We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuscan Romance at its Finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pisac, Peru
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tuscan Romance at its Finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Let me begin this review by sharing.... DO NOT TRY TO BOOK THROUGH EXPEDIA! You can only learn of their availability through their website or calling them. (I recommend calling.) They do not work with Expedia, so it will just (inaccurately) say there is nothing available if you click through TripAdvisor/Expedia.

Casa Portagioia is perfect in every regard. The grounds are spectacular and impeccable... exceptionally well-maintained. Beautiful flowers, lavender, vineyards. Incredible panoramic views from every angle. Great pool. Many sweet little places to get lost within the property. It's a retreat space, a place for weddings and celebrations that is available to us as a very fairly priced bed and breakfast... Lucky us.

This B&B is totally private. Once you are there, you are in your own little oasis of Tuscan divinity. Between the peace & quiet and being perfectly situated within the surreal lush hills, the romance of the region can really come alive and touch your heart. You are in the perfect spot here to just breathe it all in, be inspired, let it all go and so on.

For my mother & I, Terry and Marcello are dream hosts. They are authentically themselves -- no automated smiles or scripted lines. Only real smiles and spontaneous conversation. It's refreshing and really just a relief to not be put in the typical empty, contrived politeness-for-the-sake-of-politeness routine. They are both totally on top of everything and nothing gets missed... from the perfectly poached eggs and organizing a bike delivery....to the endless care of these storybook grounds and hey, making sure the showers have amazing pressure (which they do).

Words really cannot do this place justice. It's not surprising they have 750+ 5 star reviews and zero negative ones. Staying here during our Tuscan travels was just the right medicine. It's also close enough to Cortona, Pienza and Chianti, so you could create a gorgeous little trip while having Portagioia as your home base. And Terry & Marcello can help you with that.

I stayed here with my mother. It is perfect for families, couples, or anyone looking to stay somewhere inspiring for writing, painting etc.

Enjoy...not to be missed <3

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tehyamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaPortagioia, Owner at Casa Portagioia, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your enthusiastic review - and, for pointing out the problems we are experiencing with the TripAdvisor site. It is still very annoying that the management and directors of TripAdvisor have not yet responded to our (posted) letters - explaining that despite paying a lot of money to TA for our website and email links, many potential guests are being "directed" towards other hotels in the area as we do not use the likes of Expedia and hotels.com . As you say, the only way is for our website link to made more prominent - and, better still for TripAdvisor to remove the banner/button which takes business away from us - Despite winning the coveted Travelers Choice awards - Being voted twice - bed and breakfast in the world - all of that seems to signify little in fair play. We hope that more guests click on our website link ( and check our accurate availability calendar . So, thank you for your perseverance in making the reservation, and once again for this favorable review. Terry and Marcello "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
705
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Arriving to Casa Portagioia is like stepping into a wonderful dream. Set within the peaceful Tuscan hills near Castiglione Fiorentino, this place is like a rare and precious gemstone, made even more unique by the warmth & friendliness of the hosts, Marcello & Terry.
Their professionalism and knowledge of the industry, the beautifully restored buildings, the attention to detail, the gorgeous food, and all the available facilities (more than you can think of) will make your holiday a memorable one. To top it all up, you can relax undisturbed by the heated pool, against the wonderful background of the hills.
I could also tell you about the infinite rows of gorgeous lavender and rosemary, the rows of cypress trees that from the gate lead up to the B&B, the vineyard and the meadows, the crickets symphonies in the evenings etc, but I think I'm running out of space to type...
Next time we're in Tuscany there will only be one place we'd want to stay, and this is it!

Room Tip: No room preference, no noise problems, just trust!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank volcanodigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great experience in Casa Portagioia! I loved the atmosphere. Wonderfully decorated and extremely quite. The hosts Marcello and Terry, were very helpful, booking restaurants, taxis and giving advice.
I spent most of the day time relaxing in the heated swimming pool, enjoying the Tuscan views.
Great selection of fresh local products, in the breakfast room.
I would definitely recommend it!
Paolo Lai

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paoloreflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodnon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just come back from an amazing time at casa portagioia. This place is so loverly set in Tuscan hills. The rooms are so nice, what you would expect in a 5 star hotel. It also has a gorgeous pool.
The breckfast was good and plentiful. Will defenally come back again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garyakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is the second time that we have had the pleasure of staying at beautiful Casa Portagioia near Castiglione Fiorentino in Tuscany.

It is situated in a stunning and peaceful location and the service that Marcello and Terry offer is unique. The accommodation is extremely comfortable and the views from the rooms quite breathtaking. Breakfast is a fantastic experience with enough fruit, croissants, fresh eggs, omelettes, tea and coffee to satisfy the most demanding of guests!

The swimming pool, heated very effectively by an eco-friendly “sun catcher” and furnished with numerous very comfortable sun loungers in a secluded area with glorious views over the Tuscan countryside, is an absolute boon.

We recommend the Casa P for the peace and tranquillity it offers but also the friendship and fun that also prevails among both the hosts and guests. We took part in a Wine Tasting evening followed by a Pizza supper which we enjoyed with our fellow guests and ended up ordering rather a lot of Pinot Gringo Blush…

Marcello and Terry also ran a formal dinner for our party of 18 which was a resounding success, the dinner was superb and every detail was covered.

Some Bed and Breakfast!! It is no wonder that the Casa Portagioia has won the accolade as the Best Bed and Breakfast in the World! We could not recommend staying here highly enough and we hope very much to be able to return next year for another week in this very special place!

‘Tis all in the name – Casa Portagioia means “Home brings joy” – it SO does!!

Room Tip: There are two Suites for up to four people - the upstairs one boasts 360 degree views, a large doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lordrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Casa Portagioia was the highlight of our Tuscan honeymoon, so much so that we extended our stay for 2 extra nights. The hosts, Marcello and Terry, were wonderful and we had a great time interacting with the other guests at the pool and during one of their hosted dinners. Marcello made a 5 course homemade meal that was delicious! If dinners are offered during your stay, we would highly recommend partaking in it. Each day of our stay, we inquired about places to visit and loved the day trips they recommended. We hope to return to Casa Portagioia one day and know you wont regret staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have recently returned from our fifth visit to Casa Portagioia and found it as captivating as ever. Terry and Marcello continue to be consummate hosts, combining a warm welcome and exceptional attention to detail with a genuine interest in their guests.
Breakfast on the terrace is the perfect way to start your day, and after enjoying the wonderful selection of fresh fruit, pastries and eggs,(whichever way you like them), you may wish to linger over a cappuccino while absorbing the picture perfect view.
Whilst it may be hard to tear yourself away from the flower-filled gardens and the enticing pool, there are many towns and villages to be discovered in this wonderful part of Tuscany. Terry is always on hand to advise on the best routes, views and restaurants, ensuring that you make the most of every trip.
For those lazy days spent soaking up the sun by the pool, Marcello's pasta and salad lunches are a must, but for a real treat don't miss the twice weekly dinners prepared by Marcello. The delicious food and convivial atmosphere makes these evenings to remember.
As soon as we are back home, we find ourselves wanting to return, such is the magic of Casa Portagioia.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radnorrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
7.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili - Chateaux et Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.8 mi away
Residence Le Santucce
Residence Le Santucce
#4 of 34 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Property: Casa Portagioia
Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing