We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay in South Uist”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochboisdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lochside Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Lochboisdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Steyr, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Very nice stay in South Uist”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lochside Cottage B&B.
It is only a short drive to Lochboisdale.
Very friendly welcome, large room and bathroom.
The breakfast was very good and plenty.
We can really recommend the Lochside Cottage B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franziska L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    14
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
51
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay with the perfect hard working hosts Morag and Alisdair. I have been using this B&B for both leisure and work purposes over several years and the service from both gets better and better.
With its wonderful location over looking the loch you can sit and watch the wildlife from the bright spacious conservatory.
Breakfast was both plentiful and delicous.
The house has several well sized rooms and also boasts two self catering caravans,an ideal base for those wishing to explore the charming islands.
If its cycling or fishing you like you like then Alisdair can arrange or even join you for the day,his ghillie skills are well sought after.
I have no hesitations in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights with Morag and Alisdair. Our room was warm, very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. Breakfast was a very high standard and Morag is a lovely, welcoming lady who's character makes her a pleasure to stay with. Nothing was too much trouble and coffee and home baked cake when we came in both days was a wonderful little touch.
Thank you Morag for adding to our wonderful holiday experience.

Room Tip: We had the family room and the black out blind was very welcomed, especially when you struggle with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaynor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We recently toured Barra and the Uists. Our 2nd night was spent with Morag and Alisdair at Lochside Cottage. A beautiful house in an even more beautiful setting, with wonderfully attentive hosts, we stumbled upon an absolute gem!
Although you can't see it from the road, the house backs on to a small loch - the extension room is right on the loch side - you couldn't get any closer without getting your feet wet! It's a wonderful outlook - you can sit there and watch the wildlife completely undisturbed.
Our rooms were really nicely done, very homely,beds were comfy - no ensuite, but bathroom next door - it didn't bother us at all as we were made to feel so much at home.
When we arrived in the afternoon, Morag welcomed us with tea and home baking - such a lovely, caring touch. She sat and chatted to us when I'm sure she must have had other things to do - we just felt so welcome. In the evening, Alisdair came to spend time with us. It was lovely.
Breakfast was vast, hot and beautifully cooked. It kept us going until well into the afternoon!
A stay at Lochside Cottage is a must if you're visiting the area. You won't be disappointed! Book now!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackiemac34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely B& B. Morag made us very welcome and we enjoyed fantastic views from her lovely lounge and conservatory. Our room was warm, comfortable and very tastefully furnished .We thoroughly enjoyed the hearty breakfasts and Morag got up at the crack of dawn to make it for us on our last morning as we had to catch a really early morning ferry.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Lovely outlook, with very comfortable bedroom and bed with a great breakfast. Mrs McDonald went above and beyond by sending her husband to pick us up from the ferry when she was notified that the post bus has broken down. Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladycraigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and me stayed 8 nights at Morag and Alasdair. They really made us feel at home. They made great efforts to cosset us and we enjoyed that very much!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lochside Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochside Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lochside Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Lochboisdale HS8 5TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Lochboisdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lochboisdale
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lochside Cottage Bed And Breakfast Lochboisdale, South Uist

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing