We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond a Fairytale”
Review of Castle in Clarens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clarens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle in Clarens
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Nothing can prepare one for what you see once you arrive at the Castle. Absolutely breathtaking, Awesome, so much detail! The view is awesome and the absolute quietness is really something.
Having your meals delivered to the Castle is a must.
To visit the Castle should be one everyone's bucket list.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank ronel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Castle in Clarens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

"If you had plenty money and no idea what to do with it - what would you do?" "I would build a fantastic Rapunzel's Castle in the middle of South Africa".
So or similar is how I imagine the Castle in Clarens to be invented. Let me be clear: This is Kitsch, but it is Kitsch in perfection, so thoroughly implemented that it turns out to be art.
Just looking at pictures, it could be a Disney style castle - all facade: Looking beautiful but feeling cheap. This place certainly however is anything but cheap - it is a massive, consequent, impressive implementation of a deeply romantic idea.
The castle is nice from the outside and the rooms are so beautiful, that it is just shocking. Combine this with a fantastic view - and you got the Castle in Clarens.

So - why only four stars?
This should not scare anybody aware, but it is why I only want to give it four stars:
We did have a bad night of sleep. The bed (in the upper room, "Rapunzel's room") was really comfortable BUT we had a special guest: A bat. Now having a bat in your room might be kind of exciting (especially sleeping in a castle), but your sleep quality goes down quick and fast if the bat flies around - including onto your face. When this happened to my girlfriend, the night was almost over and we moved to the other bedroom - the bat was not following us, and we could get some further sleep.
Still, I would recommend this place to anybody without thinking twice.

We only had breakfast with the room, which was really good. Receiving the breakfast also represented our only encounter with our hosts (which felt a bit awkward for reasons I cannot describe).

P.S.: If you want to use the BBQ facilites, bring your own brickets. We got a fire going with the ones left / provided, but they were wet and it took half an eternity (not a complaint, rather a hint).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mh_3041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay, very pleasent and relaxing, lovely views. The Castle has the most wonderful decor, a lot of thought has gone into the decoration of the rooms. Would recommend the Castle to family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Glyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

we loved it!a stunning view and relaxing atmosphere.the rooms were awsum and romantic.
Dinner wasnt my favoutite but the breakfast was very tasty and nice.very close to Clarens for a visit or shopping around




  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank nimonet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We went the The Castle to celebrate a special birthday and we could not have chosen better. The final 5km stretch of dust road is challenging and not to be underestimated, but the reward is to enter into the wonderland of Rapunzel's Tower. Here, one encounters the magic of the imagination which is brought to life in the minutest detail with an abundance of opulence, comfort and humour. There is the added enjoyment of delicious meals brought piping hot to the portentous front door, if required. The Castle is situated with an elevated view of the beautiful countryside and is isolated enough to guarantee a quiet and secluded getaway. One needs to be prepared for three levels of stairs and in rainy weather it could be rather bleak. Undeterred, we had a truly memorable stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We spend our last night of our South Africa adventure in the Castle in Clarens. We only wished we could have stayed for more than one night. The attention to detail is unreal and the setting is beautiful. We ordered breakfast which arrived in a treasure chest and was delicious! Would definately recommend staying for the weekend and we hope to return!

Room Tip: The top floor with the four poster bed is amazing so if there are two couples - try to get that one!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

There are no appropriate words to describe the castle. Not even photos can do justice to this wonder world. So much attention was given to the design and decoration to create the feeling of a real castle. Having the whole castle to ourselves at a very reasonable rate was a further bonus. It is very well equipped for those who want to prepare their own meals. A very nice braai place in the Chamber of angles. Beautiful views.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elise01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarens
4.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#3 of 4 in Clarens
288 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#2 of 4 in Clarens
141 reviews
24.7 mi away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
77 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#2 of 33 in Clarens
218 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
#1 of 39 in Clarens
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in Clarens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in Clarens

Address: Clarens, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle in Clarens 5*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing