We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the trip”
Review of Mas Saint Michel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rognes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mas Saint Michel
Ranked #1 of 12 Rognes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

It was our first time in Provence and staying at Le Mas Saint Michel was the perfect introduction. Vicenta and Jacques are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble and they really care about their guests experience. We stayed on a B&B basis in 'La Joliette'. The room is spotlessly clean and the bed is comfortable with good quality linens. Thoughtful touches such as a bowl of marzipan sweets and tea making facilities went down very well. The property is rurally located so very quiet and peaceful. Vicenta's breakfasts are superb - fresh croissants and bread like you will never taste in the UK. We also had use of a kitchen and dining area, which was again spotless and well equipped for basic cooking should you want to. There are two patios outside adjacent to each other, one is used by Le Pointe Rouge and the other by La Joliette. There is plenty of reading material in the property together with a very useful detailed map of the area. Vicenta also provides additional information, where best to visit, recommendations on parking and which restaurants are worth trying - all very useful if on a short stay as we were.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

Vicenta and Jacques are the perfect hosts at this lovely chambres d'hôtes. Set in beautiful grounds this is a delightful setting for a terrific holiday in S. France. Both Vicenta and Jacques speak excellent English and are happy to make suggestions for the best things to see, do and eat in the local area. Our room was immaculately clean and comfortable and all the linen smelled gorgeous too. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, breads and croissants collected every morning from the local boulangerie and served on our own private patio. Vicenta's delicious home made preserves are as sweet as she is and my only hesitation in recommending this is that we might not be able to get in next time we want to visit. You will not find a warmer welcome anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful B&B for two nights in June. Unfortunately we had only scheduled for two nights - had we known how beautiful it is, we would have booked more nights.
The Mas St Michel is a beautiful B&B in the typical Provence - Style. The owners live in the same house and rent out two rooms and one appartemet. Each room has its own style and charm: we stayed in the Pointe Rouge - a spacious and charming room on the ground floor.

The location is gorgeous: Set in the middle of beautiful gardens and fields you can literally feel "peace and quiet" Still only a few minutes drive to some beautiful provencal villages.
There is a large pool with comfy sun loungers , and the rooms have their own terrace. Breakfast is served on your private terrace - simply tell the host when you want to have breakfast and it will be ready for you on your terrace the next morning on time.
That brings us to the most impressive part: The owners (Vicenza and Jaques) enjoy having guests so much that you really feel like a personal guest. Vicenza provides you with detailed and very useful information about everything (restaurants, shops, sights, etc), she speaks very good english and gives great advice depending on your priorities. We decided we want to go to the sea - Vicenza recommended a trip to Cassis and the calanques and this turned out to be a great idea!
We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will come again next year - but we will stay for longer then!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerhardFritsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My husband and I just celebrated our 20th wedding aniversary with10 day trip to Provence. Of all the places we stayed, Mas St. Michel was by far our favorite. We stayed 4 nights in La Pointe Rouge room witch was decorated with beautiful antique furniture and charming Provençal fabric. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom large and well equipped. We had traditional breakfast (different types of bread, french pastries, fresh juice, fruit, yogurt and coffee) on a terrace overlooking beautiful surrounding ( vineyards, olive grove, lavender and perfectly manicured lawn). The hosts Vicenta and Jaques were very friendly and helpful in planning our daily itinerary. They gave valuable advice on places to eat, buy cheep gas, parking etc. This is an ideal, central location from which to explore Provence (close to Aix, villages, coast - Cassis, Luberon mountains). I wish we stayed here longer. It was unforgettable, romantic, quiet and most magical place to visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonkamus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have just spent 5 glorious nights staying at Mas St Michel. Our room was very comfortable and our bathroom huge and well equipped. Vicenta and Jacques are wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble, and they provided invaluable local information on everything from where to eat, visit and - almost as important as anything - where to park, which we probably wouldn't have worked out ourselves. Sitting on our terrace eating a delicious breakfast in the glorious sunshine set you up for the day. On return in the afternoon we were able to enjoy the beautiful pool, sitting on very comfortable loungers. We have every intention of returning, to soak up more of the wonderful relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Le Mas St Michel is in an idyllic provencial setting and the house, terrasse and pool has been furnished with taste and care. Vincenta and Jaques were very welcoming and friendly, and always took trouble to help us with our sightseeing planning. This is the ideal place from which to explore the provence. Our children loved it too, and we all felt really at home during our week stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Fantastic B&B in lovely surroundings. Close to a number of lovely French villages and oon the trail du vin. The hostess Vicenta does a great job and is very helpful with all aspects of the stay. The room is equipped with all you need including washing machine, dishwasher, tv etc and they have wifi set up too. Nice pool area and great breakfast. It doesn't get any better than this in the South of France :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fragmented5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rognes
11.2 mi away
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
#1 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
434 reviews
7.7 mi away
Le Petit Mas de Marie
Le Petit Mas de Marie
#1 of 1 in La Tour d'Aigues
119 reviews
8.3 mi away
Moulin de Vernegues Chateaux Hotels Collections
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Moulin de Lourmarin
Moulin de Lourmarin
#1 of 3 in Lourmarin
284 reviews
23.4 mi away
Le Moulin du Rossignol
Le Moulin du Rossignol
#2 of 12 in Rognes
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Mas des Chenes
Le Mas des Chenes
#3 of 12 in Rognes
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Saint Michel

Address: 1142 Chemin des Mauvares, 13840 Rognes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Rognes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rognes
Price Range: £80 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at Mas Saint Michel, located at the heart of Provence, near the wonderful city of Aix-en-Provence. Beautifully restaured bedrooms with independant entrance and private terrace. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing