We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LABOR OF LOVE, A WORK OF ART”
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A LABOR OF LOVE, A WORK OF ART”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Painstakingly rebuilt and redesigned from an older property by hosts Terry and Marcello, Casa Portagioia has the richness, thoughtfulness, beauty, elegance and precision of a true work of art.

Called a B&B but more accurately described by the phrase “five-star boutique hotel,” it nurtures all of a guest’s senses. Smell through the fragrances of the lush plantings and the lavender pillow spray…touch through the fine linens and heated pool…taste through the wonderful food, from the fresh exotic fruits placed in guest rooms to the delicious breakfasts to the five-course chef’s dinners offered twice a week…hearing through the serenely quiet setting, where the rustling of leaves and song of birds are often the only sounds. As for sight, we’ll just say that from its cypress-lined drive to the 360-degree view of the surrounding hills, Casa Portagioia is a microcosm of all the visual beauty for which Tuscany is famous. In fact, it’s so beautiful and relaxing that it’s tempting to skip a day of sightseeing simply to sit, nap or wander the beautiful premises from the sun-warmed terraces to the olive grove.

Both of the hosts once lived fast-paced London lives, and they understand the needs of the modern traveler perfectly. Gleaming modern bathrooms, televisions with automatic translation, iPhone/iPod speakers in each room: all of the up to date amenities are here, but so artfully integrated into the setting that the idyllic, timeless mood of the place is never broken.

Other guests have commented on Terry and Marcello’s warmth, graciousness, and generosity, and we can only agree. It is clear that they love being hosts and that they are expert on every detail of the hotel, the region, and Italy’s rich culture. Their charm and humor adds a sense of fun, and they willingly go out of their way to ensure that a guest’s visit to Tuscany goes perfectly even when a problem arises far beyond their own hotel’s walls. We stayed at Casa Portagioia on vacation, but the hosts’ attention to detail would also make it the perfect setting for a wedding, anniversary, or family gathering.

Terry and Marcello are extraordinary people with extraordinary talents, an extraordinary bond, and, above all, extraordinary hearts. It is an honor to know them and a privilege to have stayed in this place we will never forget. To those considering a visit, we can only say “don’t wait”!

Maria De Francisci
Vero Beach, FL

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
738
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpena, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This was the first place I have ever booked only based on the reviews on this site. It is true everything that you read here. The rooms are lovely, the grounds are amazing and the food....yummo!!! Terry and Marcello really do go out of their way to make your vacation special. This was our first trip to Italy and would love to go back again someday. Thank you so much Terry and Marcello for making our 25th Anniversary special :)
Be sure to have dinner there...it is wonderful and it will give you a chance to meet some wonderful people like we did!!

Randy and Jami
Michigan

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jami360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

1. Everything you have already read here is true.
2. Amazing location, stunning scenery and deeply relaxing- a true tuscan experience.
3. The breakfasts are to die for.
4. Terry and Marcello- the most wonderful hosts you could ever wish for.
5. The Saturday night dinner hosted by Terry and Marcello with home-cooked Tuscan food- a memory you will never forget.
6. Accommodation where every small detail has been attended to.
7. A stunning pool set into the hillside with gorgeous views of the surrounding valleys.
8. You WILL come back- possibly every year once you discover this gem.
9. You'll sleep like royalty in their obscenely comfortable beds with luxury linens.
10. Did I say how helpful, friendly and funny your hosts Terry and Marcello are?

P.S. See you next year Terry and Marcello!

Room Tip: No bad rooms here- though if you want to sit in the garden, choose a garden room. The upstairs rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trumpy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is a beautiful place in the hills of Tuscany. The occasion was Pearl's 50th birthday and it turned out to be a very memorable place. Rooms are beautifully appointed. Fellow guests were very interesting from all over the world. Hosts Terry and Marcello are great and provide a very special experience. Breakfast is elaborate, with great variety. Try their dinner, which they serve twice a week only. It was a fantastic experience to be there and we hope to be back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

In 40 years of traveling, this was the best. It was what we searched for...a fabulous B and B with a central location from which to experience Tuscany. Our hosts, Terry and Marcello, treated us as if we were precious family. Every room detail was carefully considered and of top quality (for instance: endless views, big sinks, fine bed linens, beautiful decor, utterly quiet, even pillow spray). Breakfasts of exotic fruits, fresh, prepared to order...and ahh the delicious romantic dinners. Their travel advice was invaluable as we discovered treasures we would have missed. They advised us of restaurants, wineries, routes, train schedules (saving us from potential mishaps). Every suggestions turned out to be perfect. We are indebted to Terry and Marcello for literally making out trip a memory of a lifetime.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

While planning the perfect Italian holiday to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, a friend enthusiastically recommended that we book Casa Portagioia for the Tuscan leg of our trip. Casa Joy, as we nicknamed this accommodation, lived up to every accolade awarded by Trip Advisor and posted by reviewers. Our first introduction was through viewing the video on their website, Tuscan Breaks - www.tuscanbreaks.com. We wanted to leave for the B&B immediately. Referring to Casa Portagioia as a mere B&B, does not come close to conveying the comfortable elegance and idyllic setting that lies in store for guests fortunate enough to stay for any length of time. The location is situated very close to Cortona and within easy driving distance of all the major Tuscan hill towns. The property is nothing short of breath-taking. It is encircled by Tuscan hills, and the eye is treated from the first approach by a cypress-lined drive, followed by attractively designed structures and meticulously tended gardens up to a relaxing pool area. Stone urns and pots spill over with flowers of every colour lining paths and drives, and hedges of lavender and rosemary subtly perfume the air. I can only imagine how stunning it must look when the lavender is in bloom.The guest rooms are spacious and immaculate with comfortable beds fitted with high quality linens. The bathrooms are modern with high-end amenities and luxurious linens. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by hosts Terry & Marcello and their Lhasa's Sammie and Tosca, the best behaved little dogs we've ever met.

Our itinerary allowed us to enjoy one of Terry & Marcello's dinners which they serve twice each week. The menus are creative and feature the best Tuscan ingredients. We thoroughly enjoyed a beautifully presented, multi-course gourmet dinner accompanied by a reasonably priced wine. This was a fabulous way to complete a day that began with the most wonderful breakfast. My husband has a hearty appetite and loves traditional North American-style breakfasts, which he is seldom able to find in Italy. Casa Portagioia does not disappoint in this department. Each day of our stay began with a hearty breakfast of top quality fresh fruit and pastries, a hot serving of eggs and unlimited coffee or cappuccino served on crisp white linen-covered tables on Casa Portagioia's lovely outdoor terrace. Bliss!

Terry & Marcello are the consummate hosts - warm, gracious, funny, charming, knowledgeable about the area, and helpful in every respect. They extended a truly personal touch, making each of us feel as though we were the only guests at the Inn. We heartily recommend this gem and eagerly await a return visit on our next trip to Italy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Castelli room which had a great cross-breeze and a private terrace that we shared w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne_lussier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cypress
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Absolutely highlight of honeymoon in Italy , very very nice, the room, the breakfast, loved the Saturday night dinner. Both Terry and marcello were a delight. Will definitely make it back to this bed and breakfast. Make sure to get updated directions, a few names have changed. Thank you Terry and marcello

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
7.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
732 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
801 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
23.8 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
704 reviews
10.6 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Property: Casa Portagioia
Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing