We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ogwen bank caravan park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club
Reviewed 24 May 2014

just come back from ogwen bank holiday park in wales lovely place but don't stay in the caravans they are dumps they smell damp the electric kept tripping off the fire if you could call it a fire never gave out heat the fridge was very dirty and the shower the carpet smelt of human wee it was really bad the cooker had not been washed down it was so dirty and gressy the beds on arrival had dead bugs in them but part from that it was not bad

Room Tip: corner suits
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Manager at Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

I am very sorry that you had these issues with your caravan . I hope that you informed the staff in reception and that the matter was dealt with for you. The caravans are bottom to mid range and as they are all situated in and under trees they do tend to feel a little damp but it is the location and settings that they are in. The local area had been having problems with the electric supply and thankfully he issue has been resolved.
We hope to see you all again, from all the staff at ogwen bank.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

just got back from a three day break at Ogwen Bank. This is the 2nd time we had stayed there (first time was a while ago) and stayed in a Lodge which was well equipped and warm but some what dated.TV reception wasnt good. Local facilities are a bit of a let down, with nowhere to eat in the Village, or within walking distance. The clubhouse was a little cold and dark with limited menu. They have recently introduced a Sunday Carvery but this is all that is available on a Sunday, and once we have eaten one carvery, we didnt fancy another that day! No Wifi facilities, which did cause us a bit of a problem (but may not for some). On the plus side, the park has a wonderful mix of wildlife, and the setting is beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 404Bill62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over Easter in one of the wooden lodges. First off the location is great. I was slightly worried due to knowing Bethesda and it isn't what you would describe as picturesque. However, as soon as you turn into the park from the A5, you're greeted by a great view, tumbling river, lots of ancient looking trees and a caravan park sympathetically placed within. The lodges are located right at the farthest point away from the entrance and have a great position.

The country park is ideally situated as a base to explore Snowdonia (Idwal cottage is about 4 miles away) or the coast (Bangor/Conwy etc).

Our lodge was as expected, perfect for us (2 adults + a toddler) but I think two teenage kids in tow and it would have felt cramped. The place was spotless, everything worked and the kitchen came with lots of mod-cons (microwave, dishwasher, washing machine). Being picky the television worked but was old hat.

It isn't luxurious but it comfortable and a perfect base to explore such a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbeque1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have been to Ogwen Bank twice before with our children and stayed in the lodges. My partner and I are returning for a 3rd time for our anniversary next weekend and I can't wait to come again! Gorgeous lodges, friendly welcoming staff! Can't wait to book again for next year :-) think I need a loyalty card! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyates90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Manager at Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We hope you had a lovely anniversary and didnt miss the children too much. We look forward to seeing you and the family again soon.
From all the staff at Ogwen Bank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We rented a lodge for a few days - the location is quiet, the lodge is plenty big enough for 4 with decent heating and equipment.
Local facilities are not up to much, but easy to get to Bangor and a good base for exploring the area. Zip world is walking distance.
On site bar/games room is OK, nothing special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWM710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Booked a family holiday to Ogwen Bank & overall it was OK. I took 2 new pillows with us (as these places never have enough!) .... after 6 days I developed a mysterious rash & after extensive treatment nothing was working ... eventually pulled my bedroom apart as I was convinced something had been biting me .... what a shock I had! Completely infested with bed bugs!!! These little blighters do not fly or jump only crawl ... I have not stayed anywhere other than here so its obvious where they came from! They were clearly transferred to my home after taking up residence in my new pillows whilst at Ogwen Bank ... am utterly devestated & am now over £1000 out of pocket as had to replace my bed plus bedding! WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN & WOULD ADVISE OTHERS NOT TO!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tigerjo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My partner and i took a short break at the beginning of October 2013, we wanted a base to explore the area and good quality self catering accommodation.

The log cabin we stayed in was well, equipped, comfortable and warm, it was situated just by a little pond which had a lovely duck family in it.

The cabin had 2 well equipped comfortable bedrooms which were surprisingly spacious. The living area was an open plan kitchen, living room. The kitchen had all the mid cons, dish washer, washing machine, microwave, cooker, oven, fridge etc, and also a good sturdy table.

The living area housed a sofa, chairs, gas fire, as well as a good selection of leaflets about the surrounding area. The bathroom housed a bath with a shower inside, it was completely adequate and clean. The whole cabin was spotless inside and the patio area outside too. The only slight gripe is about the tv, it wasn't the best reception and we felt maybe an upgrade on tv's was due as it seemed to be an old fashioned portable tv, but this is minor, it didn't spoil our stay one bit.

Ogwen Bank was a lovely place to stay the staff were friendly and helpful and we spent a fantastic night in the pub which served delicious, value for money food.

Much to my surprise Ogwen Bank was home to a roaming white rabbit. Other guests along with ourselves fed it with veggies as it roamed round :)

We found it a good base to visit nearby attractions, we visited Snowdon including a trip up the mountain, Isle of Anglesey, Caernarfon, along several other places.

We'd recommend Ogwen Bank and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Manager at Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your comments on Ogwen Bank.
We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The ducks are doing really well, but sadly snow white the large white rabbit was adopted by a local family, but is doing well.
We look forward to meeting you all again, From all the staff at Ogwen Bank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
1.1 mi away
Snowdonia Mountain Lodge
Snowdonia Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bethesda
80 reviews
3.5 mi away
YHA Idwal Cottage
YHA Idwal Cottage
#2 of 4 in Bethesda
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Joys of Life
Joys of Life
#1 of 3 in Bethesda
63 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club

Address: Ogwen Bank Caravan Park And Country Club | Gwynedd, Bethesda, Bangor LL57 3LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor > Bethesda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Bethesda
Price Range: £64 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated by the beautiful river of the same name, Ogwen Bank Caravan Park is a family-operated business which has been providing excellent specialty lodging for many years. Live entertainment, fishing and fun-filled activity days out are a few of the attractions when you stay at Ogwen with the Olde World Country Club in the heart of the park being the perfect retreat for guests. With lodges for sale & hire and with holiday homes to catch your attention too, be sure to contact us for your perfect break in Snowdonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogwen Bank Caravan Park And Country Club Hotel Bethesda
Ogwen Bank Caravan Park And Country Club Bethesda, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing