We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveller rating
1,145
3
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,145
3
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terry and marcello other guests attention to detail perfect hosts our honeymoon old friends places to visit pastries every morning sense of humour beautiful grounds each guest making reservations every aspect dinner reservations vineyards and olive groves moment you arrive
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

The main house and the guest house are very beautiful. The grounds are impeccable with flowers everywhere. While we were there a couple having their destination wedding nearby in Italy ( and not staying at the Bed And Breakfast) if they could have their wedding pictures at Casa Portagioia because it is so nice...the owners granted their
request, the rooms are comfortable, clean and have nice relaxing sitting areas in front. Great WiFi. The owners are super nice and helpful and are always available to recommend sites to visit and good nearby restaurants. About 25 minutes from Cortona and 10 minutes from Castigliano Fiorentino which , although not a typical tourist destination, happens to be a wonderful place to visit
Location has a pool with a beautiful view

Room Tip: Several rooms with kitchenettes available
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Hedrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

We loved our four-day stay here, in our apartment amidst the profusion of flowers and beauty in this spectacular agriturismo. We really enjoyed getting to know Terry and Marcello, the proprietors, as well as their two lovely small Shi Tsu dogs, Samantha and Tosca (truly adorable and so well-behaved). We highly recommend if you want a very beautiful and peaceful break in the Tuscan hills.
Chip and Wendy, Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank esdchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

A truly remarkable experience from start to finish. We traveled with 2 other couples and upon arrival, Marcello recognized two hungry travelers and made us a lovely little lunch. From then on we were treated like royalty. The grounds are breathtaking; the rooms charming, clean and comfortable. Wonderful sweeping views of the peaceful countryside. We stayed in the Nocci guestroom with comfortable beds, two opposing windows plus air conditioning. Pristine bathroom with lovely scented amenities. Breakfast includes amazing fresh fruit, warm croissants, jams, yogurts, cereals, fresh orange juice, coffees and Marcello's scrambled eggs and ham. Twice a week they offer a gourmet 5 course dinner which was the best meal we had in Tuscany. Marcello showed his talents in the kitchen with a delicious salmon dinner and a yummy lemon tart. He will cater to special tastes or dietary restrictions with advance notice. Wine and cheeseplates can be purchased separately for those days you want to stay in place. The pool is a lovely retreat. These two gentlemen open their home in the most welcoming way and are a credit to their profession and the community. We made new dear friends with these innkeepers and their lovely guests.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Sherybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Casa Portagioia was recommended to my wife and I by friends who stayed there 2 years ago. They had wonderful things to say and so we would check it out.

We had pretty high expectations going in but Marcello and Terry far exceeded them. We could not have had a more perfect experience and would recommend to anyone thinking about staying in the Tuscany area.

Marcello and Terry are the perfect hosts and if you luck out to catch them on a night when they are cooking dinner you are in for a treat.

The location is immaculate and attention to details are exeptional..

We cant wait to come back. Thank you both!

Pete & Nikki

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We have returned from our trip to Italy just 2 weeks ago,staying in Florence for two weeks, touring the city, taking trains and buses to Sienna, Lucca, Bologna...beautiful Tuscan towns. Our goal was to end our trip at Casa Portagioia. We had been there 9 years ago, and enjoyed this wonderful place so much, that we promised ourselves that whenever we get back to Italy, we would always go back to Portagioia. Life intervenes, and it took us 9 years to get back. We were wondering what it would be like after that amount of time. Would it be what we remembered, or had it changed in some negative way. The minute we drove up the driveway, we knew we were back to our haven. Marcello came out to greet us. He had remembered us, and we exchanged hugs. This man is such a warm and attentive host, He wants you to have a wonderful time. and he helps his guests in any way he can. The grounds, the main house, the rooms, the pool...everything was the same...and better. The landscaping has matured, the olive groves, and grape vines were flourishing...Marcello and Terry were still working hard to keep this dream, they worked so hard to accomplish, a true Tuscan countryside experience for their guests. The rooms are beautifully accommodated. Anything you needed was there. The countryside views from out windows were postcard worthy. The breakfast was perfect...don't pass up Marcello's scrambled eggs. And the night Marcello made his 5 course meal, the weather was perfect. We all had a chance to get to know each other, as each dish, delicious and fresh was served. Terry is a delight. He has a quick wit, and one-liners that will make you chuckle. He will try to help you in any way with tips of where to go, maps, set up massages, even find a cooking class for you. They are quite simply the best hosts we have encountered on any of our travels. And so we chose the best place to decompress after our hectic travel schedule in Florence... our haven...Casa Portagioia...before we headed back home to reality! If you want a memorable Tuscan countryside experience, go to Portagioia! It's perfection!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank celesteandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews