We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branxholm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

An unplanned stop, but we were so glad we did stop and we stayed here! It was so good we then extended our stay! Love, love, loved this place, so peaceful - we enjoyed the nearby walks, waterfalls, meandering rivers, cheesery, the chooks (and eggs), alpacas, and a perfect stop over to/from Mt William NP. Just a perfect place. The hosts were amazing. So much to do in this area, and the accommodation was spot on... We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE_Tassie, Owner at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Our reviewers keep us on our toes and heart-felt comments like those expressed here let us know we are on track. We love this region of Tassie so much, we decided to establish a tourism business. Branxholm doesn't register as a tourism "icon". But, do come and stay with us and explore the region. You'll be pleased you did!

Thanks guys--hope to see you here again.

Graham and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Tin Dragon Cottages at Branxholm is a hidden gem! It is missed by the folk that stick to ‘icon’ tourism. That’s their loss because it’s really rewarding to get out there and discover the real Tasmania. Hosts Graham and Christine strongly support the intriguing Tin Dragon Trail of Chinese heritage with walks and interpretation (on their property & adjacent) that take you back to the 1880s when there were10 Chinese tin miners at Branxholm for every European. Alpacas, chooks, an invitation to pick fresh veges from the garden, a mini-hydro scheme, generous breakfast provisions are among the fringe benefits. But it is really the peace and the ambience of this beautiful place beside the Ringarooma River that makes 3 nights not long enough of a stay! There is no better accommodation between Launceston and the East Coast, and that is an under-rated arc of Tasmania.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jon_c662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My mate and I went Quad bike riding around the Weldborough area and decided to stay at Tin Dragon cottages. It was a wonderful place and perfect to get a good warm nights rest. Upon arrival we were greater by the hosts Christine and Graham and were shown around the cottage and general area of the farm. The cottage we stayed in had 2 double bed rooms, large living area, well stocked kitchen and large bathroom. Gas heating kept the place nice and warm with electric heater when sleeping. Although we never got to explore much around the cottages due to riding every day, I noticed there was a beautiful river and walking trails very close by which would be great to explore. We will definitely be staying there again on next years ride up there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggusstickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We recently spent three nights enjoying both the wonderful Tin Dragon Trail Cottages and also the great local hospitality on offer in the North East of Tasmania. Plenty to see: Pyengana cheese, pub in the paddock, Tin dragon Trail visitor center, St Columba Falls, the beaches of Bridport and wineries beyond. Wonderful accommodation in an idyllic location and well appointed. Highly recommend that anyone looking for for a relaxing escape anywhere in Tasmania gives the Tin Dragon Trail cottages a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

What a wonderful, magical place to spend a few peaceful days. The studio cabin we stayed in looks out across a meadow with chooks & alpacas roaming across it, down to the tree-lined Ringarooma River which borders two sides of the property, and then on the other side there are green hills and cliffs - almost impossibly picturesque.
The cabin facilities are superb - comfy double bed, warm (double) showers, a gas heater that keeps even the coldest Tassie night at bay, all the makings of an extensive breakfast (including eggs from those chooks you see and hear in the meadow), plunger coffee, nice tea, hot chocololate (essential for those cold Tassie nights) AND an outdoor spa bath that allows you to lounge in warmth and luxury while staring at your partner, and the stars!
You can spend hours down at the river - we were lucky enough to spot (briefly) one of the elusive platypus who live in the river. The people in the cabin next to us scored several sightings the day before - maybe they were quieter than us.
We had a great walk along the Tin Dragon Trail which runs from a restored hut on the property which has a fascinating introduction into the history of Chinese involvement in the tin mining industry in north-east Tasmania. Look out for the amazing statue silhouettes along the path, which starts in an old water wash used to extract tin ore from the dirt.
In short, this is a magic, unforgettable experience, and my only regret is that it has taken us so long to get there for a visit. We will be back. This is a tremendous place to visit & do nothing, do a lot, visit all of the north east, or just put up your feet and enjoy the relaxed environment. You can't go wrong.
Christine & Graham are superb hosts, and can assist you with any query both great or small. You'll kick yourself if you don't get there!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Tin Dragon after having completed the Overlander track from Cradle Mountain to Lake St Clair over 6 days- the secluded cottages with outdoor spas are the perfect way to relax. Landscape is idyllic Australian farmland (with a South American touch...a herd of friendly alpacas!), with a small river running along the back of the property providing glimpses of a resident platypus at dawn and dusk. Cottages are beautifully designed and decorated and, as well as providing eggs and bacon for breakfast, the owners have been thoughtful enough to provide all necessary condiments and cooking ingredients (oil etc) to ensure you don't need to go into town mid-barbecue. They also generously offer access to their vegie patch as part of the deal. Perfect for an anniversary or other romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartynS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We chose to stay here as we wanted a central base to explore the North East of Tasmania. It was perfect as it was close to all we hoped to visit. Everything you could wish for was there, including extra food in the freezer if needed. The country side is beautiful and the alpacas graze just outside your doorstep. Most of the small towns in the area have places of interest so our 4 night stay was quite full.

Room Tip: All individual cottages, so you have absolute privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller982013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Address: 3 Coxs Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range: £91 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing