We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Caloraidh

Caloraidh
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Uist
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caloraidh
Ranked #12 of 12 South Uist B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lovely people and very friendly. Really nice breakfasts. B&B very clean - great places stay. The location is very quiet and in a good position to visit several good places for a meal in South Uist - thank you for a good stay

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had a lovely few days in South Uist. Weather was generally kind to us. The island is a quiet retreat great for cycling and hill walking.
B&B was excellent and Mary our host was full of local knowledge and very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerh156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Short of being in your own home, this place is the best possible substitute. Comfortable spotless room with lots of little conveniences - hair drier, sewing kit, coffee and tea, china cups, crystal drinking glass. Hostess Mary is ever so helpful, can even teach you Gaelic but really useful for suggestions on what is worth doing & seeing. Eggs for breakfast from the chickens seen out back. Peat fire very cozy. Walk along to fabulous beach another plus. 8 min drive from ferry, location quite central on the island. 5 min to Askernish golf course.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our last 2 nights on the Hebrides and without doubt the best 2. Mary was fantastic, not only give a great welcome and chat, but also lots of help and advice as to what to see and do and where to eat with all her recommendations coming true. Too finish off the day a lovely peat fire to slowly send you to sleep.

Once again a fantastic breakfast to then send us on our way. Truly a great experience and a reason why you should visit the Hebrides

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Needwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A warm welcome and a sit by the fire, what more could you ask for? Mary and Robert looked after us well and made our stay very enjoyable. The accommodation is spotless, warm and very comfortable. The large sitting room and its 'famous' peat fire, is available if you just want to relax or plan tomorrow's adventure. Breakfast was excellent and well presented, just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This was a very nicely appointed b and b with a helpful host, Mary. The sea is a 15 walk from the house, making for a good stroll at sundown. Room was comfortable, with a good quality bed and shower, if not hugely spacious. Breakfast was beautifully served and extremely tasty, served at a shared table - a convivial touch which we experienced elsewhere in our cycling trip through the Outer Hebrides. If you are cycling, the nearest place to eat is a few miles south at the Borrowdale Hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Relaxationseeker_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I wish I could have stayed longer. Mary and Robert are a warm, open and interesting couple.
My room was nicely décorated, confortable and spotlessly clean.Good matress .
Thérèse is a nice living room with a peat fireplace. I would not hesitate to recommend the Caloraidh.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Uist
0.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dereham
271 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
371 reviews
449.9 mi away
Polochar Inn
Polochar Inn
#1 of 2 in Lochboisdale
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#9 of 9 in Dereham
45 reviews
452.7 mi away
Borrodale Hotel
Borrodale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Daliburgh
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caloraidh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloraidh

Address: Milton, HS8 5RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in South Uist
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Caloraidh South Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing