We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochboisdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lochside Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Lochboisdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights with Morag and Alisdair. Our room was warm, very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. Breakfast was a very high standard and Morag is a lovely, welcoming lady who's character makes her a pleasure to stay with. Nothing was too much trouble and coffee and home baked cake when we came in both days was a wonderful little touch.
Thank you Morag for adding to our wonderful holiday experience.

Room Tip: We had the family room and the black out blind was very welcomed, especially when you struggle with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaynor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    14
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
51
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We recently toured Barra and the Uists. Our 2nd night was spent with Morag and Alisdair at Lochside Cottage. A beautiful house in an even more beautiful setting, with wonderfully attentive hosts, we stumbled upon an absolute gem!
Although you can't see it from the road, the house backs on to a small loch - the extension room is right on the loch side - you couldn't get any closer without getting your feet wet! It's a wonderful outlook - you can sit there and watch the wildlife completely undisturbed.
Our rooms were really nicely done, very homely,beds were comfy - no ensuite, but bathroom next door - it didn't bother us at all as we were made to feel so much at home.
When we arrived in the afternoon, Morag welcomed us with tea and home baking - such a lovely, caring touch. She sat and chatted to us when I'm sure she must have had other things to do - we just felt so welcome. In the evening, Alisdair came to spend time with us. It was lovely.
Breakfast was vast, hot and beautifully cooked. It kept us going until well into the afternoon!
A stay at Lochside Cottage is a must if you're visiting the area. You won't be disappointed! Book now!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackiemac34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely B& B. Morag made us very welcome and we enjoyed fantastic views from her lovely lounge and conservatory. Our room was warm, comfortable and very tastefully furnished .We thoroughly enjoyed the hearty breakfasts and Morag got up at the crack of dawn to make it for us on our last morning as we had to catch a really early morning ferry.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Lovely outlook, with very comfortable bedroom and bed with a great breakfast. Mrs McDonald went above and beyond by sending her husband to pick us up from the ferry when she was notified that the post bus has broken down. Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladycraigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and me stayed 8 nights at Morag and Alasdair. They really made us feel at home. They made great efforts to cosset us and we enjoyed that very much!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

stayed for one night on a tour of the islands.Warm and friendly B&B not far from the ferry. Heartwarming scottish breakfast giving a good start to the day. Room clean and warm. Would return

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank modernoldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INVERNESS
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We spent one night here whilst Island Hopping, and were made so welcome by Morag, who ushered us into her beautiful conservatory and provided us with coffee and freshly baked cake.
Our downstairs room was very comfortableand spotlessly clean, television and tea/coffee making facilities were in situ.
Breakfast choice was very good, and we thoroughly enjoyed a huge piping hot, beautifully cooked breakfast, ably served by Alistair.
Very friendly atmosphere, and the location of this B&B is wonderful, sitting right on the edge of a loch. Lochboisdale Ferry Terminal is just a few minutes drive away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GLAD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lochside Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochside Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lochside Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Lochboisdale HS8 5TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Lochboisdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lochboisdale
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lochside Cottage Bed And Breakfast Lochboisdale, South Uist

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing