We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Villa Schiatti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Schiatti
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

we spent 9 days in villa Schiatti and had a great stay! the place is beautiful and the owners, Angelo and Julia did everything to make our stay unforgettable. rooms are very nice (not fancy) and clean, we asked to swich rooms after the first night and got a different and better room instantly. Julia was very responsive to all our needs, helped us reserve different activities in the area, and even kept some warm croissants for us when we were late for breakfast!
the hotel is about an hour drive to the main Tuscany attractions (Florence, Siena etc'), but its great value for the money and is worth the drive.

Room Tip: there was a very hot weather in the week of our stay, we had to switch rooms because the first room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emor431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    70
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
63
145
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Very original and very nice place to stay. Away from main roads yet very close to local attractions. Excellent food, friendly staff, great views. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank emanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Villa Schiatti is a GEM. Trying to come up with something original, which hasn't been said in other reviews, is hard - because all the raves are genuine. I'll try to put a different spin on this: I assumed Angelo and Julia had been in the hotel business their entire careers. How else could they have perfected running Villa Schiatti? We were surprised to find out that for them, this was a second career - Julia said it was always something Angelo had wanted to do. This makes perfect sense, because he had been on the other end of hotels for years in his "previous life". For years he was "researching" what made an excellent hotel THAT good - and his conclusion was: "Make your guests feel like they are guests in your home...make your hotel as comfortable as 'home'." This charming couple has done just this. The rooms have all the comforts of home; the meals are served as if they were home-cooked and served in the comfort of one's own dining room; the grounds welcome the guests as if one was walking through ones own neighborhood (albeit, a beautiful Tuscan neighborhood). Angelo is full of information about local towns and excursions. Julia is so sweet with her suggestions and tips. They joined us for dinner one evening, and it was as if we were sitting for 3 hours with old friends. I agree with every good thing that is said in the other reviews, and recommend this fine Boutique Hotel to anyone looking for a perfect location for a Tuscan Holiday - a home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Schiatti. The hosts, Angelo and Julia were very accommodating and helpful. We were able to visit the nearby towns in Tuscany because of its fabulous location. The view form the Villa is breathtaking, the pool refreshing, and the food the best we had in all of Tuscany. Two from Texas

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2012

La Villa Schiatti, a very fine hotel, located very close to Cortona/Arezzo and for most people the unexplored medieval town of Castiglion Fiorentino.This familiy runned hotel (famiglia Marciano), offers a lovely hotel with nice rooms, personal attention and lots more. You only have to ask and they will offer advice.
We booked a room last year for a few nights, while visiting Tuscany, but we have booked more rooms and nights with friends coming May. The place to book for peace and quiet, but so much to explore within less than an hour away. Prices are more than reasonable and always a personal answer if you contact the hotel by e-mail or phone. English spoken, but very Italian and Tuscan athmosphere. The view is wonderful and the best towns just on your doorstep. Also Siena / Montepulciano (very expensive to stay overnight) are within the hour in reach.
We are very pleased having found La Villa Schiatti, it's just what we wanted.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janneke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Great location to tour Cortona and Assisi from. We had room #10 that opened onto the terrace and as stated in the review from Sildero it was wonderful. The hosts were very friendly and ever helpful. The food very good. Angelo gave us very good advice on touring the area.
Castille de Lago is a must see in the area.
Would definatly return.

Room Tip: room #10 opens onto the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonyplaintravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The location is perfect for day trips to Cortona, Arezzo, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Perugia, etc. The first time we went looking for it we thought we might be going the wrong way, it's up a tiny road in a quiet residential area, with great access to main roads. It's situated in the quiet hills with a spectacular postcard view of the Tuscan valley. The Villa is rustic, quirky and endearing. The furnishings make you feel like you are staying in someone's home. Our room (number 10) was spacious with a gorgeous view and the only one with a door leading out to the beautiful communal terrace. Our room was equipped with a blow dryer, big towels, soap, shampoo, mini bar, safe, bidet, television (only Italian language) and a large bed. They had a bar and wifi in the lobby but once we connected downstairs, we could access it in our room. There is a pool and free parking. Free breakfast in the morning with breads, fruits, eggs if you wanted them, juice and any kind of tea or coffee. I have to say however, the thing that made the hotel so special and memorable to us were the hosts, Angelo and his wife. The entire staff was very accommodating but Angelo made you feel like you were more than a guest, you were a dear friend staying with him while enjoying his beautiful country. He regales with stories and recommendations, directions, anything you need, he will see to it that you are happy. They are the most hospitable people you can imagine. Be sure and have dinner in their restaurant, the food and Angelo's wine are out of this world and one of the best dinners we had in Italy. I'm hoping they put their recipe for the Tuscan bean and barley soup on their website it was sublime. Seriously, we can't go on enough about the warm and kind people that own and run the Villa. If you love getting to know people, their culture and the surrounding area, do yourself a favor and stay here for an authentic Italian experience. Believe what all the other reviewers say about the hosts, it's true!

Room Tip: We loved room 10, spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sildero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
6.7 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
5.2 mi away
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
#2 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.9 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
2.5 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Schiatti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Schiatti

Property: Villa Schiatti
Address: Loc.Montecchio,131, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Schiatti 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Schiatti is situated in a chain of richly panoramic hills between Cortona and Castiglion Fiorentino dating back to the 19th century, now is fully restored, offers very comfortable private single or double rooms (all en suite) as well as fully furnished apartments with own kitchens. By arrangement we can offer "bed and breakfast" or "half pension" being breakfast and dinner. We are within easy reach by train or car of many art centres in Tuscany and Umbria, namely: Florence,Cortona, Arezzo, Perugia, Assisi, Gubbio, Siena and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Schiatti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Schiatti Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing