We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great getaway”
Review of Joys of Life

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joys of Life
Ranked #1 of 3 Bethesda B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great getaway”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

stayed 2 nights whilst visiting friends In Betheseda , would loved to have stayed longer, the rooms are perfect, great host Wendy , great staff, thanks Carol for puttting up with my humour!!, great surroundings

Room Tip: all rooms are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobSherunkle1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed as a group of 10+ planning to walk Snowdon. The accommodation was set in a beautiful part of Wales. It wasn't situated too far from our intended location which made it an ideal place to stay. Inside there was a sizable kitchen, a large dining area, living room and even a table tennis room. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were a nice size with an en-suite. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick86W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Little remote, but very fine place; approx 10 minutes walk to the town; very nice location: spacious rooms, fine and quiet place to sit outside, big room to sit in the evening, table tennis, and so on; and the highlight: the railway in the park!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruediger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stawell, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Joys of Life. Wendy our host was efficient, friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast was lovely. The grounds invited us to
wander around......the lake, garden and walking track to the stream all wonderful

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

How shall we describe the Joys of Life?

*We discovered what felt like our own private nature reserve, as well as a B&B with amenities beyond our expectations.
*A spacious room
*Large, pristine bathroom
*Tea and coffee facilities in the room, plus a community fridge to accommodate items in our
cold bag
*Multiple beautiful gardens, one with a pond
*A lake with a Bird Hide, just a seven minute walk from our front door. We found a range birds, plus one unusual pair, probably migrating.
*Cheerful hostess, host, and groundskeeper
*Delicious, Full English breakfast at a reasonable time of our choice
*Lovely surroundings inside and out
*Serenity and beauty surrounded us
*In addition, easy access to Bethesda for good pubs and pub food
*Helpful advice about places to visit in this beautiful region of Wales
WE DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steandkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I must confess to booking this with some trepidation as a stepping stone on a tour. The name slightly concerned me. I didn't know if we would be met with joss sticks and brown rice, but I need not have worried. The place is a wonder. Beautiful setting. Well kept grounds including the tracks for a tiny railway running through them. Spacious rooms immaculately clean and well prepared. Toiletries. Plenty of places to sit outside and have tea. Lovely breakfast including very good sausages - one of my markers for a good host. Talking of which, very helpful and friendly. When she came in (the door was open) and found us eating chinese food on the bed she didn't bat an eyelid, just asked if we wanted fresh milk for the tea/coffee.

Room Tip: There are no restaurants in Bethesda, and only one pub which serves food, but this day (Saturday nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grassbeneathmyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I, Mother-in-law and Aunty all stayed here while visiting our Son at Bangor University and we all found it very relaxing, the rooms very clean warm and comfortable, the breakfasts are first class and excellent service.The gardens are beautiful. We will definitely go back, its so lovely to have found this little gem because we can visit our son and enjoy a relaxing break at the same time.Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JA_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
4.5 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bangor
275 reviews
2.0 mi away
Snowdonia Mountain Lodge
Snowdonia Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bethesda
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pant Teg B & B
Pant Teg B & B
#1 of 2 in Tregarth
128 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ashbrook, Bangor Boutique Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joys of Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joys of Life

Property: Joys of Life
Address: Coed-Y-Park | B4409, Bethesda, Bangor LL57 4YW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor > Bethesda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bethesda
Hotel Class:4 star — Joys of Life 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Joys Of Life Bethesda, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing