We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like family!”
Review of Villa Schiatti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Schiatti
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We felt like family!”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The location is perfect for day trips to Cortona, Arezzo, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Perugia, etc. The first time we went looking for it we thought we might be going the wrong way, it's up a tiny road in a quiet residential area, with great access to main roads. It's situated in the quiet hills with a spectacular postcard view of the Tuscan valley. The Villa is rustic, quirky and endearing. The furnishings make you feel like you are staying in someone's home. Our room (number 10) was spacious with a gorgeous view and the only one with a door leading out to the beautiful communal terrace. Our room was equipped with a blow dryer, big towels, soap, shampoo, mini bar, safe, bidet, television (only Italian language) and a large bed. They had a bar and wifi in the lobby but once we connected downstairs, we could access it in our room. There is a pool and free parking. Free breakfast in the morning with breads, fruits, eggs if you wanted them, juice and any kind of tea or coffee. I have to say however, the thing that made the hotel so special and memorable to us were the hosts, Angelo and his wife. The entire staff was very accommodating but Angelo made you feel like you were more than a guest, you were a dear friend staying with him while enjoying his beautiful country. He regales with stories and recommendations, directions, anything you need, he will see to it that you are happy. They are the most hospitable people you can imagine. Be sure and have dinner in their restaurant, the food and Angelo's wine are out of this world and one of the best dinners we had in Italy. I'm hoping they put their recipe for the Tuscan bean and barley soup on their website it was sublime. Seriously, we can't go on enough about the warm and kind people that own and run the Villa. If you love getting to know people, their culture and the surrounding area, do yourself a favor and stay here for an authentic Italian experience. Believe what all the other reviewers say about the hosts, it's true!

Room Tip: We loved room 10, spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sildero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    73
    25
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
149
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Wonderful stay with hosts who do everything to make you feel at home! Very friendly and willing to help in whatever way. We lost our luggage and they were more then accommodating to help in whatever way possible.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyke m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argenteuil, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We spent 12 nights at Villa Schiatti and we would like to share with everybody how we enjoyed our stay. First of all, the location is wonderful, on the top of a hill with an incredible panoramic view. The style of the Villa is a typically tuscan house and you feel like in your house not like in an ordinary Hotel. The location is ideal to visit Tuscan and for instance you can easily join Florencia by train, it is very cheap and convenient. But the most important thing at Villa Schiatti is the incredible welcome of the staff and especially of the director Angelo. A kind of man which you don't even think that there is still one nowadays. He is a manager, a singer, an entertainer, and a pure Italian proud of his country. His wife Julia is a very high class woman very kind and professional and the rest of the team is fantastic. Last but not least the food is extremely delicious . We will never forget our stay and we are sure that you will enjoy it too. Chantal, FrancK and Clara, french tourists.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franck A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The school that I work for here in Italy hold a series of summer camps at Villa schiatti every year and so when the time came around again this year, I packed my bag and jumped on the train leaving Rome(*where I live(.

The mix of the beautiful typically tuscan rolling hills, the local and casareccio(homecooking( food and hospitality always make the fact that I am occupied with the kids from 8 in the morning until 11 in the evening somewhat managable.

As ever all the best to the Villa Schiatti Family and staff.

Daniel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielingiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

As part of a small group (14 people), we stayed at Villa Schiatti for two weeks at the beginning of May. The weather was perfect, the accommodations were excellent, the service was friendly and responsive, and the food was delightful. Although the group was primarily focused on painting, the local sponsors were fluent in English and well-versed in local culture and history. Villa Schiatti was a perfect place to "base" out of, since Cortona, Florence, Sienna, Abrezzo, Perugia, Lake Trasimene, and many other cities and towns were within easy driving distance. Day trips from the Villa can be arranged with the Villa's two 8-passenger vans. Small groups looking for historical side trips, cultural insights, and good shopping should consider staying here. In addition, hiking trails in the vicinity abound, and the Villa offers a large pool to cool off in during the hot summer afternoons. Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJL1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Having recently visited Tuscany as instructor with a group of artists and friends I found that Villa Schiatti may well be the perfect small hotel. The staff and owners Guilia ( Julia) and Angelo will do whatever they can to make your stay a pleasure. The food in their Tuscan dining room is well presented, delicious and fresh. The wines are primarily from Montepulciano and even the house wine is a wonder! You will want to linger over your meals for hours. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. The beds are very comfortable.
The grounds and surroundings are a cross section of Tuscan countryside with olive groves,flowers and vistas galore. You can walk the trails every direction from the Villa for a far as you desire. The pool and grounds are very well kept and, since the owners live on site nothing is overlooked. In short, this is a great place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room tour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We highly recommend to anyone travelling in the area to stay in the Villa. With very nice rooms, a warm welcome, superb service, good tuscan meals and excellent local wines - we enjoyed our stay and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y-Tal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
5.2 mi away
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
#2 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
118 reviews
6.7 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
718 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
387 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
788 reviews
1.4 mi away
Relais Borgo San Pietro
Relais Borgo San Pietro
#14 of 24 in Cortona
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Schiatti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Schiatti

Property: Villa Schiatti
Address: Loc.Montecchio,131 | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Schiatti 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Schiatti is situated in a chain of richly panoramic hills between Cortona and Castiglion Fiorentino dating back to the 19th century, now is fully restored, offers very comfortable private single or double rooms (all en suite) as well as fully furnished apartments with own kitchens. By arrangement we can offer "bed and breakfast" or "half pension" being breakfast and dinner. We are within easy reach by train or car of many art centres in Tuscany and Umbria, namely: Florence,Cortona, Arezzo, Perugia, Assisi, Gubbio, Siena and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Schiatti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Schiatti Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing