We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branxholm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nevada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
Reviewed 21 December 2010

My husband and I traveled to Tasmania with another couple and first few nights stay were at Tin Dragon. It was magical and welcoming and a wonderful way to start a holiday.
Graham drove us to start of a great day hike and showed us all the local sights.
He also brought the Alpacas over for feeding and hugs. We spent time trying to spot the platypus in the river. We did a barbie at the cottage and the hamper Graham and Christine provided was abundant and delicious. At night we soaked in the outdoor tubs of our individual cottages. This experience alone
got the group vote as best of Tasmania. The cottages are lovely and Graham and Christine are perfect hosts.
Don't miss an opportunity to stay at Tin Dragon!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
109
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Graham & Christine were magic hosts for our stay at these delightful cottages. So charming & comfortable that you will have real problems when it comes time to leave! The outdoor spa under the stars is a real experience & the Italian leather couch was the most comfortable I have ever laid down on! It was a hard task making it to the actual bed! This place is a wonderful place to come & relax, unwind & even do a bit of fishing. Day trips to surrounding sites are a breeze - even the Bay of Fires is within easy reach. I can't recommend this place highly enough. I will surely be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed here for three nights with a large family group of mixed ages. Upon driving up the drive way we were welcomed by our very friendly host, Graham. It was so refreshing to be shown all the ins and outs of our accommodation personally by Graham, rather than have to figure it out by ourselves. Throughout our stay he gave us great advice on what we could do on the property and in the local area. A better host you couldn't ask for.

One day we went on a driving tour that Graham recommended which took us to lunch at Pynegana dairy which was lovely. We stocked up on their famous cloth-bound Cheddar and farm fresh milk. Another night we went to a local pub Graham recommended and had a good meal with friendly service.

Our first impression of the accommodation was that they were very clean and thoughtfully appointed. We are decerning 'foodies' and the breakfast provisions were great: simple, local produce in sufficient quantities. The rest of the kitchen was well stocked with many of the things that you need but rarely supplied.

This place is perfect for people who like to explore the outdoors whether seasoned bushwalkers or not, there are lots of nearby walks to do for all abilities. The children loved property's alpacas and chickens, although the platypus was elusive on our visit because of heavy rain.

We loved the fact that there weren't any phones or pay TV in the rooms as it gave us a real chance to unwind and enjoy what the area had to offer. There is Telstra mobile phone and 3G internet coverage so you aren't completely cut off.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TChampniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We had a very romantic and a relaxing weekend away. The highlight of the weekend was having spa under the starlit sky. It was magic. Graham, Christine and James were perfect host. They made our stay very comfortable and pleasant. I would highly recommend Tin Dragon Trail Cottages to anyone who is contemplating a romantic getaway. Another highlight of my weekend getaway was the animals and viewing of platapus. Other activities there are trout fishing, bush walking and tin mining historical site.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29molly49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monto, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Hidden away in lush green surroundings this tranquil place was just the peaceful setting my husband and I needed. Nothing was too much for Graham and Christine to make our stay memorable. This would be a perfect spot to marry and stay on for the honeymoon. Then to return in later years for anniversaries. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy_Booth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Tin Dragon Trail Cottages were the perfect place to start our romantic holiday. As soon as we arrived, we filled the spa, sat back & relaxed with a glass of bubbly! It is one of the MOST relaxing places we've ever stayed. Really comfortable bed with a snuggly doona, and lovely warm gas fire. The little touches were just as important - fresh flowers in the bathroom, along with the sample-size locally made toiletry products, were really lovely. Breakfast provisions were great also. Graham was very friendly & welcoming upon our arrival.
We absolutely loved the outdoor spa bath - it's both secluded enough to relax in, but has great views of the surrounding hills. The river running beside the property is also great to walk along and explore. This property really is picture perfect. We can't wait to go back for another relaxing, romantic stay. We can not speak highly enough of Tin Dragon Trail Cottages!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2010

What a wonderful way to start our holiday. First class accommodation, hospitality and service and the most peaceful, picturesque location. Thank you Chris, Graham and James (and pet rooster) for making us feel so welcome and ensuring we had the best time at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages. Magical place for children and the alpacas are absolutely beautiful. Can't wait to return. Make sure you add Tin Dragon Trail Cottages to your itinerary.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Property: Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Address: 3 Coxs Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing