We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It truly is the doorway to happiness and joy!!”
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It truly is the doorway to happiness and joy!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Everything wonderful that has been said about Casa Portagioa is true. I can't think of a new way to say what so many others have already said - Casa P. is truly a piece of heaven! My husband and I treasure our time there - it was the perfect way to spend our last week in Italy after what already had been an ideal holiday. Terry and Marcello do everything just right and I can promise that you will not find more entertaining and attentive hosts - they are simply the best (and very funny, too!). Please do yourselves a favor and book a stay at Casa Portagioa; it will nurture your soul and lift up your spirit - guaranteed!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelika711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
713
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Just came home after 16 days in Italy. The last five were spent at this little slice of heaven. This was our second time staying with Terry and marcello. We have already booked our room for next spring. Nowhere I have stayed compares to the welcome feeling and the absolute joy I feel at Casa. No matter if you want to relax or run around on day trips you will be happy this is your home base. Terry and marcello go out of their way to acccomadate any need you may have. They are funny and warm hosts. If you love sun kissed sheets that smell of lavender, pristine rooms, great food, and uncomparable views, this is the place for it all. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaPini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My wife and I were treated to one of the best times or our lives by Terry and Marcello who own and operate this marvelous B&B which is in the middle of one of God's favorite corners of the world. If we had to do it over, we would spend less time in hectic Rome and Florence and maximize our time at Casa P. Peaceful, scenic, upscale......it has all been said before so it is difficult to find new words to describe the quality of the accommodations, food and service that we enjoyed every day. Definitely a five star accommodation with no questions. We are are already planning our next trip to Italy and the highpoint of our next visit will again be Casa Portagioia! Joe & Marena, Englewood Colorado

Room Tip: They are all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joecos11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Casa Portagioia was the second stop in the middle of our 17 day trip through Italy in late March/ early April 2011. Because of the TripAdvisor reviews we had read we were especially excited to arrive in Tuscany. The reviews were correct! Rather than repeat everything that has already been said I would like to thank Terry and Marcello. Thank you for getting it right. For treating your customers like they matter, for giving us a beautiful, comfortable, pleasant place to stay while visiting such a stunning country. You have developed a B&B that travelers dream about and hope they'll find when they arrive at your front door. You are truly splendid hosts - Terry - your humor and knowledge of the area helped make each day an adventure. Marcello - your sweet smile, cooking talents and those cappuccino's are such a great part of our memories. We thank you, sincerely, for making our stay at Casa Portagioia perfect!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetcaroline29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Casa Portagioia was a wonderful place to stay in Tuscany. We spent a week in the downstairs apartment and could not have asked for better accommodation or service. The rooms were luxurious yet felt like a home away from home. The surroundings were beautiful and gave us an opportunity to relax in the Tuscan countyside, sipping Prosecca by the pool. Castiglion Fiorentino is an ancient walled city and we were lucky enough to participate in the Good Friday procession through the tiny cobbled streets by candlelight, which was an amazing experience. Terry and Marcello are fantasitc hosts. Their suggestions for places to visit and where to eat ensured that we thoroughly enjoyed every part of our stay at their amazing property. Make sure you take advantage of their on-site dinner experience as it was both delicious and enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKandKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2011

The estate is compact enough that you can flit from say your room to the pool or the breakfast area and yet the buildings are angled just so that each place still feels like a private space each of which over looks beautiful Tuscan hills.

There is a wealth of stunning architecture to be found and enjoyed within close reach of the property and each place has its own charms, be it wonderful restaurants or a local festival for wild flowers.

My principal reason for visiting was to celebrate a birthday with friends. The careful engineering by the owners of the property to make our visit was unforgeable was inspired! Every measure seemed to have been thought of and taken to ensure our time there was full of enjoyment.

A delight!

C. Taylor

Room Tip: Take the room by the rose arbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agreendream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Casa Portagioia made our stay in Italy! It is an amazing and beautiful place to stay with two fantastic hosts Terry and Marcello.

The accommodation is five star. The rooms are beautifully furnished, immaculately kept and so comfortable that you barely want to leave. Casa Portagioia is situated on immaculately kept grounds surrounded by beautiful olive trees and vineyards.

The food is wonderfully prepared. Our gracious hosts asked us immediately if we had any allergies, and catered every meal accordingly (which shows amazing hospitality and effort). Breakfast every morning was very special, from the fantastic eggs that Marcello made, to the witty repartee offered by Terry. Dinner cooked by Marcello, was amazing and better than most of the places that we had eaten at in Rome. If dinner was not on offer, then Terry or Marcello recommended great restaurants around the area.

Terry and Marcello were wonderful hosts. We were on our honeymoon and were made to feel wonderfully special at Casa Portagioia. From the wedding toast offered to us by Terry and the other guests at dinner, to Terry and Marcello driving us to dinner one night as we had no idea were to go - we were made to feel very special at Casa Portagioia.

We cannot recommend Casa Portagioia enough, and we look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brainywinelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
7.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.8 mi away
Residence Le Santucce
Residence Le Santucce
#5 of 34 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Property: Casa Portagioia
Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing