We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and full of ambience”
Review of Mas Saint Michel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rognes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mas Saint Michel
Ranked #1 of 12 Rognes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Le Mas St Michel is in an idyllic provencial setting and the house, terrasse and pool has been furnished with taste and care. Vincenta and Jaques were very welcoming and friendly, and always took trouble to help us with our sightseeing planning. This is the ideal place from which to explore the provence. Our children loved it too, and we all felt really at home during our week stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Fantastic B&B in lovely surroundings. Close to a number of lovely French villages and oon the trail du vin. The hostess Vicenta does a great job and is very helpful with all aspects of the stay. The room is equipped with all you need including washing machine, dishwasher, tv etc and they have wifi set up too. Nice pool area and great breakfast. It doesn't get any better than this in the South of France :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fragmented5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The perfect accommodations in the perfect setting. Located near Aix and many of the beautiful villages of Provence, Le Mas Saint Michel is a small gem. The hostess, Vicenta Denizet, provides warmth and charm (and a delicious breakfast!) and a wonderfully detailed knowledge of what to see and do in the area. The rooms are sparkling (plenty of hot water -- not always found in French apartments!) and very comfortable. There is Internet and TV -- but who wants to linger when three's so much to do. The grounds are lovely, including a petanque court and a pool (not heated, so best to wait to swim till the summer sets in). Altogether a wonderful experience. We'd go back in an instant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My husband & I just arrived home from a 3 week trip to Southern Germany & France, and can say with complete sincerity that our time at Le Mas Saint Michel was the highlight of our entire vacation.

We stayed in the 'La Pointe Rouge' room, which was comfortable, quiet and lovely...decorated in a authentic & warm French Provincial style; complete with a large bathroom featuring both a shower and large soaking tub (best enjoyed with a glass of local wine!).

Our hosts, Vincenta & Jacques were very welcoming, helpful, and so much fun! Our hosts truly understand the meaning of hospitality, are passionate about what they do, and practice the fine art of appearing when needed, and provide solitude when guests need it.

Vincenta arrived cheerfully every morning with a decadent breakfast of fresh pastries, fruit, yogurts, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee & her homemade fruit preserves. She chatted with us at length each morning to help us plan our day, offering wonderful suggestions & gently guiding us towards some fabulous local sights & restaurants that we surely would have missed on our own.

Jacques & Vincenta invited us one evening to learn to play "Petanque", which was an unexpected and delightful facet to our stay. We so enjoyed their company and introduction to the understated competitiveness of the game.

We hope to return soon for another stay, and will definitely sing the praises of Le Mas Saint Michel to friends & family alike!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingShoes-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We just spent six gorgeous and luxurious days in this charming bed and breakfast home in Rognes. The friendliness and all around hospitality of the owners, Jacques and Vicenta, was
Wonderful from start to finish. The breakfast croissants and french breads were exquisite and the fresh squeezed orange juice an unexpected delight. We had our own little patio and the room was immaculate and charming. Having a spotless equipped kitchen, washing machine and internet access were all so comfortable. The grounds were ample and lovely for walks in the morning and at sunset. We had a fun game of petanque with Vicenta and Jacques and finally understand the appeal of this game.
It was our first time in Provence and we were overwhelmed with all the possible choices to drive and explore, but Vicenta made it easy, with a reasoned description of the various virtues of the different sites and villages,as well as where to park! Aix en Provence is only 20 minutes away, a beautful and bustling town where there is a lot to do. The second day we were perhaps a little too ambitious, visiting Roussillon, Villages de Bourries, Gordes, Menerbes, and Bonnieux. Gordes was a little "touristy" for us , but has a special setting, and the other villages were gorgeous (or like Bourries,
interesting )to explore. Lourmarin became a favorite, only an easy 20 minute drive.
The drives themselves were gorgeous part of the whole experience with the cherry trees and lavender "redbud" trees in full bloom. While the roads are narrow (and made this American driver a little nervous at first) there is not very much traffic and one soon becomes accustomed to it as part of the charm. It was good to be in a small car.
We will come back to this spot, possibly sampling a different season next time, but the soft colors of spring really brought out the beauty of these villages. All in all a perfect sejour!

Room Tip: All are beautiful, one is bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philofranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Vicenta is really nice and the place is so cosy! We spent 3 nights in 'la joliette' room and everything was very good. You can choose your time to have breakfast and The morning you'll find everything on the table! The sourrondings are really nice and in Rognes you can eat in Ma Cusine (suggested by Vicenta) and buy wonderful biscuits in a cute patisserie/boulangerie

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaosozara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My boyfriend and I spent four beautiful days at Le Mas Saint Michel, on Easter 2013. The building and the location are lovely and our suite, "La Joliette", was beyond our expectations. Every facility was brand new and the bedroom, the kitchen, the bathroom and the small private dining room downstairs (the suite is on two levels) were really clean and well furnished.
Breakfast was the best we had ever taste !
Vincenza and her husband are extremely gentle and they gave us some very useful advice with regards on restaurants and places to visit.

Rognes is a nice small village sorrounded by the amazing Provence countryside, it's not far from the Luberon region, Aix en Provence, Avignone and the Alpilles-region.

We recommend you to spend your holidays there !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GG87_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rognes
11.2 mi away
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
#1 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Mas des Chenes
Le Mas des Chenes
#3 of 12 in Rognes
69 reviews
23.4 mi away
Le Moulin du Rossignol
Le Moulin du Rossignol
#2 of 12 in Rognes
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
L'Oustalet des Marres
L'Oustalet des Marres
#1 of 1 in Simiane-Collongue
145 reviews
14.1 mi away
Le Parfum Des Collines
Le Parfum Des Collines
#1 of 1 in Auribeau
220 reviews
12.5 mi away
Les Terrasses du Luberon
Les Terrasses du Luberon
#1 of 15 in Bonnieux
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Saint Michel

Address: 1142 Chemin des Mauvares, 13840 Rognes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Rognes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rognes
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at Mas Saint Michel, located at the heart of Provence, near the wonderful city of Aix-en-Provence. Beautifully restaured bedrooms with independant entrance and private terrace. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing