We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of sour taste”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A bit of sour taste”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Everything in the glowing reviews I've read before choosing this particular hotel is true. The location, the service, the friendliness of the owner/staff, etc. etc.

However, the most basic service a hotel of any number of stars, even zero stars, is expected to deliver is hot water in the shower. This we did not get during our recent two-day stay. The water was either lukewarm, or outright cold. Once in two days it got warm enough (but not hot) for me to dare to wash my hair.

The explanations of Signore Luigi were multifold and indeed, there was a plumber's truck present on the premises all the time. But they didn't fix anything since the problem is much deeper: the inability of the modern Italians to recreate the plumbing system their ancient ancestors in Rome took for granted. A great pity since the hotel otherwise would be perfect, but you don't want to pay close to 200 euros a night for this kind of discomfort. Let's add the particular odor of sewage coming out of the bathroom and you should get the whole picture.

jrk

Room Tip: Our room was Clematis. Perhaps others don't suffer the same problem ours did?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrk011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi-Protti, Owner at Relais San Pietro in Polvano, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Jrk,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Relais.
We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the lack of hot water during your stay.
That was indeed caused by a problem occured in our plumbing system that took our plumbers few days to fix completely. It is a new system but we were unable on this occasion to avoid a temporary inconvenience in your room.
Thank you however for the positive comments about all the other aspects of your stay and we hope to see you again in the future at Relais San Pietro in Polvano.
Kind regards
Luigi Protti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
78
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Sitting on the terrace of the Relais San Pietro with a glass of Tuscan red, surrounded by flickering candles and watching the sun go down over the Val di Chiana is one of my all-time favourite memories. Perched high up in the mountains it is a superb old building in a truly magical location.

While the views may be rustic, there's a sort of charming formality to the service. It's dignified and efficient, but perhaps not the relaxed home-from-home atmosphere you might expect from a rural farmhouse. Having dined outside all week, for example, our request to do so again on the final night of our honeymoon was politely but firmly refused because the owner deemed it too cold. Ironically it seemed pretty warm to us pale, pasty Brits and we'd also been told off for leaving the air conditioning on when we left the room during the day.

The food was typical Tuscan fayre - excellent quality ingredients, but served relatively plain - while the wine list was reassuringly expensive. Overall, it was the charismatic setting and the superb views across the valley that encouraged us to stay at the hotel more often than we ventured out in the evenings.

Aside from the pool there wasn't a great deal to do at the hotel itself. There are some walking trails in the surrounding hills, but they're largely unmarked and we spent most of one afternoon wandering round lost and wondering if we would later be found, days later, eaten by bears. That said, there's plenty to see in the neighbouring towns (although it can be a fairly lengthy car journey to get out to the better known sights) and it's still the perfect place to relax with a book.

The Relais San Pietro isn't without its foibles, but we would still recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic retreat in the mountains.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonChris71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Relais San Pietro, set in the heart of the Tuscan countryside was a charming and relaxing retreat; the perfect base to explore Tuscany from. Luigi is a wonderful host, the rooms are delightful and the pool refreshing. The breakfasts are delicious as are the dinners - it's not really worth leaving to eat out.
A car is a must for sightseeing and because the location is rural, which of course is part of the charm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myara21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We managed to find this gem of a place on Tripadvisor on our Italian road trip and were fortunate to be able to get 2 nights. The owner was a perfect gentleman who looked after the guests with individual attention, even learning all of our names during our stay. The breakfast and supper meals were fantastic and the view of the Tuscan hills at sunset was the perfect romantic accompaniment. We just couldn't ask for a better time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4fun-eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parigi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

we stayed here for a few nights at the end of three week trip around europe .... and what a treat! fabulous location on hill surrounded by olive groves, beautiful tastefully furnished rooms, and wonderful hosts. great evening meals served outdoors on a terrace under the stars.

tips as follows:
1. you will need a car
2. not very easy to find, make sure you have a detailed map with you as gps unreliable
3. do not walk to far into the village up the hill ... it's a dead end where a pack of small yappy dogs will attempt to chase you and bite your ankles

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCWParigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My mother and I spent three nights here in June and enjoyed every moment of our stay. The B&B is beautiful, the service impeccable, and the setting stunning. Luigi and his family made every detail perfect. This is the perfect place to base your Tuscan visit as long as you have a car. The food in the restaurant is incredible and the breakfast was the best I had in almost a month in Italy. The terrace is the perfect place for a drink and beautiful views of the area. Although there is much to do and see in the area, you can also enjoy beauty, relaxation and the magical setting without ever leaving your room. Each time we left, we returned to a freshly cleaned room and a smile. Can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreakeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmarthen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed two nights at this lovely Hotel.The service provided by Mr Protti and his staff can only be described as excellent. The rooms were immaculate, the views from the terrace pleasing. The pool swim refreshing. The food just fantastic. Every attention to detail is in place, a truly wonderful experience. This Hotel is in excess of 5 stars. We hope to return in the future. Own transport essential.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynllopwrsmilgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
5.2 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
6.8 mi away
La Cantina Relais - Fattoria Il Cipresso
6.1 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais San Pietro in Polvano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Pietro in Polvano

Property: Relais San Pietro in Polvano
Address: Localita Polvano 3, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais San Pietro in Polvano 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais San Pietro in Polvano, a family-run establishment set in an eighteenth-century converted hamlet in the Tuscan hills, is pure paradise for those seeking a quiet retreat. The panoramic pool is located on one of the terraces overlooking the olive groves and valley and is the perfect spot for relaxing or sipping a drink whilst enjoying the spectacular sunsets. An evening turn-down service adds to the luxurious atmosphere and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais San Pietro in Polvano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais San Pietro In Polvano Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Relais San Pietro In Polvano Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing