We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,137)
Filter reviews
1,137 results
Traveller rating
1,131
3
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,131
3
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterry and marcelloother guestsattention to detailperfect hostsour honeymoonold friendsplaces to visitpastriesevery morningsense of humourbeautiful groundseach guestmaking reservationsevery aspectdinner reservationsmoment you arrivecourse meal
Filter
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 1,137 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had the most awesome stay, it was as if we had been asked to play a part in a Tuscan movie for a few days. The bed, the rooms, the breakfasts and the sincere hospitality from our hosts Marcello and Terry just made our stay so memorable, we will be definitely be going back some day soon. A definite 5 stars from us!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We could not have been happier with our one week stay at Casa Portagioia. Marcello and Terry were amazing hosts. Sight-seeing recommendations, wine recommendations, restaurant reservations: they did it all. Terry let us borrow a GPS without which we would probably still be wandering around Tuscany totally lost. Our room was clean, comfortable, spacious with all the amenities one would expect at a first class establishment. The bathroom was modern and spotless. Although it was too cool during our stay to use it, the property has a very nice pool for use in warm weather. The grounds are gorgeous with lots of well tended flowers. Breakfasts were wholesome and delicious with a wide variety of local fruits and baked goods. And of course it is in Tuscany, one of the most beautiful areas we've ever had the privilege of visiting. Although not the least expensive B&B in Tuscany, it is good value for money. We definitely plan to return one day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed three nights at CP in October of 2013. After all of the traffic, crowds and noise of Florence, it was a pleasure to relax poolside and take in the beautiful surrounding Tuscan landscape. Terry and Marcello are truly wonderful hosts, and they made us feel very much at home. For breakfast they provided a wide variety of food: fresh fruit, cereals, baked goods, eggs and coffee or cappuccino. One evening Marcello threw together a wonderful supper for us consisting of a delicious salad with a variety of local cheeses and the wine.

Our room was very clean, comfortable, modern and spacious.

We enjoyed visiting the old city of Castiglion Fiorentino, along with nearby Arezzo, Sienna and the Fortress of Monteridgione. Terry and Marcelo gave us excellent suggestions of places to visit and eat, and even loaned us a GPS to help with our travels.

Saving the best for last, their two house dogs were a source of constant entertainment and pleasure.

Although it is on the expensive side, we would highly recommend CP to anyone considering a vacation in beautiful Tuscany.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We're not sure there is much to say beyond all the accolades others have provided for Casa Portagioia.

The property is spectacular starting with one's first impression as you drive up a beautifully cypress lined driveway. The landscaping is extraordinary with flowers everywhere, even late in the season (we would love to stay when the lavender is in full bloom).

Casa Portagioia is approx. 6 km from Castiglione Fiorentino, requiring a bit of a drive to the nearest restaurant. Having arrived mid afternoon, after Marcello provided a full tour of the property, we asked if he might have some bread and cheese. In typical Marcello style he did not provide just basic bread and cheese but wonderful focaccia and an excellent selection of no less than four types of pecorino along with two other cheeses accompanied by olives and fresh tomatoes. There was a tray of meats and some baked figs. The availability of a nice half bottle of Tuscan wine made for a most enjoyable afternoon meal.

Our room was very nice - very tastefully decorated being a decent size with a well appointed bathroom, and a larger shower than many we experienced in Italy.

I believe Casa Portagioia has seven rooms, small enough that it is easy to meet and chat with other guests, sharing travel experiences as we did at breakfast. The breakfasts were great - with a wide selection of fruit and all other breakfast items. Freshly prepared scrambled eggs along with great coffee made for a super start to the day.

But as nice as Casa Portagioia is an experience we had kind of says it all. After arriving at our next stop I realized I was missing a pullover. I contacted Terry who checked not only with staff but Marcello as well. Being unable to find the pullover Terry then checked the entire laundry area, again without success. As a long-shot I considered I may have left it at the ristorante we ate the previous night. Terry informed us the ristorante was closed Monday but then called first thing Tuesday morning to find my pullover was indeed there (we returned and I now have it). The point being even after we left Terry put in significant effort to assist me in finding the lost item - the ultimate in care for one's guests.

Is Casa Portagioia the cheapest B&B choice - no. But if you want to experience immaculate grounds in a very peaceful and rural setting, with fantastic vistas over Tuscan hills, along with the care and concern of two wonderful hospitable hosts this is the place for you - in short if you want class this is where you should stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our 2 week long trip to Italy. This was by far my favorite place we stayed. Not only are the grounds beautiful, Terry and Marcello immediately made ua feel welcome and at home. We arrived late, and Terry was very accomodating to give us the grand tour and show us the important details of our room (a TV that could be changed to English!). Marcello called and made us reservations at a local restaurant and Terry let us use a GPS so we wouldn't get lost. (Rental car company ran out of GPS units - not a great thing while navigating Italy.) Breakfast each day was delicious - every fruit imaginable, cereals, pastries, yogurts, eggs and meats. Killer cappuccino.
Other pros: Best bed I slept on in Europe; gorgeous views; lavendar and rosemary growing everywhere; great bathroom and bath amenities; relaxing pool; great location to explore Tuscany, WiFi to Skype with folks back home.
Cons: Honestly can't think of one. The only con is that I can't afford to come back here at least once a month.
Terry and Marcello are genuine and amazing hosts. They are the ones that truly set this B&B apart from others. Stay here - you won't be disappointed. I plan to come back as often as I can.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamieRassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews