We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just arrived back in Jhb after a delightful stay at the Riverwalk Bed & Breakfast establishment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverwalk Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 38 Clarens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just arrived back in Jhb after a delightful stay at the Riverwalk Bed & Breakfast establishment.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have just arrived back in Jhb after a delightful weekend stay at the Riverwalk Bed and Breakfast establishment. Wonderful view with all windows facing the mountains and now that winter is upon us we snuggled in with underfloor heating, electric blankets and DSTV!!! The breakfasts are stunning with a starter tables absolutely full of gorgeous fruit plates, homemade bread and rolls, cereals, yoghurts etc. and then came the best breakfast of all which they call "The Free State Omelette - Best Ever" - well, we sat down to the most delicious omellette we have ever tasted. A big "thank you" to the Manageress, Marlene, who was very friendly, attentive and efficient and gives people a lovely start to their day with that beautiful smile of hers. Clarens is a beautiful little town with lots of quaint little shops and great eating places.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great and all had a fabulous view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    32
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
56
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Fantastic views, very clean and attention to detail plus fantastic breakfast and friendly service. Being from Gauteng, the security bothered me a bit as there is no fence or burglar bars and was o.k. as it was cold, but would be difficult in warmer weather as I would not feel safe to leave anything open and there is no aircon or fans - also not disable friendly - still a fantastic place to stay and had a fantastic time.

Room Tip: All riooms much the same to my knowledge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DALEEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed in Clarens for 1 night & we were very lucky to have found accommodation at Riverwalk B&B. The setting is beautiful, magnificent hills right in front of the rooms, nice garden with willow trees & a very well set up house; the rooms are downstairs each with their independent entrance, excellent sound proof, en-suite bathrooms, lovely furniture & deco, tea & coffee facilities with delicious rusks, sherry & chocolate mint chocolates to make the welcome even warmer! Bedding & bathroom toiletries of good taste. It is really a very special place, you can feel & see the devotion of the owners in offering a good stay with great attention & service. The breakfast was so special! The fruit was so beautifully presented and so nicely cut, it is not the usual chunks that you get served everywhere! Muffins, cheese, real fruit preserves & the best fluffy omelette with all the nice goodies I have ever eaten in my life! And to make matters even more interesting, they start painting tomorrow & refurbishing the rooms! Wow!! Congratulations to them, thank you so much for a lovely stay & can't wait to be back there in the neat future!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tica1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Travelled to Clarens for the annual Clarens Craft Beer Festival, during February 2014. Checked into a beautiful room with a view on the Clarens mountains. Friendly and helpful owner, Johan received us and showed us the room. Breakfast is well prepared and served in a room with a beautiful view.
A shortcut from the guesthouse takes you to the town centre in 5 minutes

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karelmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We loved our stay here. Warm hospitality, stunning views, wonderful breakfasts ( really wanted to try those freshly baked muffins but there was just no space after everything else) - Highly recommended - Location is perfect to town - easy walk - far enough away though to be quiet at night.. will just be sure to book here for longer next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We were met by owner Johan, who could not have been more helpful. A delightful B&B with wonderful views from the garden and rooms. The rooms and bathroom were immaculate and faultless. Breakfast, in the morning was absolutely superb and it was so nice to meet Johan's little friend - what a character, we almost took him home with us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Glorious linen, exceptional food, outstanding service. I cannot praise this amazing bed and breakfast highly enough. We stayed for a couple of days as a birthday gift to my mother. The rooms were immaculate, the bathrooms stocked with all kinds of added luxury. And the FOOD... The breakfasts are personally catered by Hannetjie the owner of the establishment and they were among the best I have ever eaten.

Room Tip: Upstairs, mountain facing for the very best view of the amazing berg
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ash River Lodge B&B
Ash River Lodge B&B
#9 of 38 in Clarens
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
By the Way Guesthouse
By the Way Guesthouse
#11 of 38 in Clarens
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
#1 of 38 in Clarens
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#5 of 38 in Clarens
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
278 On Main
278 On Main
#21 of 38 in Clarens
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwalk Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Bed & Breakfast

Property: Riverwalk Bed & Breakfast
Address: 387 Church Street | Free State, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverwalk Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riverwalk Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing