We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquillity and comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branxholm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquillity and comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed with 3 other couple for 2 nights, and then stayed on for our wedding anniversary. All 4 of our cottages were very clean and comfortable; 3 were romantic getaways for 2, including the outdoor spa (under amazingly clear skies); and the 4th was 2 bedroom, so lots of space. We gathered at the communal picnic area between the cottages, which was well set up; but could have chosen to walk down to the picnic table at the river side - only the weather was too warm to walk! There were many beautiful walks of various lengths close by; we used the provided canoe to paddle upstream; and swam in the swimming hole in the river - a new experience, and delightful - swimming through the reflections. The generous breakfast hamper lasted us a couple of mornings, and the cottage was also equipped with pasta, rice and flour if we'd needed a late night snack. We watched shooting stars, satellites and the Milky Way whilst sipping champagne at the picnic table...talked to the alpacas wandering by...took Rusty the dog for one of our walks. Just a magic spot, and very hospitable hosts.

Room Tip: Ah Ping and Ah Moy are two bedroom and furthest from the river; Chintock, Fon Hock and Ah Back are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana_WHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
108
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights. Rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable. The kitchen has all the things we want and we had a wonderful meal during our 9-day jounary.
Also, the Alpaca are so cute and friendly. In fact, we are unable to find Alpaca early in the morning(they went to the other side of the farm). However, the host is so nice and he helped us to find them and even introduced the name of Alpaca to us one by one. He is very patient and helpful.
We had a very lovely time at the cottage and we highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franceshmchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coles Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed there for our wedding anniversary and a bit of a fishing trip. It had all the special touches of a B&B such as breakfast hamper, fresh herbs from the garden and homemade fruitcake but with the cleanliness and privacy of a resort. We enjoyed a paddle in the provided canoe to watch the platypus at sunset and Fly fishing on the property. We had a fantastic stay and can’t wait to get back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise_Marty_Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend escape away from the world and had no idea what we were in for. So quiet and away from everything. The owners are very polite and the serenity? Well, all I can say is "How's the serenity". With a river rapping around the cottages, green grass right up to the waters edge and more wildlife than you can poke a stick at, you can quickly forget where you are.
The cottages contain literally everything from glad wrap to baking flower to plunger coffee and biscuits. Absolutely Picturesque. Will definitely return!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QLD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Chintock cottage for four nights and honestly didn't want to leave. Every detail was thought of to make our stay comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. The kitchen had all the essential items to get us started, a breakfast hamper was provided, relaxing music, gas wood fire, oil burner, out door spa, gorgeous alpacas, and the beautiful river/hills surrounds with lovely hosts. The fresh veggies especially the kale were an added bonus.

It was a good base to explore from, and we visited the Bay of Fires and the cheese factory. There is a small supermarket to get supplies from before you enter the property as well. It's such a lovely place that you could just stay in and relax.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank myshalona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

After a short holiday on Tasmania's east coast, on a recommendation, we decided to take the long way to Launceston airport through the north-east, and to break the trip at the Tin Dragon Trail Cottages. It's a bit off the beaten track, but we sincerely wish we had allocated more than one night, as this was probably the most relaxing part of our trip, and there is plenty in the area to explore. The managers, Graham and Christine, were efficient and flexible with our booking, yet were extraordinarily welcoming and friendly. Our cottage was spacious and very well appointed, there were very generous breakfast provisions, and the beds were very comfortable. After checking out the historic walks near the cottages, we were introduced to the resident Alpaca population, and Graham invited us to use the canoe for a paddle up the gentle stream, where we spotted several platypus, and a bandicoot. At dusk, more wildlife came out of the woods and as all the cottages back onto a large paddock, there was quite a display of bandicoots and pademelons. As there is not much in Branxholm, and as the cottages are self-catering, I'd recommend picking up supplies for your stay in either Derby if coming from the east, or Scottsdale if coming from Launceston. Great place for a long stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandKandBandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We found the cottages through Trip Advisor. And what a find!
The operators Graham, Christine and their son, and the lovely Japanese lady helper Izumi made our stay truly memorable.
There is plenty to do on site and plenty to do within an hour's drive.
The cottages are immaculately presented, roomy, comfortable, and conveniently located close to some great nature walks and forest tours. We had a brilliant half day trip to Mt Horror, another great half day at St Columba Falls, Pyengana Dairy, Pub in the Paddock, and Mt Paris Dam and the Blue Tiers, just to mention a few.
Highly recommend the Cottages - stay at least two nights.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branxholm
9.1 mi away
Weldborough Hotel
Weldborough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weldborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
11.8 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#2 of 5 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
4.1 mi away
St. Paul's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Goulds Country Guest House
Goulds Country Guest House
#1 of 1 in Goulds Country
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rest Awhile B&B
Rest Awhile B&B
#5 of 5 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
20.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Property: Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Address: 3 Coxs Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing