We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Location with Great Local Experiences”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branxholm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquil Location with Great Local Experiences”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The hosts at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages have given a lot of thought to the needs of their guests. They provide a hearty breakfast hamper (which includes their own fresh eggs), and have stocked the self-contained kitchens with a wide range of staples. With so much gourmet food in the region, visitors can explore, purchase fresh produce and then whip up a feast in their home-away-from-home.

The actual property provides a wealth of things to experience: farm animals including alpacas & chooks; trout fishing, bush-walking, wildlife... The kids had an absolute ball, with so much space to run around, it would be easy enough to while away the time without driving anywhere.

But Graham, Christine & James are very generous with their time and passionate about their region, and encourage guests to discover many great attractions and local businesses in the north east. There's places to visit in every direction: beautiful waterfalls, mountain trails, rivers and rainforests; country pubs, golf courses and heritage tin-mining sites. In fact, way too much to cover in only a brief stay.

We were truly impressed during our three-night visit, and would definitely recommend the cottages. Immaculate, quiet and centrally-located for a variety of day-trips... and we would return just to enjoy another hour or two in the outdoor spa! Absolutely divine, very romantic and such a unique idea, relaxing under the stars (even in winter). This place has something for everyone.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Think-Tasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
110
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Tin Dragon Trail Cottages are a great idea and the owners are executing it with passion and commitment. The location is gorgeous and the cottages are tidy and clean with lots of fabulous homey touches. The downside for us is that they weren't that kid friendly with poor indoor outdoor flow and a bit dark when it is cold. I imagine they would be much nicer in summer. The gas fire makes them toasty warm - but a nightmare to keep little hands away from.

If I were travelling away for a romantic stay or a trip with grown ups it would be great. For anyone with kids under 4, try and find somewhere a little less closed in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Our explorations took us around the trail and we had a wonderful experience - some storm damage did make the path a little diffcult to follow and at one stage almost turned back - however we go there tripping over a couple of Blue Tongued Lizards across our path.
The cottage was a 'wow' on arrival - so beautifully presented and maintained - the owners deserve all their accolades and compliments faced with all they have had to contend with to achieve what can only be an asset to the area.
As British visitors our b&b experiences are totally different to the Australian way of 'doing' it. I would still place this marvellous facility in the self-catering category rather than b&b. Our four day visit did not have supplies for two people for the whole period without using just one rasher of bacon and one sausage per day - this may have been an oversight or perhaps it is the norm - we did not like to ask for more. As a five star b&b provider in the UK my guests should not need to nor have to ask for 'more'. This aside we have lovely memories of this area - it was like 'coming home' - the scenery was so much like the UK and to see dairies, cows, hay bales and rolling hills was a real treat after the Australian mainland - this is the only place where I could really say 'I could live here'. The night skies were indigo sparkled with diamonds and the quiet location was amazing - we loved it. Good luck for the future Graeme and Christine - stick at it - you'll beat them all!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OllysmumAlnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2012

If you want the peace and beauty of the Australian bush, very well appointed accommodation, genial and generous hosts and a well researched connection to the fascinating heritage of the Chinese tin miners of North East Tasmania then Tin Dragon Trail Cottages is the place for you.

My partner and I stayed in Chin Tock Cottage for two nights at the end of April and found it the most relaxing and enjoyable experience. Christine and Graham told great stories about the history of the original Chinese mining leases on their land as they introduced us to the simple but fully appointed cottage.

Fresh farm eggs complemented the ample breakfast supplies and a wallow in the outdoor spa followed by a glass or two of port provided a mellow end to a day walking the well marked bush tracks.

We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages for 2 nights 24th & 25th April. A fantastic place to stay, tucked away in a lovely part of Tasmania - a little piece of paradise. We stayed at Fon Hock Cottage - very well appointed. Even though it was a wee bit cool, we tried the outdoor spa and it didn't disappoint - magic! Fed the alpacas which roam in the paddocks. Thanks Graham, Christine and James for a fantastic stay. Will recommend to everyone we know.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matchooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith NSW
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just got back from 5 nights here! A great find...lots of pluses!
The area is tucked away, saw a platypus on our first evening. The cottage is gorgeous with a great outdoor spa (fantastic even if it s raining!)
Brekky supplies are good and a welcome decanter of port was a nice touch.
Graham was very helpful and informative.
The farm feel...alpacas, chooks etc really make this place a little slice of country heaven!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We spent 2 nights at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages. The cottages themselves are very comfortable with everything you could need in a family home catered for. Good quality appliances and fittings. Breakfast provisions thoughtful and generous together with usual beverages and snacks. The location is beautiful and ideal for families. So many lovely forest and river walks to do, alpacas to feed, native flora and fauna to see - and this is all on site. There are many places of interest and beauty to visit nearby too. The hosts very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We would love to have spent a few more days. Highly recommend!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branxholm
4.1 mi away
St. Paul's Bed and Breakfast
9.1 mi away
Weldborough Hotel
Weldborough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weldborough
79 reviews
11.8 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#2 of 5 in Scottsdale
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Anabel's of Scottsdale
Anabel's of Scottsdale
#1 of 5 in Scottsdale
42 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rest Awhile B&B
Rest Awhile B&B
#5 of 5 in Scottsdale
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Property: Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Address: 3 Coxs Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing