We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel Clarens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel Clarens
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The staff were absolutely lovely and made for a great long weekend! The waiters in the morning seem over whelmed and occasionally lack the manners we expected.
It's a great hotel and looks amazing! Not sure I am 100% sold on the shower location in the room.

Room Tip: Try get a room with a view and balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Good day WarFly

Thank you so much on your positive commment on your stay at Protea Hotel Clarens.

We at Protea Hotel Clarens always strive to meet our GUESTS expectations and it brings great pleasure to know that my STAFF did not only meet your expectations but exceeded them.

We looking forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Clarens.

Kindest Regards

Lee-Ann Benney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    123
    51
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
134
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We are a retired French couple from Canada (Montreal) and traveled South Africa during 2 months renting 31 different lodgings. This one was # 26. Big room and bed, sink and shower directly in the room, Cable TV with internationals channels, AC, free parking and WiFi, close to the city and restaurants, small small pool, nice welcome.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Milorr

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor of your recent visit to the Protea Hotel Clarens.

I am most thrilled that you were able to take full advantage of the close proximity of the hotel to all the attractions that Clarens has to offer.

Thank you for commenting on the welcome you received as well as the spacious room and large bed. It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay in hotel #26.

I hope that the 2 months spent in South Africa are both enjoyable and memorable.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the “Jewel of the Eastern Free State” when you visit South Africa again.

Kindest Regards

Lee-Ann Benney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very friendly welcome in this Protea hotel with beautiful views on the surrounding mountains. wifi in the room was of poor quality (extremely slow) but there was a public computer with a good connection in the hallway. We had considered dinner in the hotel, but after we had a beer in the hotel bar, we decided to eat outside; the service staff (working the bar+restaurant) was uninterested and not friendly at all ... the bar itself probably reflected their state of mind as the decoration was not inviting at all.
The rooms were very good and breakfast-buffet was OK.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guy P

Thank you for your recent visit to the Protea Hotel Clarens and for posting your review.
Your comments are an invaluable tool for us to measure what we succeed at, but more importantly what we can improve on.

My sincerest apologies that the STAFF in the Restaurant and Bar did not portray the friendly service that we are usually proud to offer. I will bring this to their attention and remedial action will be implemented to avoid further dissatisfaction.

I have already contacted our Wi-Fi company to ensure that the signal strength in the rooms is improved. My apologies that this affected your stay with us and that you were unable to work comfortably in your room.

Thank you for the complimentary comments regarding the friendly welcome you received and the great views you experienced.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest Regards

Lee-Ann Benney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

First of all the pluses. The hotel is a lovely open plan building with modern bedrooms with great views over towards the adjacent mountains. The staff are helpful in the main and the location very near the centre of the lovely small artist haven town of Clarens is enviable.
However there were some minuses. For some reason the shower in the bedroom is exactly that and also the hand basin. This could give some privacy issues for certain people. Only the toilet is enclosed. The breakfast was decidedly average with plenty choices but some a bit strange (beef stew?). We chose freshly cooked omelettes which were okay.
I also complained about the pigeons which roost on the frameworks of the balconies. They are noisy and dirty with bird poo on the tables, chairs, balcony floor and windows. The Management response was that they had made efforts to tackle the problem but had failed. I saw no evidence of their efforts and other people do succeed in controlling the problem. Not good enough I'm afraid.
It didn't spoil our stay but it was disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Rex B

Thank you for visiting the Protea Hotel Clarens and for posting your experience on TripAdvisor. Your comments are an invaluable tool for us to assess what we succeed in, but more importantly what we can improve on.

Thank you for your positive comments about my TEAM and the views on offer.

Please accept my sincerely apologies for the dissatisfaction you experienced with the pigeons as well as the open plan set up of the room.
The architects tried to achieve a more “open” feel in the rooms with more natural lighting by planning a more modern hotel with maximum use of space. This is personified throughout the hotel public areas with large windows and open plan restaurant, bar and reception area.
With regards to the pigeons, we will continue to explore the best possible way to relocate them without scaring off other bird species to the area.

Thank you once again for your valued comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back,

Kindest Regards
Lee-Ann Benney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chartwell, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

What an awesome weekend break we had from the busy hustle bustle of Johannesburg. We stayed for 1 night in the Mountain View room. The saturday evening we had dinner in the hotel which was superb, the waiter was friendly and there was no rush which allowed for brilliant conversation and lots of wine, the hotel room was awesome with a lovely king size bed and brilliant view of the mountain. The moon rising over the mountain and the sunrise in the morning topped off a perfect stay at a beautiful hotel.

The mountain view room is MUST and the Clarens Brewery was superb. Clarens itself took us about a morning to adventure through and then the brewery took over.

Room Tip: Mountain View room top floor preferably on the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Jonathan S

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us.

We at the Protea Hotel Clarens are constantly striving to achieve the best GUEST service, and it is wonderful to hear that my TEAM exceeded your expectations.

The view from the deluxe room is breathtaking, and I am very glad you were able to experience the sun rise and the splendor from the comfort of your balcony.

Thank you for your positive comments, I will ensure that your comments are passed on to my TEAM as this will keep them motivated and newly inspired.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest Regards
Lee-Ann Benney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I would like to make use of this opportunity to thank the manager and staff of Protea Hotel Clarens for resolving our recent challenges amicably! Your kindness is appreciated! Kind Regards; Johan Scheepers.

Room Tip: Top floor with a balcony affords one excellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mufasa1_zn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Mufasa1_zn

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to showcase The Protea Hotel Clarens the way you should have experienced it with your first visit.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor and for your comments of gratitude to myself and my TEAM.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,

Kindest Regards
Lee-Ann Benney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed for one night last week and found the hotel to be very pleasant. I did not eat there (lots of good restaurants in Clarens, I ate at the Highlander Inn which had a good atmosphere, food and craft beer), but the room was perfect and the bed very comfortable. I asked for a superior room which faces South and as such had wonderful views over the mountains.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KalShearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear KalShearer

Thank you for visiting the Protea Hotel Clarens, and more importantly for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

The views offered from our Superior and Deluxe rooms are all mountain facing, and it is wonderful to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the serenity and splendor that is Mount Horeb.

A good nights’ rest is key critical for us and to learn that you found the bed to be comfortable is indeed proof that we have your best interests at heart.

Thank you once again for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest Regards
Lee-Ann Benney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.7 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
11.4 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 26 in Clarens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 26 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#6 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clarens Country House
0.4 mi away
Clarens Eddies
Clarens Eddies
#1 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Clarens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Clarens

Property: Protea Hotel Clarens
Address: corner of Main & Van der Merwe Streets, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Clarens 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Clarens - Home is where the Art is. The Protea Hotel Clarens is located in the best kept secret in art and culture circles of the Free State. The picturesque village of Clarens is framed by the majestic Maluti Mountains, sandstone cliffs and is in close proximity to the Golden Gate National Park and the mountain kingdom of Lesotho. This artists’ haven is a tapestry steeped in history and rich in legend. Experience a living masterpiece that exudes sheer style, luxury and design. Protea Hotel Clarens blends in with the natural splendour that has inspired artists, eco lovers and tourists who simply enjoy the art of living to explore this tranquil, magical landscape and relax, in style. Take in the breathtaking scenery with sundowners on Protea Hotel Clarens’ terrace, enjoy fine dining or laze away the hours in luxury and comfort. This sanctuary embodies state-of-the-art excellence and service. From adrenalin rushes to cultural expeditions, Clarens offers it all. With an abundance of activities nearby, from San paintings and dinosaur trails to white river rafting and rock climbing; Protea Hotel Clarens’ warm hospitality completes the picture. So whether you plan a romantic getaway, team-building exercise, business conference or African adventure, Protea Hotel Clarens has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Protea Hotel Clarens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing