We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Portagioia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Thank you, Terry & Marcello. You were perfect hosts and we had a wonderful time. Fabulous breakfasts, great room, idyllic scenery, nice wine, good conversations - it was exactly the relaxing vacation we planned. Great ideas about day trips and local restaurants. We will definitely recommend you to our friends and family in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank davidhill1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
704
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from our second fabulous trip to Italy. The first time, we only managed a few days at Casa Portagioia; on our return visit, we made Casa our "home base" for our entire trip. And why not! The hosts Terry and Marcello are charming, warm and gracious - Terry, peppering every morning with delightful repartee, while you enjoy one of Marcello's sumptuous breakfasts. A phone call from Marcello to any of the local restaurants, or wineries, and doors open to the most fabulous day's adventures. No need to plan a complicated itinerary in advance. The rooms are spotless and well appointed, and the valley is breathtakingly beautiful. Well situated, day trips to delightful nearby towns - Cortona, Castiglion Fiorentina, Assisi, Pienza..., and even Florence, are possible. We will be back Terry and Marcello!
Suzanne V., Stratford, Canada

Room Tip: There are no "bad rooms", but "west-facing rooms provide a splendid view of the valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The owners Terry and Marcello are kind, classy, fun and the combination makes for a guaranteed good stay in a picture perfect tuscan setting. I showed up early for dinner. Marcello welcomed me into the kitchen and proceeded to give me a cooking lesson before dinner. Dinner began with a appetizer of truffle crostini. The first course was fabulous asparagus risotto with crispy prosciutto. Followed by Salmon teriyaki, mashed potatoes and sautéd spinach. Yumm. Served with warm focaccia and the b&b's fresh olive oil. Pecorino cheese was next followed by tiramisu. Music, candles, wine, flowers, interesting people from all parts of the world. Perfection!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tierney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our party of four enjoyed a lovely three-night stay at Casa Portagioia. First, the inn is perfectly situated for many easy day trips. We enjoyed visits to several neighboring hill towns, never driving more than one hour from the hotel. The grounds are beautiful and both Marcello and Terry were warm and welcoming. They were very helpful with our day trips and dinner plans, writing out maps and making reservations for us. We enjoyed all of their recommendations. The rooms at Casa Portagioia are very nice- spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed a final dinner at Casa Portagioia and thought it was the perfect end to our visit- we got to interact with the other guests while enjoying a beautifully prepared meal. We left wishing we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

There is no limit to the amount of times you can visit Casa Portagioia and still be impressed by the whole experience. The establishment is situated in a beautiful, peaceful location and the accommodation is always clean and welcoming. But even if these things were not present the welcome you receive from the hosts, Terry and Marcello will make want you to return time and time again. There are so many wonderful restaurants and towns to visit within a short drive or you can just relax by the pool and enjoy one of Marcello's amazing lunches or even better his formal dinners.
We have been visiting now for ten years and still breath a sigh of relaxation every time we approach the property, and will continue to come in the future.

Room Tip: All the accommodation is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swiestowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We planned a group of two and ended up with five staying at the lovely, peaceful Casa Portagioia. Terry and Marcello were marvelous hosts, picking us up at the train station in Castiglion Fiorentino, serving us a lavish dinner our first night, taking us to Arezzo to pick up rental cars, recommending restaurants, advising us on places to see, and even calling a physician when one of us came down with the flu. The rooms were lovely, comfortable, and scenic. We could not ask for better. Many thanks to Marcello and Terry for an unforgettable vacation!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveK619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We recently stayed at Casa Portagioia after visiting other regions of Italy - it was the highlight of our trip. Terry and Marcello were the perfect hosts and made us feel at home straight away. Amongst the many things we liked about Casa Portagioia was the tranquillity and surrounding hills. From our window we could see the olive grove and vineyards warming by the early sun, it was just magical. We loved breakfast listening to classical music and looking out on the many varieties of flowers buzzing with life. Occasionally, when we did not sightsee (Pienza. Siena, Florence and Arezzo), we would enjoy the swimming pool and then at around midday a beautiful and delicious lunch prepared by Marcello. What a beautiful and relaxing experience, we can still visualise it - and it felt so hard to leave such a beautiful place. The room was spacious and comfortable and everything had been given a high attention for our comfort. We will definitely come back next year and we are so looking forward to it, but for now, is a warm good bye Terry and Marcello. We would like to take this opportunity of wishing you a serene Christmas and a healthy and happy new year 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CavaradossiBremen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
7.4 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.8 mi away
Residence Le Santucce
Residence Le Santucce
#4 of 34 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Property: Casa Portagioia
Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing