We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 'Brume de l'Aube'

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lauris, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Fionna O
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed 6 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I booked one week early Oct 2012 and had a wonderful time despite breaking my wrist whilst walking up steps in Bonnieux.

Brian Bazin is a wonderful host who clearly wants his guests to have a happy time.

His holiday information folder is a joy, written with style, intimate knowledge of the area and his love for it making the quality of writing sparkle...excellent recommendations for the numerous things to do in the area and where to eat and shop.

The house is in a great setting and well named as, when I threw open the shutters in the morning I could watch the sunrise mingling with haunting, mellow mists.

It has the feel of a really comfortable family home with loads of entertainment in the form of DVDs in case you have the misfortune to experience bad weather (which we did not) or an accident (which I did!).

It is designed to make the most of the lovely views over the hills and valleys and the 2 terraces mean that you can seek sun or shade according to your preferences.

The main bedroom and bathroom on the top floor is large simple and comfortable.

The two other bedrooms on the ground floor are smaller, but with double beds and with their own shower or bathrooms.

The kitchen is part of a huge living and dining area ...and a bit quirky. Lived in, but pretty well equipped (but bring your own chopping knives if you like cooking)!

Getting into the dishwasher was challenging and resulted in occasional shouts of 'We're in!'..but when the others asked 'how' the response was 'No idea!'.... But on reporting this to Bryan he immediately said they would replace it at their next visit...so I am guessing this has been done now.

The oven temperature was guesswork but on holiday, who cares?

Internet access was a bit patchy... But could be obtained at 'Le Table de Margot' in Lauris village which provides a great and good value lunch.

There a excellent local restaurants and Lourmarin market on Fridays is fantastic.

I cannot wait to return and for longer. We all loved it and have a strong sense that Bryan will be keen to respond to reasonable requests and the house seems to absorb the warmth and interest that he shows.

Next time I will drive down, so I can make the most of the great local produce, vineyards and also bring my own knives for cooking.

Thank you Bryan for the lovely stay.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the host
Liked least: The dishwasher and patchy Internet access
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shan R
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There' s no nicer day-base to explore the Luberon”
Reviewed 10 March 2012 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have done two three-week stays at Brume de l'Aube: 2006 and 2011. The house is amazingly well appointed with cozy comfortable terraces overlooking the hazy vistas of the Durance river valley. Stroll down the hill to the enchanting village of Lauris with great amenites, a botanical garden, spectacular battlements ... and don't miss the fish market. Be sure to arrange dinner at Restaurant de la Tour in the 12th century old village where Philippe and Martine wiill serve you Bouillabaise and other Provencal flavors with their own unique twists of Malaysian origin. We stayed with two other couples for each trip. Enjoy communal cooking, in-house laundry facilities and comfortable if cozy room arrangemetns. Unlike the usual villa rental, this house is stocked wtih books, movies and music; employ the honor system! Just a lovely 45 minute drive from Marseille, this rental in the heart of the Luberon has kept us occupied wth daily short trips over two vacations to explore the glorious heart of wine and history -soaked Luberon. Experience everything that Peter Mayle celebrated (and zip down the road to his town, bien sur.) The villa landlord is a delight and the sole of hospitality. Do yourself a favor and book Brume de l"Aube ... but be sure to stay a while. (And negotiate your own arrangemetns with the coterie of neighborhood cats.) Imagine the sound of wind in the oak trees hanging over the four terraces, the buzz of cicadas in the mid day sun, the scent of wild thyme and rosemary tumblling ,the rustling of paper bags as you unwrap your croissant and pains chocolates from the patisserie and the pop of wine corks from local wine. Excellent local or supermarket shopping available 7 days a week.. Bon vacances!!!

Date of stay: October 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home away from home. We keep forgetting to go to Paris!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maps15508...
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2019 for a stay in April 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2019
Querido alejandro

Gracias por la amable revisión. ¡Fue un placer reunirme con usted y sus amigos y pensar en la cena siempre trae buenos recuerdos! Espero volver a encontrarnos!

Me he tomado la libertad de incluir una traducción al inglés de su amable revisión a continuación.

Amabilidad de los frutos, Bryan

Dear Alejandro,

Thank you for the very kind review. It was a pleasure to meet with you and your friends and thinking of the dinner always brings back fond memories! Hope to meet again!

I have taken the liberty of including an english translation of your kind review below.

Kind regards, Bryan

'The house is very well equipped and has great views from where you can see the valley and at sunset, the moonrise when it is clear. The site is quiet but close to the urban center where you can do daily shopping. The environment of the garden has trees and that allows to hear the song of the birds and enjoy a relaxing atmosphere in the two terraces that it has. Given the dates we could not try the pool unfortunately. Bryan has been very kind and we share with him a very lively BBQ evening mixing French, English and Spanish. It has also been effective in solving a problem that occurred to us at home, giving us all kinds of facilities so as not to lose any of the activities we had planned. In short, a house, an environment and an excellent host that allow you to enjoy during the day of tourism in Provence and rest in the afternoon, after the excursions, in a relaxed atmosphere.'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venture45...
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2019 for a stay in April 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2019
Querido Pedro,

Gracias por la amable revisión. ¡Fue un placer reunirme con usted y sus amigos y pensar en la cena siempre trae buenos recuerdos! Espero volver a encontrarnos!

Me he tomado la libertad de incluir una traducción al inglés de su amable revisión a continuación.

Saludos cordiales, Bryan

Dear Pedro,

Thank you for the very kind review. It was a pleasure to meet with you and your friends and thinking of the dinner always brings back fond memories! Hope to meet again!

I have taken the liberty of including an english translation of your kind review below.

Kind regards, Bryan


'We are three couples of friends from Getxo that we like to move on vacation, through Europe, in rural houses. This time he played French Provence, more specifically, its southeast part, from Nimes to Aix-en-Provence. It is an area populated with beautiful cities and towns: Aix-en-Provence, Ansouis, Arles, Avignon, Bonnieux, Gordes, L'isle-sur-la-Sorgue, Les Baux-de-Provence, Lourmarin, Menerbes, Nimes, Roussillon , Saignon, Saint-Remy-de-Provence, ... For this, we rented a beautiful house, "Brume de l'Aube", in a little village called Lauris. If the towns and monuments we loved, with the house we hit the bull's-eye. A magnificent mansion of three beautiful rooms with their full bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, a cozy and comfortable living-dining room, and two beautiful terraces with their sofas and tables that allowed us to prepare the barbecue and enjoy the evenings, while planning the excursion the next day, and, in addition, we had the opportunity to enjoy a beautiful moon. And all surrounded by a well-kept garden dotted with flowers and olive trees. We were also able to enjoy, at a dinner party, the company of the owner of the farm, Bryan, an attentive, kind, pleasant and empathetic person. Thank you very much for everything, Bryan. I said, "Better, impossible." '
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.