We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable and Amazing Honeymoon!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
“Unforgettable and Amazing Honeymoon!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Staying at Casa Portagioia was the highlight of our Honeymoon in Italy. The scenery was very romantic. The owners, Terry and Marcelo, are very charismatic, helpful, attentive, warm, and friendly (not enough words to describe them). The breakfast was amazing (best breakfast we had in Italy) and the apartment we stayed in was beautiful. We realized we should have stayed longer and now know for future bookings. This is the place to stay, guaranteed! P.S. They have their own olive oil and soon will have their own wine (we saw the vineyard) for wine tastings. Again, we cannot wait to return!!!!!

Room Tip: Book early and go. Stay longer than you plan to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lemedina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
704
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

I booked Casa Portagioia on the wonderful reviews off Trip Advisor. I was a little sceptical about booking over the internet but when I emailed to enquire, I received a friendly email straight back from Terry and Marcello. Every email sent afterwards was so informative and I was confident that this was the place that my mother and I were going to base ourselves for two weeks to relax and visit the surrounding Tuscan towns. We ordered a GPS with the car but the directions we were given by Terry and Marcello were spot on and we had no problems.
Casa Portagioia was everything I had dreamt of and much more. It was just so beautiful with spectacular gardens, so peaceful and the scenery breathtaking. We were warmly greeted by Marcello and shown our apartment which was so lovely and were shown around the grounds. The kitchen was so well equipped with a table that had two windows to look out at the wonderful views, a great sized bedroom with a really comfortable bed, large bathroom with all the little extras and sitting room. One of the things we loved was opening all the windows and listening to nothing but the birds, or sitting just outside the front door at the little table relaxing in the morning or with a glass of wine, crackers and cheese after a day sightseeing. The pool also was one of my favourite places to swim or just sit and read and take in the beautiful countryside. Terry and Marcello are truly the perfect hosts and are what makes Casa Portagioia one of the most joyful and wonderful places to stay. Some days we just lazed around the property and you felt like you were the only one there which I enjoyed, but Terry & Marcello are there if you need them and they can't do enough for you and are always on hand to give you advice of places to visit, directions to all the nearby towns or a friendly chat.
You should not miss the dinners cooked by Marcello and being entertained by Terry's wit and charm. The wine chosen by Terry from their cellar would have to be one of the nicest wines we have every drunk and the meals were the best we had in all of Italy. The presentation and little touches are also what makes it so memorable. We originally thought two weeks might be too long in one place but we could have stayed longer.
Thank you so much Terry and Marcello (and the gorgeous Tosca and Sammy) for opening up your home so that we can all enjoy Casa Portagioia and get to know two wonderful people. We will definitely be back and this is one of those places where it wouldn't matter what time of year you came it would be wonderful. Of all the places we stayed throughout Europe this was by far our favourite place.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters as each room seemed to have it's own charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlkiraJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Staying at Casa Portagioia near Cortona, was an absolute pleasure. We could hardly
bear to leave.. The service from Terry and Marcello was outstanding, they could
not have done more to assist and make our stay memorable. The accommodation
was 5* and supremely comfortable, and breakfast and the occasional lunch was
delicious and plentiful and the Dinner Party was perfect. Marcello's sweetness was
leavened with Terry's wicked ironic asides which added to the feeling that we were
staying with old friends. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lordrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

My wife and I chose as our base for a week of relaxation and sightseeing in Tuscany and Umbria based on the rave reviews in Trip Advisor. The raves were more than justified. We were at Casa Portagioia during an extraordinary heat wave. The gardens, the breakfast terrace and our beautifully appointed and air conditioned room were perfect in themselves and delightful havens from the heat. But what makes Casa Portagioia so very special are the hosts Terry and Marcello. They have designed their B and B with extraordinary attention to detail and to comfort. Guests are treated like guests of their own home, and very pampered ones at that. The location is rural but close enough to Cortona and to Castiglione Fiorentina to provide restaurants and services such as easy train access for major Italian cities, serrene and peaceful with views of Tuscan hills and the Val di Chio.The hosts are experts on Tuscany and Umbria and provide expert advice about sightseeing and restaurants. Breakfasts are delicious and cooked to order. The dinners served to guests twice a week and are truly marvelous, better than most restaurants in the area. The cooking of Marcellois wll complemented by Terry's wine cellar with fabulous wine from Tuscany at very reseaonable prices. What a joy it is to stay at Casa Portagioia.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We had the pleasure of returning to Casa Portagioia a few weeks ago, and were pleased to find it every bit as spectacular as it was 2 years ago on our first visit. From the moment of our arrival- made easier by the addition of several signposts along the road from Castiglione Fiorentino- we were made to feel completely at home. Terry and Marcello are gracious hosts, and greeted us like old friends. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The rural setting is quiet and relaxing, and the inn is centrally located, allowing for easy excursions to numerous gorgeous Tuscan towns with plenty of time to return for dinner closer to 'home'. If you time things right, you can enjoy the delicious home-cooked gourmet dinner the hosts prepare for guests twice weekly- adjust your schedule to take advantage of this. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJSpooner64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

This is possibly the best place on earth to stay if you want to totally relax and refill your soul with peace and joy.
A serene haven nestled in the Tuscan hills, surrounded by nature ,lavender, sunflowers, roses and geraniums. Everyone who stays will leave with a special memory, to keep in their heart , which will sustain them through the reality of life. As this is my fourth but not last trip, amongst my memories, is plucking a ripe fig from the tree, eating it still warm from the golden sun, whilst watching the swifts dive to the pool for a cooling drink and drinking in the heady aroma of lavender and rosemary.
Casa Portagioia has a uniqueness that is not simply about the attention to detail , comfortable beds, quality linen , supreme cleanliness, wonderful breakfasts and the concern for the well being of each and every guest, but to do with Terry and Marcello, who welcome you into their home as friends not guests. Terry and Marcello work hard to ensure that your stay is the best it can be, suggesting trips, restaurants and assisting to arrange them in anyway possible.
Terry's dry humour , quick intelligence and witty repartee is perfectly complemented by Marcello's charm, warm smile and gentleness. Without them Casa Portagioia would not be the same.
I would highly recommend that you eat when Marcello cooks and take note of Terry's wine advice, he really knows what he is talking about.
There is something for everyone to delight in here, look for it and you will find your own piece of heaven.

Room Tip: No one room or apartment is better than another, they are all spotless and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alison f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

This was the third time (3 years in a row) we've stayed at Casa Portagioia and can't wait to go back next summer and make it a fourth. Marcello and Terry have spoiled us and we are addicted. From the grounds to the rooms, pool, breakfast and hosts all is perfection! Oh and (dogs) Tosca and Sammy too of course! Thanks guys for another wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mainahtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
7.4 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.8 mi away
Residence Le Santucce
Residence Le Santucce
#4 of 34 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Property: Casa Portagioia
Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing