We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of magic!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branxholm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of magic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

What a wonderful, magical place to spend a few peaceful days. The studio cabin we stayed in looks out across a meadow with chooks & alpacas roaming across it, down to the tree-lined Ringarooma River which borders two sides of the property, and then on the other side there are green hills and cliffs - almost impossibly picturesque.
The cabin facilities are superb - comfy double bed, warm (double) showers, a gas heater that keeps even the coldest Tassie night at bay, all the makings of an extensive breakfast (including eggs from those chooks you see and hear in the meadow), plunger coffee, nice tea, hot chocololate (essential for those cold Tassie nights) AND an outdoor spa bath that allows you to lounge in warmth and luxury while staring at your partner, and the stars!
You can spend hours down at the river - we were lucky enough to spot (briefly) one of the elusive platypus who live in the river. The people in the cabin next to us scored several sightings the day before - maybe they were quieter than us.
We had a great walk along the Tin Dragon Trail which runs from a restored hut on the property which has a fascinating introduction into the history of Chinese involvement in the tin mining industry in north-east Tasmania. Look out for the amazing statue silhouettes along the path, which starts in an old water wash used to extract tin ore from the dirt.
In short, this is a magic, unforgettable experience, and my only regret is that it has taken us so long to get there for a visit. We will be back. This is a tremendous place to visit & do nothing, do a lot, visit all of the north east, or just put up your feet and enjoy the relaxed environment. You can't go wrong.
Christine & Graham are superb hosts, and can assist you with any query both great or small. You'll kick yourself if you don't get there!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
108
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Tin Dragon after having completed the Overlander track from Cradle Mountain to Lake St Clair over 6 days- the secluded cottages with outdoor spas are the perfect way to relax. Landscape is idyllic Australian farmland (with a South American touch...a herd of friendly alpacas!), with a small river running along the back of the property providing glimpses of a resident platypus at dawn and dusk. Cottages are beautifully designed and decorated and, as well as providing eggs and bacon for breakfast, the owners have been thoughtful enough to provide all necessary condiments and cooking ingredients (oil etc) to ensure you don't need to go into town mid-barbecue. They also generously offer access to their vegie patch as part of the deal. Perfect for an anniversary or other romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartynS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolga, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We chose to stay here as we wanted a central base to explore the North East of Tasmania. It was perfect as it was close to all we hoped to visit. Everything you could wish for was there, including extra food in the freezer if needed. The country side is beautiful and the alpacas graze just outside your doorstep. Most of the small towns in the area have places of interest so our 4 night stay was quite full.

Room Tip: All individual cottages, so you have absolute privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller982013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We chose to stay at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages on a recent trip to Tasmania with our two young children. Our choice was based on its proximity to some of the historic towns we were exploring (researching some of our family history), as well as the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor.

We were not disappointed!

Graham and Christine, along with their young son and Japanese WWOOFA (willing worker on organic farms) were exceptionally pleasant and welcoming hosts. It was clear from the moment we met Graham and had a tour of his latest project/tourist attraction (an innovative micro hydroelectric plant that uses part of the local creek water to generate power to run the farm and feed back to the grid), that these people are passionate about the environment, the heritage of the area, and they are keen to share this passion with their guests as well as the local community of Branxholm.

Following the tour of the hydroelectric plant, we were led around the farm as if we were their private guests: we fed the alpacas, collected fresh eggs from the hens, and picked fresh carrots from their hothouse vegetable garden (and were invited to help ourselves again any time during our stay). We were then left to our own privacy in our cottage, which was a short drive (or walk) away from their house.

The accommodation was a fully self-contained, two bedroom brick cottage, with nicely landscaped garden and paving, overlooking the alpacas and the Ringarooma river. It was clean, warm, and nicely fitted out. There was a full kitchen with gas cooktop, electric oven, rice cooker, italian stove-top coffee maker, toaster and a good range of supplies such as spare rice, condiments, cooking oil, tea, ground coffee. The fridge and freezer contained milk, fresh eggs and bacon and sausages for breakfasts. We had made sure we stocked up on groceries on the way through (in St Helens). This is recommended, as the local town IGA supermarket looks very small. There was also a front loader washing machine and clothes horse, a nice touch that came in useful (especially with the gas log fire to help dry our laundry).

We were very comfortable staying here and using it as our base to explore local historical attractions and old family farm sites. Graham and Christine also helped us by lending us 3 or 4 different books on the local history, in which we found more references to our ancestors. We also had a nice drive through the hills to Pyengana, where we visited the Pyengana Dairy Company for a delicious lunch, coffee and cake to celebrate our youngest's first birthday.

I would highly recommend the Tin Dragon Trail Cottages to families, singles or couples who are looking for high quality self contained accommodation in a beautiful rural setting in a wonderful part of Tasmania, with genuinely warm hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

This was the first place my husband and I stayed at on our honeymoon (in 2011 - the review details say April 2012 as that's the earliest date available in the list) to Tasmania. It is a lovely place and the cottage we stayed in was comfortable, very clean, beautifully furnished and just had a lovely feel. The ambiance was inviting, it was warm inside the cottage and the kitchenette and washing facilities very useful.

An evening walk will likely provide sightings of wallabies and paddymelons, as well as possums. You can also pat an alpaca (there's several in the paddock) and the blue fairy wrens are adorable (beware, they like pooping on car windows!).

It's very tranquil, and away from the owners' home, so you will not be disturbed. Also of interest is the miners' cottage (which was under construction when we went, but you could go inside and see the exhibits setup in there). Opportunities for bushwalking also.

The main drawback would be the fact that there are very little shops close by and we had to drive to Scotsdale to visit a supermarket (though the Scotsdale IGA was very well stocked). You're best to buy groceries on the way to check in, as there is no convenient place to have some dinner once you get to Branxholm. Despite this, there are many interesting places to see around the area and the owner will point them out to you on a map. You will have to drive, but they are not-to-be missed waterfalls, bushwalks, cafes and other great places.

All in all it was a lovely stay and we would definitely visit again. To the owners - sorry it took so long to post up a review!

Room Tip: The two bedroom cottages are cheaper, but they don't have a spa. So it depends what you're a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Easily the best place we stayed in our month-long Australia adventure!

Graham was friendly and chatty at check-in, very easy going and enjoyable to talk to. He gave us a tour of his gardens while picking some amazing produce for us to cook with our dinner. Tomatoes, onions, and bok choy. He invited us to help ourselves if we wanted anything else, which I thought was really nice. Loaded with veggies for dinner, he guided us to our cottage and shows us the basics (how to use the gas stove and the outdoor jacuzzi). Cell phone number loaded into our phone, he encouraged us to call him if we needed anything, and then disappeared. Our stay was incredibly private, but we felt like we could have really called just about anytime and he would have gladly helped us out with anything we needed. Really.

Now, I had been looking forward to our stay here for about a year, particularly the gorgeous outdoor spa (which exceeded expectations). Plus, in the month before our trip I had pneumonia and took several baths a day, each time thinking how much better it would be outside, in Tasmania. So the moment Graham left I jumped into that huge outdoor tub and just blissed out. The spa recirculates the water and keeps it warm, so you can stay in forever. So nice! And it's so big that two people can comfortably lay back and enjoy the stars (although we fell asleep before sunset both nights, still being a bit sick).

The property is really lovely and well-kept, with walking trails and that gorgeous river running through it.

And the cottages... Lovely! Our studio cottage was very well set-up so it felt cozy and spacious at the same time. The two person shower was a nice bonus :-) And the kitchen was wonderful! Well designed for use, and very well stocked! I made a big dinner our first night, and found everything I wanted and needed without any issues. In addition to bread and eggs, the fridge was stocked with milk, brekkie juice, butter, sausages, and bacon. Plus muesli, cookies, tea and coffee, chocolates, port, pasta, flour, sugar, rice, soy sauce, etc. In rural Tassie everything closes early, and it's really sweet that Graham and his wife have thought to include enough to make dinner in case you weren't prepared and didn't want to drive to one of the nearby towns.

All in all, Tin Dragon Trail Cottages was an inspiration. My mom has been talking about opening a B&B for years and keeps trying to convince me to come do the farming/cooking/horse wrangling and I keep thinking about all the awkward B&B stays I've had and saying "no way!" After this stay, I'm thinking, "Yeah! Let's do this, but let's do this like Tin Dragon Trail and make it super awesome!"

We will be back, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nefariousmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

After reading excellent reviews and a personal recommendation, we used TDTC as the backbone of our round Tasmania family road trip. We were not disappointed. Our family consists of a four and a two year old and TDTC was perfectly suited for us.

We spent six nights in one of the two bedroom cottages and was never at a loss of things to do. There are plenty of attractions in the area to entertain, from walking along the Ringarooma and spotting the many wildlife (platypus, echidna, paddymelons, possums), to walks, to fishing, to the lavender farm, to the beaches, nothing is too far away.
Graham, Christine and James were perfect hosts, welcoming us with open arms and honesty whilst still leaving us to our privacy and allowing us to explore on our own. True country hospitality.

The cottages were well resented, clean and cosy with a small pantry that had all the essentials. I was very surprised just how many dishes I could conjure up just given the pantry store, the eggs from the chicken shed and the veges from the garden, which we raided regularly :).

Overall, the perfect stay and the best family holiday ever.

Recommendations: stay min 5 nights, raid the chook shed every morning, sit quietly on the riverbank just behind the cottages to see the platypus.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaiDiemKnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branxholm
9.1 mi away
Weldborough Hotel
Weldborough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weldborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
11.8 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#2 of 5 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
4.1 mi away
St. Paul's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Anabel's of Scottsdale
Anabel's of Scottsdale
#1 of 5 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
17.7 mi away
Goulds Country Guest House
Goulds Country Guest House
#1 of 1 in Goulds Country
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rest Awhile B&B
Rest Awhile B&B
#5 of 5 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Property: Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Address: 3 Coxs Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing