatively clean, the hotel and the rooms are very "nordic" = clean, white, crisp, Ikea clone furniture everywhere, not exactly charming nor romantic...and also beware and watch out: until summer 2011 big building project !!

Although they mentioned on their website:

QUOTE
They (= the contractor) met all of our demands for respect for the existing buildings, minimal impact on the estate, and preservation of the view from the current facilities over the sound and the woods
UNQUOTE

much to my unpleasant surprise I found out that the front and the back of the hotel is just one big building site: earth moving equipment, containers, workers inside and outside the hotel, noise, no lunch possibilities, no dinner.

I attach pictures of the view from our room (first floor), our friends were on the ground floor, you can imagine their view...

Stay away until at least next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peetersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rungsted
4.5 mi away
Kurhotel Skodsborg
Kurhotel Skodsborg
#1 of 1 in Skodsborg
322 reviews
11.5 mi away
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
#1 of 4 in Helsingoer
452 reviews
2.4 mi away
First Hotel Marina
First Hotel Marina
#1 of 1 in Vedbaek
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Comwell Borupgaard
Comwell Borupgaard
#1 of 2 in Snekkersten
317 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Brinkly
Hotel Villa Brinkly
#2 of 2 in Snekkersten
39 reviews
8.8 mi away
Skovshoved Hotel
Skovshoved Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlottenlund
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rungstedgaard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rungstedgaard

Address: Rungsted Strandvej 107, Rungsted 2960, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Hoersholm Municipality > Rungsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rungsted
Price Range: £100 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rungstedgaard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rungstedgaard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing