We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place we've ever stayed, ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branxholm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montana (and New South Wales)
1 review
“The best place we've ever stayed, ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

We unexpectedly came across this accommodation in a flyer we found at a local cafe. It sounded lovely so we thought we'd check it out. It was the weekend and we weren't sure if there would be any availabilities, but we took the turnoff in Branxholm (very easy to find by the way) and came up to a sign that said "reception." Cristine, one of the owners greeted us and informed us that there were availabilities that night. We decided to stay for two nights, seeing as how that would make our accommdation cheaper. She took us round the reception area and pointed out the cottages, right away we were sold. Graham, her hubby, came down the hill to take us inside the cottage we were to call home, just to make sure we really wanted to stay (and stay we did!!). We pulled up to Chintock, came around the side of the house, saw the spa and the barbie and we knew we'd found our place. Graham opened the door and we were greeted by a lovely kitchen, plush leather sofa, a large bathroom, and an inviting bed. We had gas burner oven, flat screen TV w/satellite/DVD/CD, a gas fireplace...all the comforts of home without the clean up. Graham and Cristine were more than accommodating, and their lovely son James was eager to show us his chooks (make sure to have a look, for a 6 year-old, James has a great way with all those chooks). We had everything we needed including full breakfast (fresh eggs from James' chooks), fresh-cut flowers, a selection of DVDs and CDs, and assurance from Graham that we would have all the privacy we desired. We couldn't have found a better place to stay or people to greet us when we got there. We felt right at home, and we could've stayed for a week or longer. Our late-night spas we warm and relaxing with only the stars, moon, and an occasional alpaca or wallaby around us. It was absolutely perfect, and if we find ourselves in Tasmania again, we know who we'll be visiting. The Chinese tin mining history is also very interesting and unique and the proprietors have done a lovely job of setting up displays, information, and walks along the three mines that used to be in function. Rarely do you find such a spot where the owners have really put themselves in the shoes of the guest and provided them all they could want or desire...and on top of that they welcome suggestions for improvement and are always looking to be at the top of their game in for hospitality industry. Please have a stay at the Tin Dragon Trail Cottages sometime soon - you will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravelerMSDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
108
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

The facilties at our cottage were all anyone could need + the BBQ right outside on the patio. Beds were very comfortable, the little bag of individual toiletries were a lovely touch as well as the fresh flowers. The huge power shower was fab - though no bath. The provisions with fresh eggs from the host's chickens were delicious. Graham and Christine were very welcoming, helpfully pointing out where to go/what to visit.
Even offering us the opportunity of raiding their garden for fresh vegetables for our evening meals.
Finally I must mention the Alpacas which were in the field opposite the cottages - it was fun feeding them Graham thanks we loved it all. Sorry for accidently packing your sauces from the fridge. Wendy & Phil Healy St. Albans Herts UK

Stayed February 2010
Helpful?
Thank StAlbansWendyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

I have just returned from a fantatic trip around the East Coast of Tasmania with my husband and two little boys (3 & 4). We decided to spend 3 nights inland to view the countryside and relax a little (if you can with two little boys).

Our cottage was by far the best accommodation on our whole trip. Very comfortable with a kitchen full of goodies, including fresh eggs (I know they are fresh because the boys collected them), sausages, bacon - even the ingredients to make pancakes!

We will definitely come again on our next trip! Thanks to Graham, Christine and James for your hospitality.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tasman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

There are a number of very positive reviews of the Tin Dragon Trail Cottages and this will be no exception. From arriving and being welcomed by Rusty (the friendly farm dog) and then by Graham, Christine & James, the most friendly hospitable hosts we have had the pleasure to meet.

Our stay was made so welcome. Our cottage - AH MOY, was a two bedroom and like all the cottages built by Graham was built to a high standard with fantastic attention to detail. There was nothing we needed or were short of. I slept like a baby, not sure if this was due to the quality of the beds or the Alpaca wool filled doonas. We also loved the bacon, sausage and fresh eggs supplied. Christine has also gone to so much trouble to document the history of the property, chronicling the history of the Chinese Migrants who worked the land for the tin in years gone by. We only managed one of the trails and that was fantastic, still it will give us an excuse to return.

Do yourselves a favour, track down their website and make a booking before we beat you to it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanMelb0urne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay here. The cottages were well apointed with everything you need and the setting was fantastic. Graham and Christine are lovely hosts and will make your stay a memorable one in a beautifial part of Tassie. We will come back, Steve, Audrey and baby Dylan

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a-s-d-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Queensland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

We picked this spot because it was halfway between Angassi restuarant (Binnalong Bay) and Barbougle Dunes Golf Course. Also picked it due to the pictures on its web site and the fact that it looked nice and quiet. When we turned up we were extremely impressed. The accommodation was everything we could have hoped for. It had the latest flat screen, comfortable couch, gas fireplace, full kitchen, complete with ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING you would need for breakfast, cooked and uncooked. Bathroom had twin shower heads. It also had an all-in-one washer/dryer. Outside was a cleaned and prepared BBQ, table and chairs and a very big, state-of-the-art 2 Person Spa, which looks over the paddocks, containing a few alpacas. The outside area was completely screened off either side and had really nice gardens.

To add to the appeal of the place, Graham (the owner/manager) has created walkways around the forested areas of the property that used to be mined by Chinese immigrants (for Tin) prior to 1900. There are still some original watercourses intact, obvious areas of alluvial mining down some slopes (also some test pits). He has also preserved some of the original equipment. He has created a couple of very interesting and relaxing walks up and down through the forested areas (complete with steps in the steeper areas). He has also gone to the trouble of making up a visitor's centre, which has the story of the area, plus a few photos of some of the guys who were out here on the leases before 1900. You can have a look at how the area and its surrounds was divided up into leases.

We were not expecting that such time and effort had been put into creating such comfotable and enjoyable accommodation. We were also not expecting that such effort and time had been spent in recreating the area's history. It is a credit to Graham and his wife - we really had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_and_Rachel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

What a wonderful place to stay to explore the fascinating NE of Tasmania. The accommodation is 1st class with everything you could possibly want. Graham & Christine have provided the perfect place to explore the history of the area. Graham is very knowledgable and provided us with good info whilst Christine's influence in the Fon Hock cottage created a perfect ambience. Thoroughly recommended for whatever reason you're visiting that area - just for relaxation or an exciting couple of days getting out into the real bush with your 4 wheel drive and finding fascinating relics of bygone days.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branxholm
11.8 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#2 of 5 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
4.1 mi away
St. Paul's Bed and Breakfast
11.4 mi away
Anabel's of Scottsdale
Anabel's of Scottsdale
#1 of 5 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Lords Hotel
Lords Hotel
#4 of 5 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
17.7 mi away
Goulds Country Guest House
Goulds Country Guest House
#1 of 1 in Goulds Country
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rest Awhile B&B
Rest Awhile B&B
#5 of 5 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Property: Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Address: 3 Coxs Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing