We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under the Tuscan Sun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo La Maesta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo La Maesta
Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Under the Tuscan Sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed for a week at Agriturismo La Maesta in June 2013, and booked the full "Tuscan Sun" package:which included continental breakfast each morning; several family dinners with our hosts: Rosalinda, Stephano, little Virginia, Nonna Lilla & Florintina; plus a comprehensive touring itinerary around the region with Rosalinda. We stayed in a comfortable self-contained cottage on the property overlooking a small olive grove & veggie patch, just perfect for us to finish each day by watching the sunset with a glass of local wine and regional produce. Family dinner nights were a degustation of local treats, deftly prepared by La Nonna. On the optional nights, Roslinda either drove us in to Old Cortona with a recommendation somewhere for a great dining experience, or we purchased supplies from the local supermarket and cooked a simple pasta ourselves. The day trips were planned as such that Rosalinda would drop us off in the morning at a convenient location and we were then free to wander around each township armed with a map & highlights, and then to enjoy lunch/wine tastings etc knowing that our trusty driver would pick us up again in the afternoon and we would not have to drive. We would not have seen as much as we did, had we attempted to do it all by ourselves. A great introduction to Tuscanny!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have now stayed with Rosalinda and her family on two occassions and I will be returning again in May 2014. You couldn't get a better place to stay when visiting Tuscany.
Rosalinda , Stephano, Virginia , Lilla and Florintina make you feel so welcome and the accomodation and meals are top class. What a way to see this region, nothing is ever a problem the feeling is relaxed and you get transported to all the cities and sights. After a day out sightseeing it's great to return the villa and sit and relax with a red wine taking in the spectacular views or a swim in the pool.
Each time I return it feels like i am visiting friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I spent a week at Agriturismo La Maestra in May/June 2013, & it was absolutely perfect...The accomodation, the hospitality, the meals, the breathtaking views, the sight seeing transport, ,eveything anyone could wish for in a Tuscan Holiday. My only complaint..it wasn't long enough.I was with 6 friends, & we all had a wonderful time, & I can't wait to return to Rosalinda, Stefano, Virginia, Lilla, & Florentina in September 2014...

Room Tip: All rooms are very well equipped, & afford beautiful views in all directions from the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delphine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We could not have asked for a better holiday it was beyond our expectations. The meals and their hospitality was excellent. The ability to discuss as a small group where you wanted to visit and then being driven and picked up from the locations was a joy. We would recommend a stay to anyone who is looking for a more relaxed stay.

Room Tip: All of the accommodation is in a separate building next to the family home. All of the rooms are goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My family and I have recently returned from a wonderful week at La Maesta on our first trip to Tuscany. We stayed in Casa Virgilio which was a spacious, spotless and very well equipped villa and had the most amazing view of the valley below from two of the bedrooms and the balcony. The balcony is the perfect place for lazy breakfasts and lunches and having a glass of wine watching the stunning Tuscan sunsets. The shared pool is lovely to return to after a day of sightseeing in this beautiful region
.
Rosalinda and her family made us feel very welcome and offered many helpful tips for visiting local towns and cities to ensure we found our way, found great parking spots, good restaurants to try which ensured we really made the most of our time in Tuscany.

La Maesta is very central to reach many of the delights of Tuscany with good train and road links – just over an hour to Florence, half an hour to the wineries and within easy reach of many key towns. We were lucky to see stunning fields of sunflowers as well as the stunning Tuscan landscape of olive groves and cyprus trees .

Cortona is only a 15 minute drive from La Maesta and is an enchanting hillside town offering amazing views of the valley, quaint cobbled streets, a good selection of restaurants and gelaterias. Local supermarkets are within a 10 minute drive offering the basic essentials during your stay.

We left after a fantastic week wanting to come back for more, having only scratched the surface of visiting this beautiful region of Italy. Our stay was a perfect introduction to Tuscany and I hope the start of regular visits to explore this region further.. We hope to be back very soon and a big thank you again to Rosalinda and her family for making our trip so memorable and making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Having a car is by far the best way to explore the local Tuscan area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetraveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We, two Canadians, just returned from a wonderful trip to La Maesta! Rosalinda, Stefano, Pat, Lilla (Nonna), Florentina and Virginia made our first trip to Italy unforgettable. From the time Rosalinda picked us up at the train station, we were made to feel right at home. She suggested and drove us to and from many incredibly beautiful towns, with recommendations for sight seeing, dining and shopping. At La Maesta, we stayed in a clean, comfortable flat with a gorgeous view and easy access to the pool, which was lovely after a long, hot but very enjoyable day of walking. The homemade meals were delicious and were made even better by Nonna teaching us how to make gnocchi from scratch! I have since tried it at home, not nearly as good, but still not too bad! We enjoyed everyone's company, including meeting and chatting with Pat, playing in the pool with Virginia, and sharing wine and grappa with Rosalinda and Stefano. We highly recommend La Maesta (Tuscan Sun) and look forward to another visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekendbrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I have been twice to this wonderful bed and breakfast/ homestay. It is a visit to a friend, with all the care to make the week a memorable one. You visit the places you request and can do things at your own pace. You may like to stay on the farm and just laze by the pool. I enjoyed the taste of the true Tuscany because you share meals with the family and experience a bit of their life.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castiglion Fiorentino hotels
4.6 mi away
Casa Portagioia
Casa Portagioia
#1 of 11 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo S.Angelo
Agriturismo S.Angelo
#1 of 1 in Brolio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.8 mi away
Residence Le Santucce
Residence Le Santucce
#4 of 34 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Viziottavo
Bed & Breakfast Viziottavo
#4 of 11 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Maesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Maesta

Property: Agriturismo La Maesta
Address: Localita Montecchio 163, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“La Maestà”, home to the Lazzeri family for generations, is situated on a hillside between Castiglion Fiorentino and Cortona, and enjoys breathtaking views over the tranquil and historic Valdichiana Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Agriturismo La Maesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Maesta Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing