We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branxholm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

stayed here for 2 nights in fon hock cottage and it was fantastic. the hosts are super friendly, the alpacas are charming and the accommodation was very comfortable and relaxing. i loved the outdoor spa bath and the complimentary breakfast hamper was more than enough. a great place to stay if you want to 'get away from it all'. highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livingdolldisaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
108
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

The Tin Dragon Trail Cottages (TDTC) are excellent. My husband and I wanted to stay at a place where we could enjoy the beautiful Tasmanian environment. Certainly TDTC did not disappoint. The Ringarooma River is within a minute’s walk from the cottages and beautiful Tasmanian forests are only a few minutes away. For three nights we had a very comfortable stay in a nicely appointed cottage that is very well-equipped. It is called Ah Ping and is one of five, spaced so that one is far enough away from one’s neighbour. We found the provision at TDTC better than at other places in Australia and overseas where we have stayed. For breakfast (self-cooked), as well as the usual cereal, milk and bread, there were also fresh eggs, bacon, sausages, various sauces and even pasta. We thank Graham and Christine for their great hospitality and recommend the TDTC to anyone who wants to explore and enjoy the north east of Tasmania.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tdaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deloraine, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We spent a peaceful and relaxing two days in the north east of Tasmania at Tin Dragon Cottages. We stayed in Chintock Cottage which was private and very comfortable with an outdoor spa which we used both evenings. Our hosts, Graham and Christine were very warm and friendly and full of local knowledge. Excellent breakfast provisions are included. If you stay for a few days it is best to cook for yourself but this is no drama as the cottage is well provisioned with excellent cookware and a wide range of sauces, spices and condiments. We cooked a three course dinner of fresh Tasmanian scollops, fillet steak with mushrooms and chocolate mousse. We walked on of the trails and went further afield for a pint at Weldborough where they have a wide range of Tasmanian beers and cider. The cottages are located in the center of northeastern Tasmania so they are a good base to explore the area. You may be lucky to see a platypus in the river at the base of the property.

Room Tip: Choose a studio cottage for an outdoor spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary-Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We had such and amazing visit staying at the Tin Dragon Trail Cottages. Our visit has changed how we want to plan all future vacations.
The location is a little rural, you'll definitely want to rent a car. I live in Florida, and had never driven on the left side of the road. I was intimidated at first, but caught on fast & had very little trouble driving on the rural roads.

At night we looked up and saw more stars than I've ever seen in the sky. When I looked out at the mountains, I couldn't see a single other light. The space was amazing, I felt like we had the mountains all to ourselves.

This was my first trip to Australia. After spending a week in Melbourne, I wanted to see more of the countryside. When I found the Tin Dragon Trail Cottages (TDTC,) I fell in love with the place and planned our 4 day trip around staying there. We didn't go to Hobart or some of the more traditional tourist spots. Our time in rural Northeast Tasmania staying at TDTC couldn't have been a more perfect getaway.

If you want to see some absolutely gorgeous scenery without big crowds, you'll love this place.
The owners (a lovely couple with a very sweet son) bought the land about 10 years ago & have built everything themselves. I think the guy is some kind of genius. He designed and built all of the cottages, constructed a water system that makes them require zero water from the city or county, and plans to become entirely self-sufficient by generating his own electricity soon.

The way the 5 cottages are laid out, you don't really see each other. It seems like you are the only one on the mountain and the property.

It is worth noting, you should plan to not have internet access. There is no wifi or wireless. I'm sure if you really needed to get online, the owners would let you borrow their office computer.
My husband was worried at first about not having internet, but soon realized how much he liked the break. Without constantly worrying about work, his mind was clearer. I think it did a lot of good for both of us.

When we arrived, we immediately got to see what we started referring to as "hoppies." Wild wallabys & other similar small marsupials are very easy to spot after dark. They are cute.

The first day I wanted to do a little hiking, and the owners suggested a stunning hike to nearby Ralph Falls. We were the only ones on the trail and had an amazing view we didn't have to share with anyone else.

Our second day we checked out the Pygengana cheese factory--delicious! Then we took a short drive and arrived at an absolutely breathtaking beach (The Bay of Fires). Crystal clear water, white sands, and not a single other person anywhere in sight.
It was winter when we visited, which is the off season there. The winter was very mild, we'd wear a jacket in the day and come home to our wonderful cozy cottage. It got a little chilly at night, but we loved sitting in front of the fireplace and talking. Without email, facebook, or other distractions we were able to spend some real quality time together.

We loved coming home each night to our cottage. The breakfast supplies they gave us the first day lasted easily for all 3 mornings we were there. If you plan to visit in the winter, it can be hard to find lots of places for dinner nearby.

There's a pub within walking distance. It has a dining room and the food is good. We actually ate there 2 of our 3 nights. Most of the other options require about a half hour drive. The owners have provided each cottage with a barbecue, so you can easily bring food back and grill it. I'd recommend utilizing one of the food add-ons they offer if you don't want to cook or go to the pub. They will pack you a pick nick lunch and offer a dinner package. There are probably other options as well if you talk to the owners.

Part of the reason we wanted to stay at Tin Dragon Trail was the alpacas. They were friendly and definitely did not disappoint us.

The owners are also passionate about preserving some of the history of the area that was nearly lost. In the 1800s, the area was mined for tin primarily by Chinese immigrants who left when their mining was finished. There is some interesting history in addition to the gorgeous scenery.

Room Tip: The cottages with spas are really nice in the winter. Sitting in them under the stars is really rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happybethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

The hosts at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages have given a lot of thought to the needs of their guests. They provide a hearty breakfast hamper (which includes their own fresh eggs), and have stocked the self-contained kitchens with a wide range of staples. With so much gourmet food in the region, visitors can explore, purchase fresh produce and then whip up a feast in their home-away-from-home.

The actual property provides a wealth of things to experience: farm animals including alpacas & chooks; trout fishing, bush-walking, wildlife... The kids had an absolute ball, with so much space to run around, it would be easy enough to while away the time without driving anywhere.

But Graham, Christine & James are very generous with their time and passionate about their region, and encourage guests to discover many great attractions and local businesses in the north east. There's places to visit in every direction: beautiful waterfalls, mountain trails, rivers and rainforests; country pubs, golf courses and heritage tin-mining sites. In fact, way too much to cover in only a brief stay.

We were truly impressed during our three-night visit, and would definitely recommend the cottages. Immaculate, quiet and centrally-located for a variety of day-trips... and we would return just to enjoy another hour or two in the outdoor spa! Absolutely divine, very romantic and such a unique idea, relaxing under the stars (even in winter). This place has something for everyone.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Think-Tasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Tin Dragon Trail Cottages are a great idea and the owners are executing it with passion and commitment. The location is gorgeous and the cottages are tidy and clean with lots of fabulous homey touches. The downside for us is that they weren't that kid friendly with poor indoor outdoor flow and a bit dark when it is cold. I imagine they would be much nicer in summer. The gas fire makes them toasty warm - but a nightmare to keep little hands away from.

If I were travelling away for a romantic stay or a trip with grown ups it would be great. For anyone with kids under 4, try and find somewhere a little less closed in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Our explorations took us around the trail and we had a wonderful experience - some storm damage did make the path a little diffcult to follow and at one stage almost turned back - however we go there tripping over a couple of Blue Tongued Lizards across our path.
The cottage was a 'wow' on arrival - so beautifully presented and maintained - the owners deserve all their accolades and compliments faced with all they have had to contend with to achieve what can only be an asset to the area.
As British visitors our b&b experiences are totally different to the Australian way of 'doing' it. I would still place this marvellous facility in the self-catering category rather than b&b. Our four day visit did not have supplies for two people for the whole period without using just one rasher of bacon and one sausage per day - this may have been an oversight or perhaps it is the norm - we did not like to ask for more. As a five star b&b provider in the UK my guests should not need to nor have to ask for 'more'. This aside we have lovely memories of this area - it was like 'coming home' - the scenery was so much like the UK and to see dairies, cows, hay bales and rolling hills was a real treat after the Australian mainland - this is the only place where I could really say 'I could live here'. The night skies were indigo sparkled with diamonds and the quiet location was amazing - we loved it. Good luck for the future Graeme and Christine - stick at it - you'll beat them all!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OllysmumAlnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branxholm
9.1 mi away
Weldborough Hotel
Weldborough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weldborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
11.8 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#2 of 5 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
4.1 mi away
St. Paul's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Goulds Country Guest House
Goulds Country Guest House
#1 of 1 in Goulds Country
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lords Hotel
Lords Hotel
#4 of 5 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rest Awhile B&B
Rest Awhile B&B
#5 of 5 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Property: Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Address: 3 Coxs Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing