We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,137)
Filter reviews
1,137 results
Traveller rating
1,131
3
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,131
3
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterry and marcelloother guestsattention to detailperfect hostsour honeymoonold friendsplaces to visitpastriesevery morningsense of humourbeautiful groundseach guestmaking reservationsevery aspectdinner reservationsmoment you arrivecourse meal
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 1,137 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Totally wonderful experiences due to Marcello, Terry and their staff. Set in a valley, surrounded by hills, our breakfast views were stunning, from the nearby garden of roses, vineyards and olive trees to the green hills of Tuscany. Their breakfasts are gourmet delights, laid out so artistically and we really enjoyed chatting to the other fun, energetic guests. Our room was lovely and had a terrace outside looking towards the long driveway, which is fringed with Tuscany cypress trees. We enjoyed a brief dip in the pool. We so appreciated the help each day on drives, places to stop, places to eat and all sorts of local knowledge. Terry and Marcello take time and interest to ensure each person’s stay is magical and special. Thank you for the memories of a lifetime! We hope to be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good as the location is very tranquil
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stephenfromtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Beautiful B&B. Terry and Marcello went out of their way to help us plan our activities and make us feel at home. Marcello made dinner reservations for us, had guide books we could borrow, maps to use.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elbee425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Casa Portagioia, roughly translating to the Doorway to Joy, is absolutely that. From the moment you pass through the beautifully crafted wrought-iron gates into the perfectly manicured gardens and charming villa, you feel like you are at home. Marcello and Terry are the ultimate hosts, offering a warm welcome whenever you see them, invaluable activity and dining recommendations, and a sense of humour that makes you feel like old friends. The breakfast every morning was absolutely stunning - an endless array of cereal and yogurt, fresh fruit, beautiful fresh croissants, scrambled eggs and Tuscan ham. The room itself (we stayed in the Suite) was well appointed and spacious, with a separate living area and full kitchen. I highly recommend staying if you're looking for a quiet and romantic getaway in Tuscany - you will not be disappointed. Thank you again, Terry & Marcello!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Oh My, Where to begin? This was our 2nd visit to Casa Portagioia. We visited 10 years ago for our honeymoon & returned for our 10 year anniversary, which we found as lovely as our first heavenly experience with all the gardens, trees and landscaping beautifully mature & well established. I only wish we could have visited sooner & more often! As you travel down the entry road lined with beautiful cypress trees, you begin to experience the serene oasis just ahead. One unusual feature of this B & B is the amount of privacy & true relaxing serenity you will find here. Very separate from the others, each room has it's own exterior entrance. Every room has a number of opening windows offering panoramic views of the lush landscaped gardens, rolling hills of vineyards, olive groves and the Tuscan countryside dappled with Italian cypress trees & farmhouses a far. While all of the rooms are perfectly comfortable & spacious, we stayed in the Andreocci apartment which has marvelous views, lovely space, seating & a little Tuscan kitchen! Terry & Marcello are welcoming & the perfect hosts. You notice every attention to detail inside & out, which is a true reflection of their passion for hosting each guest. Accommodating us from arrival to departure, they assisted with our dinner reservations & had wonderful suggestions of enjoyable day trips to surrounding places. The accommodations are updated, clean, well maintained yet still have tons of Tuscan character & charm. Unlike most European places-they have comfy beds, additional pillows & soft washcloths/towels. I can't forget the lovely, extensive breakfast which we were excited to enjoy each morning either on the outside terrace or inside dining area which are surrounded by all of the same relaxing oasis which you find in every direction. We enjoyed strolling around the lawn, gardens, pool, vineyards just soaking up all of the serenity Casa Portagioia has to offer. My only regret is not having more time & reserving a full day or two to just to spend on site lounging by the pool and gardens. Many Thanks & Hugs to Terry & Marcello for making our visit memorable. Until next time.......

Room Tip: All rooms seem lovely! The lower level apartment has a little chair moving noise from above from time to time.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

My wife and I have just returned from a truly wonderful and memorable honeymoon at Casa Portagioia. This is unlike any "b&b" you're likely to stay at anywhere in the world, coming from the UK we're familiar with traditional quaint b&b's which are lovely in their own right, but this place is luxurious without being pretentious and over-bearing.

Nestled in a beautiful valley with spell-binding views, this place has everything you would want from a picture-postcard view of Tuscany. Olive groves, lavender bushes, cypress trees and every other type of lush vegetation surround this charming property which is kept immaculate and pristine. The rooms themselves are beautifully designed and spacious. Our room, Nocci, had 2 windows which allowed you to look out across the valley from one direction and a totally different view from the other. The rooms are cleaned daily and all toiletries are provided too.

The property features a very nice sized pool and plenty of sun-loungers to relax on whilst you drink in the wonder of this place. It's possible to go for a hike up the valley behind the property if you wish though we settled for a more gentle stroll just outside of the property too which was very peaceful and charming.

A major factor of our enjoyment of our stay was the warmth and kindness of the owners Terry and Marcello (we also can't fail to mention their wonderful dogs Sammy and Tosca, we miss you guys too!). Ever-ready to help with anything during our stay, their guidance in planning our daily trips and evening meals was exemplary and just went to show their level of understanding of their guests and the local area. Breakfasts each morning were a joy as we tucked into lovely fresh fruit and the most wonderful eggs cooked by Marcello, whilst they both chatted to they guests with warmth and humour, it was actually a highlight of our day.

We cannot recommend this place enough at all, if you are looking to explore this beautiful region of Tuscany whilst enjoying comfort and more importantly being looked after like you're family by the hosts, then this really is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews