We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branxholm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Tin Dragon Trail Cottages are a great idea and the owners are executing it with passion and commitment. The location is gorgeous and the cottages are tidy and clean with lots of fabulous homey touches. The downside for us is that they weren't that kid friendly with poor indoor outdoor flow and a bit dark when it is cold. I imagine they would be much nicer in summer. The gas fire makes them toasty warm - but a nightmare to keep little hands away from.

If I were travelling away for a romantic stay or a trip with grown ups it would be great. For anyone with kids under 4, try and find somewhere a little less closed in.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

Our explorations took us around the trail and we had a wonderful experience - some storm damage did make the path a little diffcult to follow and at one stage almost turned back - however we go there tripping over a couple of Blue Tongued Lizards across our path.
The cottage was a 'wow' on arrival - so beautifully presented and maintained - the owners deserve all their accolades and compliments faced with all they have had to contend with to achieve what can only be an asset to the area.
As British visitors our b&b experiences are totally different to the Australian way of 'doing' it. I would still place this marvellous facility in the self-catering category rather than b&b. Our four day visit did not have supplies for two people for the whole period without using just one rasher of bacon and one sausage per day - this may have been an oversight or perhaps it is the norm - we did not like to ask for more. As a five star b&b provider in the UK my guests should not need to nor have to ask for 'more'. This aside we have lovely memories of this area - it was like 'coming home' - the scenery was so much like the UK and to see dairies, cows, hay bales and rolling hills was a real treat after the Australian mainland - this is the only place where I could really say 'I could live here'. The night skies were indigo sparkled with diamonds and the quiet location was amazing - we loved it. Good luck for the future Graeme and Christine - stick at it - you'll beat them all!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OllysmumAlnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

If you want the peace and beauty of the Australian bush, very well appointed accommodation, genial and generous hosts and a well researched connection to the fascinating heritage of the Chinese tin miners of North East Tasmania then Tin Dragon Trail Cottages is the place for you.

My partner and I stayed in Chin Tock Cottage for two nights at the end of April and found it the most relaxing and enjoyable experience. Christine and Graham told great stories about the history of the original Chinese mining leases on their land as they introduced us to the simple but fully appointed cottage.

Fresh farm eggs complemented the ample breakfast supplies and a wallow in the outdoor spa followed by a glass or two of port provided a mellow end to a day walking the well marked bush tracks.

We loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages for 2 nights 24th & 25th April. A fantastic place to stay, tucked away in a lovely part of Tasmania - a little piece of paradise. We stayed at Fon Hock Cottage - very well appointed. Even though it was a wee bit cool, we tried the outdoor spa and it didn't disappoint - magic! Fed the alpacas which roam in the paddocks. Thanks Graham, Christine and James for a fantastic stay. Will recommend to everyone we know.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matchooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just got back from 5 nights here! A great find...lots of pluses!
The area is tucked away, saw a platypus on our first evening. The cottage is gorgeous with a great outdoor spa (fantastic even if it s raining!)
Brekky supplies are good and a welcome decanter of port was a nice touch.
Graham was very helpful and informative.
The farm feel...alpacas, chooks etc really make this place a little slice of country heaven!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We spent 2 nights at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages. The cottages themselves are very comfortable with everything you could need in a family home catered for. Good quality appliances and fittings. Breakfast provisions thoughtful and generous together with usual beverages and snacks. The location is beautiful and ideal for families. So many lovely forest and river walks to do, alpacas to feed, native flora and fauna to see - and this is all on site. There are many places of interest and beauty to visit nearby too. The hosts very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We would love to have spent a few more days. Highly recommend!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages for 3 nights in February, and it was the best place by far we stayed in Tasmania. Everything was perfect, Christine and Graham have created a wonderful place, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed in Chintock Cottage, which had a fabulous outdoor spa, with wonderful views and the alpacas wandering close by, we could have stayed and stayed ! We even saw an Echidna on our little patio. Would just love to return here. Thank you Christine and Graham for creating such a wonderful place

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leasuretaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Address: 3 Coxs Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range: £90 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing