We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent treatment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mont d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mont d'Or Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Certificate of Excellence
Fochville, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent treatment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I booked a trip for my son as a birthday gift which included a stay for 2 nights at this establishment. I found Tommy and Michelle most accommodating with special requests and sudden changes to travel plans, which could have turned out horrendous was it not for their friendly assistance and understanding. Also always quick to reply and nothing is too much asked!

They are now thoroughly enjoying their time in Clarence, which was kicked off with an amazing spa treatment, chocolates and bubbly.

Thanks guys you are great and I will recommend a stay to anyone! Regards Ronell van Wyk

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronell v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    37
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
31
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My two friends and I booked treatments at the Mont ‘d Or Spa and Hotel in Clarens. This was by far the most horrible experience I have ever had at a Spa. First the therapists were so unfriendly when they greeted us to take us through to the treatment rooms. We booked a facial and hot stone massage each. While having the massages there were NO silence in the room. The therapists were talking to each other the whole time in their own language. For me this is rude and not exceptable. I worked as a Beauty Therapist on cruise lines and this was an absolute NO in our spa. The therapists were looking for things the whole time with a lot of noise. At one stage the one therapist was on the phone with someone and our therapists left the room in the middle of our massages leaving us uncovered and in the middle of the leg and arm massage. Not our feet or necks were massaged. With the facials they could not get to the mask quick enough so that they could leave the room. Needless to say that no facial massage were done. We spoke to the manager after the treatments and he did give us a discount on our treatments. I just feel sorry for the people that will visit this spa after us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacolien001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0ntd0r, General Manager at Mont d'Or Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Jacolien

Thank you for your review. Please be assured that this is definitely NOT our standard. Please accept my sincere apologies for your bad experience with our spa and be assured that your complaint was treated the minute you left the spa. This is totally UNACCEPTABLE and will not be tolerated. The necessary disciplinary action was taken. You also have a beauty salon and therefore I really validate your professional opinion.

I would like to use this opportunity to tell all other spa clients to bring any problem or discomfort in the spa under my attention immediately after their treatment to be able to better our services.

Once again my sincere apologies. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Lovely hotel with beautiful views. Breakfast is good, dinner at the restaurant was very good. Managers/owners were very accommodating with special requests. The linen is of very good quality and the bed was really comfy.

Room Tip: I would however recommend that you stay on the 1 st and 2 nd floors as the ground floor rooms did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellex_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel as we had chosen a skiing package that they offered and as a whole I really think it was good value.

The hotel is beautifully snuggled into the mountain/hillside as you enter Clarens from Bethlehems side. There was no road sign indicators so we actually drove right past it and had to turn back. There is signage on the actual hotel, but it was not really visible!

We had a front room with a stunning view, but the room, although cosy it had a lot of shortcomings, including no access from the room to the reception area of the hotel. One had to walk in the freezing weather and it was not ideal.

On the other hand the food at the restaurant was amazing, both suppers and breakfasts were really superb and well presented and they went out of their way to see to my dietery needs!

In the evenings the log fire that is situated between the dining hall and bar was lit, but I must admit although it made it comfortable and cosy I did not particularly enjoy the smell of the type of wood that was being used.

All the staff were absolutely fabulous, I found the service to be really good. After all the skiing we were treated to a swiss massage, and as a regular "massagee" I was really happy that the therapist was experienced and my massage was one of the better one's I had, had in a long time.

Jaco and Tommy were also amazing, accomadating and so friendly. They were positively interactive and wanting to give the best service, which they did!.

The hotel does need some attention and once it is sorted, and with the current management and staff it will be a destination to go too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleopatra030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongaat
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

we took a four night ski package with the hotel. the hotel staff were friendly and efficient especially the managers who constantly checked on you to ensure you were comfortable.it is a dinner bed and breakfast deal but they only offer a two course dinner. the food however is nice and beside a few gliches when we got there, we had a wonderful stay. the ski resort is good but they do have issues with water and elctricity.the rooms at the hotel are three sleepers so kids share the room with you.all in all a good stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are mountain facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank POPSSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Very poor to average hotel.. Views on mountain? Well yes i guess so if you look over the opposite hotel's restaurant i guess ... problem with that is that the guests there have a great view on your room :)
Room was average, with nice bathroom. Fireplace does nothing more than smoke you out of the room.
Not much to say about the restaurant other than bad .. at least there are a lot of great restaurants in Clarens.
Hotel needs some TLC

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raka25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darling
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We are a family with 3 young children. One of which has very complicated dietary needs. We chose the option of Mont d' Or and their Afri- Ski package of 4 nights and shuttle service included. We were amazed with the incredible value for money! The staff, with special mention of Jaco, bent backwards at any need we possibly could have before we even requested it! The package is fantastic! Two meals a day included-even those you have at Afri ski or on the road!. Sit back and enjoy the beautiful area and skiing while being transported by VERY qualified shuttle service- Dean of Maluti tours. He is more of a guide than driver! Coming home late after full day of skiing a warm meal awaits and even a Spa treatment ! All arranged! The rooms are stunning with electric blankets and comfy fresh bedding. They even have large family rooms available all overlooking the most beautiful countryside. Mont d'Or you are 5 star!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
11.5 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 26 in Clarens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 26 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Clarens Country House
1.1 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#6 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Mountain House
Red Mountain House
#9 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont d'Or Hotel

Property: Mont d'Or Hotel
Address: 502 Sias Oosthuizen Lane, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mont d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three hours from Johannesburg and Bloemfontein and four hours from Durban, Mont d 'Or Hotel and Conference Centre invites you to exhale deeply, surrounded by the natural beauty of the Maluti Mountains, the luxurious décor, the outstanding service, and the first-class dining of our fine establishment. To further indulge during your stay, the Mont d’Or Day Spa located on the hotel premises offers the ultimate repose. The magnificence of Mont d 'Or welcomes you.Accommodation is offered in classically furnished en-suite rooms with views of the Clarens golf course, the village of Clarens, the majestic Maluti Mountains, and the picturesque countryside. Accommodation comprises Executive Rooms, Classic Rooms, Family Rooms and a Paraplegic Room, all equipped with plasma televisions with satellite channels, air-conditioning or an open fireplace. All rooms are also fully serviced and a laundry and dry-cleaning facility is available. Your requirements are certain to be met with elegance and old-world French charm.La Cerise, our 80 patron capacity restaurant, caters for every palate, predilection and absolutely any occasion. The fine décor is complemented by the friendly and efficient service, and the simple magic of the exquisite ambience will only add to the pleasure of your dining experience. The enjoyment of sumptuous cuisine, prepared with passion, skill and an abundance of freshly harvested local ingredients, keeps food enthusiasts on our list of regular clientele. From preparation to presentation, you are sure to receive only the finest.Services and timesCheck-In 02:00 PM Check-Out 10:00 AMWellness & Spa: We have an on-site spa that offers a range of treatments.Wedding Venues: Our wedding venue can host up to 60 guests.Conference Venues: The hotel offers a conference venue for up to 100 delegates cinema styleFacilities and ServicesWheelchair EnabledFireplaceSatellite TV*Credit Card FacilitiesRestaurantOn-site ParkingLanguages SpokenEnglishAfrikaansGrading4 Stars - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mont d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing