We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect.....”
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect.....”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Could this really be the #1 rated B&B in the WORLD? My husband was skeptical. Well let me tell you, it was definitely deserving of its #1 rating in our minds. This place brought us to Italy. The entire trip was planned around availability at Casa Portagioia and we were not disappointed. As Marcelo greeted us and took us to our room, my heart literally pounded with anticipation. My initial reaction speaks to my feelings about this treasure. It felt as though we were the first and only guests to stay here. In other places, you know the room/hotel has had many visitors ahead of you. In Casa Portagioia I felt like someone had readied a very special guest room in their home. Our room was bright, clean and a tasteful mixture of Italian antiques, absolutely lovely linens, breathtaking views, perfect lighting and thoughtful amenities (e.g. robes, slippers, toiletries, mini bar, personalized menus and a very thoughtful thank you note on departure, etc). Outside the abundant flowers, the manicured gardens, the sunny and welcoming pool area draw you into a cocoon of tranquility. I sat under the rose arbor that first day and listened to birds chirping and felt totally "at home". I have never felt such contentment in any other vacation destination.

Marcelo tended to the delicious meals, practical questions and local reservations. Terry provided the sightseeing suggestions, directions and steady British banter during breakfast and dinner, while surreptitiously clearing plates and refilling coffee cups. He wouldn't want you to notice him doing these "chores" but he partners with Marcelo perfectly to provide top notch service with a very personal touch. Together they have built a legacy for all to enjoy, deep in the back roads of Tuscany. It is an authentic and inviting experience and one that truly lived up to my initial expectations. I have very high standards for hotels and B&Bs (read very picky) and I found Casa Portagioia to be a dream come true. Número Uno in all respects.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midwesterner061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
730
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle&München
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was our fifth consecutive year visiting Casa Portagioia. We go back year after year because our experience is consistently excellent and very relaxing. And fun! You step out of the car and breathe the air that is filled with lavender, rosemary, geranium, etc., and you immediately feel relaxed and at home. This year we were there a few weeks later than we normally are, and it was so neat seeing the differences in the surrounding countryside. The wild blue irises lining the roadways were beautiful. We were also able to sit in the sun by the pool and watch the swallows swoop in, take a drink from the water, and keep flying. Lovely. And as wonderful as the setting is, the true heart and soul of the place are Terry and Marcello. They are charming and interesting and helpful. The consummate hosts. We are already looking forward to next year.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank WestCoastBestCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jona, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Wonderful hotel at a very peaceful setting in the Val di Chio, Tuscany, between Arezzo and Cortona. Terry and Marcello are perfect hosts and very helpful with restaurant recommendations and bookings, as well as suggestions for places to see in the area. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable, and the whole hotel has been tastefully rebuilt with typical Tuscany atmosphere and careful attention to detail. The setting, with its gardens, cypress-lined entrance drive, vineyard and olive groves is very picturesque and impressive. Marcello’s breakfasts are excellent and the occasional evening meals with other guests an experience not to be missed. A perfect location to relax and use as a base for seeing Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MBGCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Thank you, Terry & Marcello. You were perfect hosts and we had a wonderful time. Fabulous breakfasts, great room, idyllic scenery, nice wine, good conversations - it was exactly the relaxing vacation we planned. Great ideas about day trips and local restaurants. We will definitely recommend you to our friends and family in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank davidhill1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from our second fabulous trip to Italy. The first time, we only managed a few days at Casa Portagioia; on our return visit, we made Casa our "home base" for our entire trip. And why not! The hosts Terry and Marcello are charming, warm and gracious - Terry, peppering every morning with delightful repartee, while you enjoy one of Marcello's sumptuous breakfasts. A phone call from Marcello to any of the local restaurants, or wineries, and doors open to the most fabulous day's adventures. No need to plan a complicated itinerary in advance. The rooms are spotless and well appointed, and the valley is breathtakingly beautiful. Well situated, day trips to delightful nearby towns - Cortona, Castiglion Fiorentina, Assisi, Pienza..., and even Florence, are possible. We will be back Terry and Marcello!
Suzanne V., Stratford, Canada

Room Tip: There are no "bad rooms", but "west-facing rooms provide a splendid view of the valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The owners Terry and Marcello are kind, classy, fun and the combination makes for a guaranteed good stay in a picture perfect tuscan setting. I showed up early for dinner. Marcello welcomed me into the kitchen and proceeded to give me a cooking lesson before dinner. Dinner began with a appetizer of truffle crostini. The first course was fabulous asparagus risotto with crispy prosciutto. Followed by Salmon teriyaki, mashed potatoes and sautéd spinach. Yumm. Served with warm focaccia and the b&b's fresh olive oil. Pecorino cheese was next followed by tiramisu. Music, candles, wine, flowers, interesting people from all parts of the world. Perfection!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tierney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our party of four enjoyed a lovely three-night stay at Casa Portagioia. First, the inn is perfectly situated for many easy day trips. We enjoyed visits to several neighboring hill towns, never driving more than one hour from the hotel. The grounds are beautiful and both Marcello and Terry were warm and welcoming. They were very helpful with our day trips and dinner plans, writing out maps and making reservations for us. We enjoyed all of their recommendations. The rooms at Casa Portagioia are very nice- spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed a final dinner at Casa Portagioia and thought it was the perfect end to our visit- we got to interact with the other guests while enjoying a beautifully prepared meal. We left wishing we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
7.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
716 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
788 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
312 reviews
22.0 mi away
Al Giardino degli Etruschi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Property: Casa Portagioia
Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing