We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Joys of Life

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joys of Life
Ranked #1 of 3 Bethesda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here a few nights while travelling through the UK, and would highly recommend it. The room was excellent, breakfast was delicious, and the grounds are beautiful. We had fun geocaching as well!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanfromMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

After having such a great time last year, we were looking forward to our return visit. Everything was just as fantastic as the first time - it really is the perfect set up for groups. For the new people in the group, the name did cause some consternation /amusement and I have to say it did initially put me off booking this accommodation too - I don't want to offend the lovely owners but I'm sure this must affect your trade so please accept it in the spirit of constructive feedback. For anyone having any second thoughts - DON'T - it is a fabulous place, great rooms and lovely hosts - you couldn't ask for better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AlisonWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in Bryn Llys, the large self-catering cottage, with our two young children and 11 friends from our walking club. We all had a wonderful time. The accommodation is extremely comfortable and spacious, and the table tennis table was a fun addition. The accommodation was excellent for the children, with stair gates and other safety features, and Wendy was extremely helpful and accommodating. The site is beautiful: our three year old loved riding his tricycle around the gorgeous and spacious grounds and the ride on the model railway was a very exciting treat. Bethesda is brilliantly situated for roaming the hills and we did some fabulous walks. A fantastic trip: we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here for one night before attending an open day at Bangor University. It was situated in a beautiful location. Initially we were unsure about whether we were lost but continued pass the paint company and eventually found it. The garden was very pleasant and quirky. The rooms were exceptionally clean and sparkled just as new. The lounge and play room would have been a great resource if we had stayed longer. Wendy was a very friendly hostess who provide a lovely breakfast. We would definitely recommend this place. Thank you.

Room Tip: All were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend with friends in March. What a lovely place to stay. We were made to feel so welcome. The rooms were lovely, large, spacious and comfortable. Wendy made us a lovely breakfast, plenty to eat. We were there to go to zip world which is round the corner. We walked into to Bethesda which took no longer than 10 minutes there's not a lot to do but plenty of take aways for food, a few pubs and 3 small supermarkets. We had the use of the lovely kitchen in the main house so cooked one night. We would highly recommend this as a good base to take in the lovely walks and sights of North Wales. Thank you for our stay and we will be back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TheEdwardsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here whilst on a business trip to Bangor University. A really peaceful and tranquil location. I stayed in one the the annex rooms, which had a double bed on the ground floor and a mezzanine with two singles. Really nicely presented with wooden flooring and nice furniture and furnishings. The courtyard outside the room was very mediterranean, and I had a chance to sit in the warm March sun!
There is wifi, but it didn't seem to work in the room for me, but it does work in the dining area, which also has a communal kitchen. I can imagine if a family or group stayed here, it would be an excellent facility.
I only met with one of the hosts, Wendy, and she was very courteous and professional and makes a lovely breakfast.
Overall a great find, and I plan to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary-coedfryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

stayed 2 nights whilst visiting friends In Betheseda , would loved to have stayed longer, the rooms are perfect, great host Wendy , great staff, thanks Carol for puttting up with my humour!!, great surroundings

Room Tip: all rooms are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobSherunkle1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
4.9 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bangor
293 reviews
5.9 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bangor
111 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ashbrook, Bangor Boutique Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Snowdonia Mountain Lodge
Snowdonia Mountain Lodge
#2 of 4 in Bethesda
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joys of Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joys of Life

Address: Coed-Y-Park | B4409, Bethesda, Bangor LL57 4YW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor > Bethesda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bethesda
Price Range: £88 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Joys of Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joys Of Life Bethesda, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing