We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branxholm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This place is just incredible. I really felt at home here, I loved going on the walk, and I loved feeding the alpacas!! the host's were really nice, I will be bringing my two boys here next time I come!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollyis1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed two nights in Ah Ping cottage. The hosts were very friendly and informative, the welcome pack of provisions was more than adequate. The setting was tranquil. A great place for a weekend away, or for a base to tour the area. So glad our friends recommended it to us.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Our family of 5 stayed for 2 nights but wished we had a week after seeing all the things on offer on the property and in the the surrounding area.
our 3 young boys loved feeding the alpacas and chooks and spent an afternoon in the river skimming rocks and looking for platypus. The facilities were modern,clean, comfortable and of great quality as were the breakfast provisions.
highly recommended for families and romantic getaways.

Room Tip: all cottages excellent. some better for couples than families. Owners can recommend appropriate cott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were there for 2nights,it was lovely,nice host and staff,we may come back soon.More modern than I was expecting, with a very nice gas stove and a washer/dryer. It was pleasant to walk down to the river or on the other trails on the property. We loved having our meals.Cosy cottage suitable for a couple and rural and river setting.thanks to Graham

Room Tip: choose FON HOCK is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomlucky85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

In short: this is one of the most amazing places to stay in Tasmania while also being incredible value for money. Book for at least 4 nights as our 2 night stay was simply not enough time…and we are already planning our return trip next year!

From the moment we passed the small town of Branxholm, turned off the highway and started heading up the fern lined private road - we knew we in for something special. The road opened up to an amazing landscape of rolling farmland hills with meandering alpacas and distant cows, quaint cottages, thick bushland and a nearby river. We headed to reception and were greeted by our hosts Graham and Christine. From the get go they were absolutely amazing, so friendly and welcoming. They have a real passion for their property and its history and they shared some of this with us. One small example of their exceptional hospitality is they greeted us with a complementary bottle of wine as it was my partner’s birthday during the stay.

This cottage (Fon Hock) had everything we could every wish for and more. Complete with gas top cooking, fan forced full sized oven, decent size fridge stocked with juice, bacon, breakfast sausages, eggs, long life milk, jams and butter, a really comfortable bed, instantaneous gas hot water for long showers, double shower, shampoo and a bar of Dove soap. The furnishings are really high quality; a three seater super comfortable leather couch, a LCD TV with HDMI input for laptops (not a massive sized one, but the right size for the space it was in), gas log heater…the list goes on. There is one item that deserves a special mention: the outdoor spa! This wonderful two person spa is just amazing, top quality and totally relaxing. It’s very private and you can happily skinny dip or even have a shower while taking in the views as it also has a shower head.

There is plenty to do while staying here; walking, meeting the alpacas, trying to spot the elusive platypus (we failed this time, but will try again!) or just relaxing inside on the couch while watching a DVD. For the cook, this is a well setup cabin. There are basic cooking condiments (flour, brown sugar, baking soda, herbs, spices, maple syrup, oil, etc) and a good, clean BBQ outside. The supermarket in Branxholm is basic, so it is best to shop in Launceston and pack an eski.

Our only mistake was booking just 2 nights at this wonderful location. We can’t wait to go back here, an amazing retreat tucked away from the real world!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We booked 2 nights here during our Tassie trip. The cottage was very comfortable for my family of 4 (2 kids under 4). More modern than I was expecting, with a very nice gas stove and a washer/dryer. It was pleasant to walk down to the river or on the other trails on the property. We loved having our meals out on the patio while we watched the alpacas. Just a note for the serious fisherman - they do catch some, however the fishing is not great in this area because of damage to the ecosystem during the mining years. A long recovery process is underway though! Interesting, beautiful, and relaxing property.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
Thank l2trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Decided to have three nights at Tin Dragon based on the Trip Reviews . We needed a base to explore NE Tassie and Chintock cottage was excellent. We self catered and found it was a breeze all kitchen equipment provided and washer/dryer was a bonus. Cosy cottage suitable for a couple and rural and river setting.. a delight. I was patient so saw the resident platypus , but also saw lots of charming Echindnas around the property. Owner Graham is proud of his cottages and keeps them in top condition and is eager to provide local interest & tourist info if required.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tardustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Address: 3 Coxs Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range: £90 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing