We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay at Chin Tock Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branxholm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith NSW
1 review
“our stay at Chin Tock Cottage”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just got back from 5 nights here! A great find...lots of pluses!
The area is tucked away, saw a platypus on our first evening. The cottage is gorgeous with a great outdoor spa (fantastic even if it s raining!)
Brekky supplies are good and a welcome decanter of port was a nice touch.
Graham was very helpful and informative.
The farm feel...alpacas, chooks etc really make this place a little slice of country heaven!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
110
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We spent 2 nights at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages. The cottages themselves are very comfortable with everything you could need in a family home catered for. Good quality appliances and fittings. Breakfast provisions thoughtful and generous together with usual beverages and snacks. The location is beautiful and ideal for families. So many lovely forest and river walks to do, alpacas to feed, native flora and fauna to see - and this is all on site. There are many places of interest and beauty to visit nearby too. The hosts very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We would love to have spent a few more days. Highly recommend!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages for 3 nights in February, and it was the best place by far we stayed in Tasmania. Everything was perfect, Christine and Graham have created a wonderful place, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed in Chintock Cottage, which had a fabulous outdoor spa, with wonderful views and the alpacas wandering close by, we could have stayed and stayed ! We even saw an Echidna on our little patio. Would just love to return here. Thank you Christine and Graham for creating such a wonderful place

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leasuretaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had chosen to spend three nights (wish we had spent longer) at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages during our two week tour around Tasmania. Information about the accommodation we found through "Trip Advisor". As we live in the "concrete jungle" of Hong Kong, we were looking for something calm, relaxing, and which would bring us back to nature. We have a three year-old daughter and thought it would be good idea to show her a bit of country-side, let her run without any worries in the fields, and see some animals in their natural environment.


As soon as we arrived we could see that we made 100% right decision. We were warmly welcomed by hosts Graham, Christine and young James. We were recommended to stay in Ah Ping cottage which had two separate bedrooms, very big living/dining room and the best-equipped kitchen we found during our two week tour around the island. Everything was very well thought-out by the owners of the cottages, and you could find everything you need for comfortable stay, including supplies for a nice breakfast. Very good value for money you pay.

We celebrated New Year there and made good use of the cottage's BBQ, which was very clean, good quality so we managed to prepare best lamb chops ever.

We spent three nights there. Our daughter still remembers this place and keeps asking when we are going again to feed chooks. When you stay there you feel like you are at home. All the cottages are build so that everyone has total privacy, peace and comfort. All of us are looking forward to returning there one day. Highly recommended to everyone, who is looking to spend romantic and peaceful time in the countryside away from all hustle and bustle of the rest of the world.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aukse2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

It's hard to add to the previous comments. The cottage (studio style) was large, beautifully furnished and well-stocked. The setting is delightful. We got up at 07h00 and walked down by the river - saw my first platypus in the wild and watched for about 10 minutes as it cruised around. Feeding the alpacas is great family fun - the look on our son's face when one spat a mouthful of food all over him was hilarious.
The hosts are passionate and committed. Their biggest challenge will be in maintaining their impressive ratings. whatever happens, this place deserves to succeed and I only hope the various councils and regional tourism bodies get their collective heads around the opportunity the tin dragon trail presents.
When I told some Launceston friends that we'd stayed in Branxholm they couldn't believe it - the town isn't much to look at. But even they are now curious about trying Tin Dragon Cottages.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Grant, Christine, and James. The property is peaceful and relaxing. We stayed in Ah Moy cottage-excellent accommodation. No detail was left out, from the well stocked kitchen to the light switch in perfect reach from the bed.

We had the best nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. We took the one of the recommendation walks and also sat by the creek waiting for platypus. We loved being in nature but having a new, clean cottage was most relaxing.

It was extremely romantic. No cell or internet service! A great selection of books and DVDs are available at reception.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ah Moy, which is wheelchair accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lve2travel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This place is just incredible. I really felt at home here, I loved going on the walk, and I loved feeding the alpacas!! the host's were really nice, I will be bringing my two boys here next time I come!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyis1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branxholm
4.1 mi away
St. Paul's Bed and Breakfast
9.1 mi away
Weldborough Hotel
Weldborough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weldborough
79 reviews
11.8 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#1 of 5 in Scottsdale
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Anabel's of Scottsdale
Anabel's of Scottsdale
#2 of 5 in Scottsdale
42 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rest Awhile B&B
Rest Awhile B&B
#5 of 5 in Scottsdale
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Property: Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Address: 3 Coxs Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing