We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Joys of Life

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joys of Life
Ranked #1 of 3 Bethesda B&B and Inns
Wales
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic place - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here as a large walking group over the May bank holiday. I can't praise the accommodation or hosts enough! The bedrooms were superbly furnished and all other facilities exceeding all our expectations. We were made to feel extremely welcome and everyone felt extremely relaxed sitting in the huge lounge, dining room or just soaking up some sun on the patio. Next time I am in the area - this will be my accommodation of choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed here on May bank holiday along with 12 other friends as part of a walking group. It was a challenge we were all a little apprehencive about. The accommodation was wonderful we all felt relaxed and comfortable. I will recommend to all of my friends and family The Joys of Life. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire82_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This will be the second time I have stayed here as part of a walking group and I will definately
return as you couldnt wish for a better stay. It is a very peaceful location and the accomodation is absolutely first class. We had use of the lounge which was very spacious and comfortable and decorated to a high standard. There is nothing I could fault about it and I do have very high standards. The owners go out of their way to be very helpful and are very pleasant.
Thank you very much for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murphy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

My husband and his brother stayed here for one night only unfortunately.... stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage, beautifully furnished, spacious, well equipped, clean, and lovely and warm. The owners couldnt have been more helpful or pleasant. The breakfast was delicious. The owners were also happy for them to bring takeaway food back to the property and they were very relaxed about my husbands arrival time of 9.30pm.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank percycircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

14 of us have just stayed at joys of life for the second time. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Nothing was too much for owners who even had sledges to use in the snow. Its a lovely place to stay and we will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and I had stayed there a few years ago and we liked it so much that we decided to take the family and a couple of friends for the August Bank Holiday weekend. The facilities and location are fabulous. The previous reviewer gave a full description of what is available. We booked the Bryn Llys property and had 5 bedrooms, dining room, kitchen, lounge and games room. It is convenient for the Welsh coast, Bettws y Coed, and even as far as Harlech. We had three children with us aged 10 and 12 and they loved it. We are considering doing this as a family get-together again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosinaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at the Joys of Life as a large group over a weekend and hired out the total Bryn Llis accommodation (sleeps 14 in 12 beds, 2 being doubles).
The facilities and furnishings are absolute top quality for the price paid and with hiring out the full venue there is so much space! 5 bedrooms each with en-suite are lined up corridor style facing a nice outdoor area and pond, on the other side of which is ample parking space. The living space (which would be shared if only hiring one room) consists of downstairs – dining area with 3 x 6 person dining tables, attached kitchen with all necessary appliances, bathroom and laundry room. Upstairs there is a large communal lounge with TV and enough seats for everyone, along with a games room with table tennis!
The accommodation is almost in the shadow of the Snowdon mountain park and so is a great base camp for all the local activities. Bethesda itself is a small town but does have a couple shops, pubs and numerous take aways. The owners were lovely and very helpful in every stage of the booking process.
In summary, great location, amazing accommodation!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cautious_cow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
9.5 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
4.5 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Snowdonia Mountain Lodge
Snowdonia Mountain Lodge
#2 of 4 in Bethesda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.4 mi away
YHA Idwal Cottage
YHA Idwal Cottage
#1 of 4 in Bethesda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pant Teg B & B
Pant Teg B & B
#1 of 2 in Tregarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joys of Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joys of Life

Property: Joys of Life
Address: Coed-Y-Park | B4409, Bethesda, Bangor LL57 4YW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor > Bethesda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Joys of Life 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Joys of Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joys Of Life Bethesda, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing