We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bed and Breakfast and Owners”
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Recently my sister, brother in law, and boyfriend visited Tuscany for 3 days straight and it was the BEST part of our trip. Monchello and Terri are charming and hilarious hosts. Monchello is a fabulous cook and the breakfast is delicious. One day we could not find a place to eat lunch and he whipped us each up something on the spot. There are flowers, specifically roses, blooming all over the property. If I could live here, I would. Loved everything about the experience and hope it won't be too long before visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taylor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

There are so many wonderful reviews about Casa Portagioia that there is little new I can add. Suffice to say the place is as wonderful as the best reviews say it is, Terry and Marcello are as amazing as they sound, and it seems impossible that anyone could stay here and not immediately wonder how soon they can return. The landscape is exquisite, you feel as if you are a familiar guest in a beautiful villa, and the food, both breakfast and the optional dinner, is top restaurant quality. You fall asleep to the sweet song of the nightingales, and you wake up to tranquil surroundings, gorgeous gardens, a fine selection of delicious breakfast foods, and Marcello and Terry’s warmth and wit. Really, what could be better?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLEG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

In the past I have rated other hotels and B & B's a 5 Star, so how on Earth can I only be allowed to give Casa Portagioia only 5 stars as well, when it is head and shoulders THE BEST accommodation I have EVER had the pleasure of staying at......

You only have to read any previous review to understand that you will love your stay here, no question. As a matter of fact I feel SO fortunate to have had the opportunity to stay here. This place is beautiful beyond words for me.

But what sets it apart and sends it way above any other accommodation in the World is Marcello and Terry. These guys are the Heart and Soul of Casa Portagioia. The blood, sweat and tears it must have taken these two to rescue this old farmhouse to transform it into what it is today has to be seen to be believed.

PLUS, Marcello and Terry are two of the most loveliest, generous and sweetest guys you could ever wish to meet. They are very hands on from making one of the best dinners we have ever had, breakfasts to die for, the grounds and flowers are out of this world, and the rooms are decorated with every comfort you could ever want, including the best bed I've ever slept on!

The only down side for us staying here was having to leave........

Thank you Terry and Marcello for giving us a wonderful memory that we will never forget.

Julie & Mike, Brisbane Australia

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed with any room here, they are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jc2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I spent our honeymoon in Italy. We spent two wonderful days at Casa Portagioia based on the reviews here at TripAdvisor. It lived up to expectations - the room was comfortable and private, the breakfasts were delicious, and Terry and Marcello were wonderful hosts.

We also spent time in Venice at the San Clemente Palace Hotel and Resort - Casa Portagioia was by far our favorite!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We last visited Casa Portagioia in September 2010 and vowed that we would be back. We were fortunate to be able to return in May 2014. We are not ones to write reviews, and while taking every opportunity to travel, we never return to the same location - why would anyone do that? Our reasons are clear - our first trip here was the highlight of our travels in 2010. Our second trip only exceeded our first because the grounds were even more beautiful 4 years later and our hosts treated us like old friends. We felt right 'at home' from the moment we arrived! We can honestly say that we have never stayed anywhere, stateside or abroad, that we enjoyed more than Casa Portagioia. You never want to leave!

Everything you have read about Terry and Marcello is true and their haven is the perfect home base whether you want to rest or explore Tuscany. You will not regret spending time here. If you can stay for one of their home cooked meals in the evening, you will taste some of the best cuisine in the area! Our only complaint was that they could not wave their magic wand and control the rainy weather -- I thought you could do anything, Terry! Even in the rainy weather, our stay was exceptional. Thank you again, Terry and Marcello, for a delightful visit. We hope to see you again in the 'not too distant future'! Best regards, Sam and Theresa

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbsanborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Sweet Heaven sweet Casa Portagioia, yes it is. When you go to a place and feel the noise of silence surrounded by the beauty of mother nature, that's what you call the perfect vacation for a couple that was looking for a peaceful fun vacation in Tuscany for the second time.
My husband and I absolutely love Casa Portagiogia, Marcello and Terry made sure we had the perfect time with the first class service they provided us. We can not wait to get back. Now that we where lucky to see all the beautiful roses and flowers in Casa Portagiogia we are planning our next vacation to get to see the grapes and olives from their field which is also breath taking!

Best place in Tuscany to stay!

Thank you Terry and Marcello for having the perfect place in Tuscany!

See you next year!

Hugs,

Darnellys & Patrick

Room Tip: Any room will make you feel in paradise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darnellys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wishing to spend some time in Tuscany as part of our celebrations of a special birthday we searched Tripadvisor for somewhere special to stay for a week and found Casa Portagioia easily because of its amazing ratings and reviews. Everything that the best reviews say is true. From the warmest welcome to the prettiest comfiest rooms, to the sumptuous yet healthy breakfasts, to the kindness and jolly humour of hosts Terry and Marcello, to the friendliness of other discerning guests you are bound to meet there, to the loveliest gardens, to the views, to the location and to la Dolce Vita all around you, this wonderful piece of heaven must be added to your bucket list. In fact it should be made law. Thank you Marcello and Terry for making our week with you so special. Roger and Elaine, Plymouth UK

Room Tip: We didn't see the others but you can rest assured they will be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
7.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
775 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
327 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
833 reviews
7 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
669 reviews
20.1 mi away
Castello delle Serre
Castello delle Serre
#1 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range: £165 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing