We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Angler & Antelope" for a perfect stay in Karroo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Angler and Antelope Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 11 Somerset East B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The "Angler & Antelope" is located in the centre of Somerset East in old, historic residential buidings: the old church serves as reception and restaurant. The historic buildings are a beautiful and unique location.
The friendly and familiar atmosphere made me feel welcome and "at home" everytime I stayed; I have been here 3 times this year several weeks.
Nice, cozy rooms make a comfortable stay and the fantastic breakfast is a perfect start for the day.
The "Angler & Antelope" is perfect for exploring the karroo - or for fly-fishing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JayTee071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Such a pleasure to have you with us, and glad that you take the time out of your busy work schedule to enjoy the beauty of our surrounds. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

The food and service of the unique property is really perfect. It is value for money. The fly-fishing experience is wonderful and surrounding stunning. To relax and get away from it all - go there.
Annabel and Alan are such lovely hosts. Go to the Karoo and Somerset East - it is authentic, real and beautiful!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, Anneli Always a pleasure to host your group! Can't wait for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I recently spent 3 days at the Angler & Antelope Guesthouse. in the company of Alan and Annabelle (the owners and hosts). It's really a very interesting establishment because of the fact that it is partly comprised of the old unused church and preachers residence. We stayed in the self catering cottage (which is the old Rectory). Really full of history and period decor. It comprises 2 bedrooms, one with a double bed and the other with 2 singles, a large bathroom and smaller lounge/dining area. However breakfast and supper can be taken in the old church which is now the dining room section and really the meals are wholesome and are prepared and served personally by Annabelle and Alan. They really are super and attentive hosts ! I was privileged to spend a couple of days with Alan on the waters around Somerset East. Armed with my Fly rod and his expert guidance (Alan is a registered REFFIS guide ) I was able to land and release some amazing trout from both the Stillwater impounds and streams surrounding their area in the Karoo ! The church building also houses a quaint but very well stocked fly fishing shop in the old "confessional". We took a quick look through the adjoining complex on the property which houses the guest rooms and they looked wonderful with tasteful and interesting decor. The parking is off street and very secure. You really couldn't find more friendly and attentive hosts so if and when you pass through this town on your adventure, do stop and pay the Angler and Antelope (and the Hobson's) a visit !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

So glad we could make your stay enjoyable. Thankfully the weather and the fish came to the party. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

After reading the great reviews, we were expecting better. We arrived on a Sunday, and had the impresssion of disturbing. The self catering cottage doesn't even have a kitchenette, so it is very difficult to self cater. The bed was small and not comfortable. It was a hot day, and there was no spot in the shade for us to sit outside. So we had to stay indoors to avoid beeing burnt by the sun.
As for the old church changed into a dinning room, it really needs a little revamp, as the paint is peeling off the walls!
This was the worst night of our road trip in the Eastern Cape.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

We are terribly sorry that you did not have a good experience at our establishment. The Family Cottage that you stayed in is marketed and advertised as a family cottage with self-catering facilities. We apologize for the misunderstanding. We wish we had had the opportunity to react to your discomfort at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The previous reviewers have said it all already - this place is a gem. The underfloor heating in my room was the ultimate luxury! Small touches such as filter coffee in the rooms, great quality linen and towels and neat finishes add to the experience. There is secure off-street parking and an on-site deli and restaurant. The region itself is one of the lesser-known gems of South Africa. I would like to return for some fly-fishing lessons one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thanks for your wonderful review Mike, glad we could make your stay comfortable and memorable. See you soon for those fishing lessons!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The Angler & Antelope is charming. Alan & Annabelle are wonderful and attentive hosts and the area around Somerset East is spectacular. Alan assisted my husband and son with the best fishing spots and advice and made sure we discovered places that were enjoyable for the whole family. Annabelle's food is outstanding and the rooms are extremely comfortable. This is the second time we have visited and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRainbowSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for your review. It was wonderful to be able to share out piece of paradise with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The Angler and Antelope Guesthouse was a very pleaseant experience. The management and staff are friendly and hospitable, room occupied spacious and tastefully furnished with a fantastic bathroom. Excellent breakfast with the best coffee in the region served every morning.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent although there are some with single beds and others with large double beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masendekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for your review. We strive for excellence, and hope that we will achieve this on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Angler and Antelope Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler and Antelope Guesthouse

Address: 2 College Street | cnr New Street, Somerset East 5850, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Somerset East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset East
Price Range: £64 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angler and Antelope Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming guesthouse with seven rooms, from a simple standard room, to luxury with air-conditioning, under-floor heating & satellite TV. Included is two rooms with self-catering facilities. Two self-catering family units also available. Spectacular fly fishing on top of the Boschberg mountain. Enjoy the pub in the old Roman Catholic church with over 50 Malt Whiskies, and country cooking for dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Angler and Antelope Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing