We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa del Melograno
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We, a couple (30 and 33 years old), were looking for the perfect place - somewhere near Tuscany and Umbria - to visit beautiful Italian medieval towns, taste great food and wine, and lounge in our private garden with a stack of books. Il Melograno gave us the opportunity to do all that, and more.

The house is great: lots of privacy (no real neighbors, the community theatre next to it seems to be empty on the side of the house), very clean, air-conditioning, internet, lovely wooden floors, tasteful furniture, a comfortable couch, a comfortable bed, a great kitchen with an oven, microwave, gas stove, dishwasher, and all the pots, pans and cutlery you might need. The garden is brilliant: a spectacular view of the sunset, a lovely table next to a large sunshade that includes a reading light, a small basin with a little fountain (in which you can actually sit if it's really hot, the water is chlorinated), and lots of plants and trees. Also, plenty of sun during the day if you want to get a tan. The beautiful fig tree at the back of the garden was bearing fruit, so we could use many of the figs for making our own pizzas with the inside of the fig on the base of the pizza, covered with prosciutto, pine nuts, and rocket, yum!

The town, Castiglion Fiorentino, is (website hidden)eat restaurants (we really liked Restaurant Roggi, great pizzas and house wine), beautiful buildings and old architecture. The area around Castiglion is amazing, with breathtakingly beautiful towns all around (Cortona, Anghiari, Siena, Pienza, etc.), gorgeous landscapes, and lots of medieval architecture everywhere you look. Also, Firenze is just 40 minutes away, perfect for a day-trip. If you fancy a swim, drive down to Lago Trasimeno, or the coasts, which are a 2-hour drive in each direction. But nearly anywhere you go really, is beautiful. The surrounding countryside is sprinkled with a lush topping of medieval towns, each with magnificent restaurants, friendly people and lots of amazing architecture and history.

The owner of Il Melograno, Rossano, is a really great guy: he helped us out with everything we needed, gave great tips about the area, and can be reached easily if you have any questions. When we arrived, the fridge was filled for us with water, juice, beer and a great pie, really sweet. All in all, this was exactly the holiday spot we were looking for and we would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bjorn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daliashania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isicarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarioTheater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoryEmyeLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giusy_ylenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ria89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castiglion Fiorentino hotels
3.8 mi away
Casa Portagioia
Casa Portagioia
#1 of 12 in Castiglion Fiorentino
1,080 reviews
3.4 mi away
Farm stay Il Bel Laghetto
Farm stay Il Bel Laghetto
#1 of 1 in Castroncello
2 reviews
0 mi away
Agriturismo S.Angelo
Agriturismo S.Angelo
#1 of 1 in Brolio
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
328 reviews
3.2 mi away
Residence Serristori
Residence Serristori
#3 of 32 in Castiglion Fiorentino
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Melograno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Melograno

Address: Via Trieste 10, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy (Formerly Il Melograno)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range: £102 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Casa del Melograno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Melograno Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing