We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No faults, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No faults, great location”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over Easter in one of the wooden lodges. First off the location is great. I was slightly worried due to knowing Bethesda and it isn't what you would describe as picturesque. However, as soon as you turn into the park from the A5, you're greeted by a great view, tumbling river, lots of ancient looking trees and a caravan park sympathetically placed within. The lodges are located right at the farthest point away from the entrance and have a great position.

The country park is ideally situated as a base to explore Snowdonia (Idwal cottage is about 4 miles away) or the coast (Bangor/Conwy etc).

Our lodge was as expected, perfect for us (2 adults + a toddler) but I think two teenage kids in tow and it would have felt cramped. The place was spotless, everything worked and the kitchen came with lots of mod-cons (microwave, dishwasher, washing machine). Being picky the television worked but was old hat.

It isn't luxurious but it comfortable and a perfect base to explore such a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbeque1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    43
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
70
36
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have been to Ogwen Bank twice before with our children and stayed in the lodges. My partner and I are returning for a 3rd time for our anniversary next weekend and I can't wait to come again! Gorgeous lodges, friendly welcoming staff! Can't wait to book again for next year :-) think I need a loyalty card! Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyates90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Manager at Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We hope you had a lovely anniversary and didnt miss the children too much. We look forward to seeing you and the family again soon.
From all the staff at Ogwen Bank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brimscombe
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We rented a lodge for a few days - the location is quiet, the lodge is plenty big enough for 4 with decent heating and equipment.
Local facilities are not up to much, but easy to get to Bangor and a good base for exploring the area. Zip world is walking distance.
On site bar/games room is OK, nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWM710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Booked a family holiday to Ogwen Bank & overall it was OK. I took 2 new pillows with us (as these places never have enough!) .... after 6 days I developed a mysterious rash & after extensive treatment nothing was working ... eventually pulled my bedroom apart as I was convinced something had been biting me .... what a shock I had! Completely infested with bed bugs!!! These little blighters do not fly or jump only crawl ... I have not stayed anywhere other than here so its obvious where they came from! They were clearly transferred to my home after taking up residence in my new pillows whilst at Ogwen Bank ... am utterly devestated & am now over £1000 out of pocket as had to replace my bed plus bedding! WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN & WOULD ADVISE OTHERS NOT TO!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tigerjo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My partner and i took a short break at the beginning of October 2013, we wanted a base to explore the area and good quality self catering accommodation.

The log cabin we stayed in was well, equipped, comfortable and warm, it was situated just by a little pond which had a lovely duck family in it.

The cabin had 2 well equipped comfortable bedrooms which were surprisingly spacious. The living area was an open plan kitchen, living room. The kitchen had all the mid cons, dish washer, washing machine, microwave, cooker, oven, fridge etc, and also a good sturdy table.

The living area housed a sofa, chairs, gas fire, as well as a good selection of leaflets about the surrounding area. The bathroom housed a bath with a shower inside, it was completely adequate and clean. The whole cabin was spotless inside and the patio area outside too. The only slight gripe is about the tv, it wasn't the best reception and we felt maybe an upgrade on tv's was due as it seemed to be an old fashioned portable tv, but this is minor, it didn't spoil our stay one bit.

Ogwen Bank was a lovely place to stay the staff were friendly and helpful and we spent a fantastic night in the pub which served delicious, value for money food.

Much to my surprise Ogwen Bank was home to a roaming white rabbit. Other guests along with ourselves fed it with veggies as it roamed round :)

We found it a good base to visit nearby attractions, we visited Snowdon including a trip up the mountain, Isle of Anglesey, Caernarfon, along several other places.

We'd recommend Ogwen Bank and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Manager at Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on Ogwen Bank.
We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The ducks are doing really well, but sadly snow white the large white rabbit was adopted by a local family, but is doing well.
We look forward to meeting you all again, From all the staff at Ogwen Bank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Went for a short break 8th Nov 2013 in number 14 log cabin. My husband and I took my mum and dad(82years old) who has been extremely ill but wanted something to look forward to. The park changed the hoseasons booking of the log cabin to one more accessible and by the river so my dad could enjoy the scenery without having to move. They left the cabins heating on so it was lovely and warm when we arrived, and rather than worry about it being to cold we had to turn down the radiator thermostat because to warm best problem!!! The log cabin was much bigger than i expected it to be.and the wild life visited us every day and the views around the park are to die for. My dad thoroughly enjoyed his weekend as did all of us. Thankyou

Room Tip: Book with Ogwen Bank rather than Hoseasons as they can allocate where your position is. And much mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Manager at Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on Ogwen Bank.
We were so pleased that we were able to change your accommodation. We believe that it is important to try and get the correct location for our customers as we all have different needs.
We were so pleased that your parents enjoyed their stay.
Hope to meet you all again soon. From all the staff at Ogwen Bank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Hi All, We have just got back from a week long stay at Ogwen Bank. This was our 5 visit and I think I am well qualified now to comment on the Park.

The Staff are brilliant

The accommodation are second to none (Lodge)

The food in the clubhouse DELICIOUS!!!

We booked our next holiday for May next year as we left

Ogwen Bank keep doing what your doing, because its a great job

Room Tip: Ask for a Lodge by the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobleniblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
12.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
6.2 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
1.0 mi away
Snowdonia Mountain Lodge
Snowdonia Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bethesda
74 reviews
22.6 mi away
Dinas Caravan Park, Camping & Glamping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club

Property: Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club
Address: Ogwen Bank Caravan Park And Country Club | Gwynedd, Bethesda, Bangor LL57 3LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor > Bethesda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated by the beautiful river of the same name, Ogwen Bank Caravan Park is a family-operated business which has been providing excellent specialty lodging for many years. Live entertainment, fishing and fun-filled activity days out are a few of the attractions when you stay at Ogwen with the Olde World Country Club in the heart of the park being the perfect retreat for guests. With lodges for sale & hire and with holiday homes to catch your attention too, be sure to contact us for your perfect break in Snowdonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogwen Bank Caravan Park And Country Club Hotel Bethesda
Ogwen Bank Caravan Park And Country Club Bethesda, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing