We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration”
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just come back from an amazing time at casa portagioia. This place is so loverly set in Tuscan hills. The rooms are so nice, what you would expect in a 5 star hotel. It also has a gorgeous pool.
The breckfast was good and plentiful. Will defenally come back again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank garyakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is the second time that we have had the pleasure of staying at beautiful Casa Portagioia near Castiglione Fiorentino in Tuscany.

It is situated in a stunning and peaceful location and the service that Marcello and Terry offer is unique. The accommodation is extremely comfortable and the views from the rooms quite breathtaking. Breakfast is a fantastic experience with enough fruit, croissants, fresh eggs, omelettes, tea and coffee to satisfy the most demanding of guests!

The swimming pool, heated very effectively by an eco-friendly “sun catcher” and furnished with numerous very comfortable sun loungers in a secluded area with glorious views over the Tuscan countryside, is an absolute boon.

We recommend the Casa P for the peace and tranquillity it offers but also the friendship and fun that also prevails among both the hosts and guests. We took part in a Wine Tasting evening followed by a Pizza supper which we enjoyed with our fellow guests and ended up ordering rather a lot of Pinot Gringo Blush…

Marcello and Terry also ran a formal dinner for our party of 18 which was a resounding success, the dinner was superb and every detail was covered.

Some Bed and Breakfast!! It is no wonder that the Casa Portagioia has won the accolade as the Best Bed and Breakfast in the World! We could not recommend staying here highly enough and we hope very much to be able to return next year for another week in this very special place!

‘Tis all in the name – Casa Portagioia means “Home brings joy” – it SO does!!

Room Tip: There are two Suites for up to four people - the upstairs one boasts 360 degree views, a large doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lordrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Casa Portagioia was the highlight of our Tuscan honeymoon, so much so that we extended our stay for 2 extra nights. The hosts, Marcello and Terry, were wonderful and we had a great time interacting with the other guests at the pool and during one of their hosted dinners. Marcello made a 5 course homemade meal that was delicious! If dinners are offered during your stay, we would highly recommend partaking in it. Each day of our stay, we inquired about places to visit and loved the day trips they recommended. We hope to return to Casa Portagioia one day and know you wont regret staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have recently returned from our fifth visit to Casa Portagioia and found it as captivating as ever. Terry and Marcello continue to be consummate hosts, combining a warm welcome and exceptional attention to detail with a genuine interest in their guests.
Breakfast on the terrace is the perfect way to start your day, and after enjoying the wonderful selection of fresh fruit, pastries and eggs,(whichever way you like them), you may wish to linger over a cappuccino while absorbing the picture perfect view.
Whilst it may be hard to tear yourself away from the flower-filled gardens and the enticing pool, there are many towns and villages to be discovered in this wonderful part of Tuscany. Terry is always on hand to advise on the best routes, views and restaurants, ensuring that you make the most of every trip.
For those lazy days spent soaking up the sun by the pool, Marcello's pasta and salad lunches are a must, but for a real treat don't miss the twice weekly dinners prepared by Marcello. The delicious food and convivial atmosphere makes these evenings to remember.
As soon as we are back home, we find ourselves wanting to return, such is the magic of Casa Portagioia.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radnorrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Reading about Casa Portagioia does not do this little piece of paradise justice, yes, it sounds inviting but the setting tucked away down small roads leading you over little bridges, tiny villages and small enclaves, past fields of sunflowers, olive groves and vineyards, yet only a few kms from closest town is seriously special and relaxing.
Your hosts - Terry (a highly intelligent, caring man with a very dry English wit and banter) and his partner Marcello (gorgeous, caring and endlessly patient) have created a delightful bit of Italy with all the well thought out touches one would expect from an award winning B & B.
You do need a car to explore all the special villages and walled towns dotted across this wonderful part of Tuscany, yet my suggestion would be to not try to arrive late in the day or during night time.
Having had my luggage waylaid by Heathrow baggage failure (with Terry spending hours trying to get hold of information on my behalf was such a support at a difficult time) still allowed me to enjoy Marcello's great degustation dinner, meeting fellow travellers from UK, US, Germany at wonderful breakfasts' included in room price, wifi, clean crisp linens and spacious charming bedrooms, modern bathroomswith Italian touches (ladies - they have great hair dryers and quality bathroom amenities!), views over the wonderful gardens filled with plethora of colour and insects ( that Marcello loves photographing), 2 cute but demanding dogs - Tosca and Sammy that look soulfully and sing to you to be given tit-bits from the fresh tasty breakfasts including cereals, yoghurts, fresh bread rolls and jams, fresh fruits, wonderful aromatic coffee, melt in the mouth croissants, soft goo-ey omelettes filled with proscuitto and tomato was a great start to the days!
Their extensive grounds include olive groves (they make their own olive oil) a huge blue sparkling pool surrounded with hedges, flowers and lavender walkways so you do feel that lethargic relaxed mood take over when lounging around the pool and enjoying the views over neighbouring valleys and hillsides dotted with villages and towns. Should you wish to enjoy the surroundings and have a light lunch under the shady pergola with clumps of grapes and roses entwining around the pergola, looking out at the vistas, ask Marcello to prepare you a sandwich with prosecco! Take a moment to look at all the photos to get a feel for this piece of paradise, your hosts Terry and Marcello will offer advice and make bookings for events, restaurants', offering suggestions to enjoy scenic drives and special festivals to stop off and see.
I can only offer my personal views that after staying here, other places do not seem to measure up so do consider making this your last stop, I can understand why those who visit become return guests. Its' closed during the northern winter months so make sure you book a few days to experience this jewel you'll look forward to revisiting!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Talie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our stay at Casa Portagioia was the highlight of our first trip to Italy. Marcello and Terry are truly incredible hosts. They received us warmly and had great suggestions for day trips and local restaurants. Our room was perfect with wonderful views of the Tuscan countryside. We enjoyed wandering around the vineyards and the beautiful gardens, inhaling the scent of lavender, rosemary, and roses. Our last night was capped off by a lovely wine tasting and delicious meal prepared by Marcello and Terry--it was truly memorable. All that being said, I think the best part of our visit to Casa Portagioia was meeting Marcello and Terry! Marcello is a great cook with an easy, welcoming nature. Terry has a wry sense of humor that kept us all laughing. Thank you both so much for your wonderful hospitality--we enjoyed every minute of our visit with you and can't wait to come back soon! Margaret and Robert

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The location is exceptional, the place an absolute haven and Terry & Marcello a hoot!
The double act is a smokescreen for a couple of guys who take their business very seriously and, boy, do they deliver! Simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
7.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
778 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 23 in Cortona
834 reviews
7 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
#2 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
124 reviews
20.1 mi away
Castello delle Serre
Castello delle Serre
#1 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range: £128 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing