We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in a great setting”
Review of Mont d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mont d'Or Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in a great setting”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms had just be refurbished and are very well appointed. We could not fault them in any respect.
The bar has a great atmosphere and we enjoyed drinks there b of ore meals each evening.
Breakfast is the standard South African full house buffet but unfortunately the evening sitting needs attention.
The menu is acceptable but it took an inordinate amount of time to be served and the noise emanating from the kitchen on both evenings was distracting. I got the feeling that the waiters also needed more training.
Other than this it was a pleasant stay and we would return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LJCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    54
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
31
51
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days with my wife, the staff are friendly, helpful and the service is really good. We also did a couples massage at the spa and that was absolutely magnificent. Will definitely come back for a stay. Great value for money.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Comfortable rooms and clean. Bar and "restaurant" are a little dark, but there are plenty of places in Clarens to eat. But note you are a 20-30 min walk from town. Reception staff were quite friendly and helpful. When we tried to organise a taxi (we didn't want to drive as we knew there would be a lot of drinking after dinner in town) the manager grumpily told one of us that no such thing exists in Clarens. However I later asked the reception staff and she quickly organised something for us. Next time I'd elect to stay closer to town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We went to Mont d'Or for a business conference, and let me just say it felt like we were all on holiday as the Staff were so friendly and helpful.
The food was amazing, try their chicken livers, will blow your mind.
Clean bedrooms and bathrooms. It is wonderful to go out in the day and walk around the little town and come back to a clean cool room. Mont d'Or is a wonderful hotel and Tommy the manager is Wonderful and friendly!
It is a must to go to Clarens and stay at Mont d'Or.

Room Tip: Room 7 has an amazing view over the montains, town and the golf course. Beautiful spot to watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farrah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms spacious and well appointed and the food was delicious. Great facilities and view! I left my jewelry box in my room by accident and was pleasantly surprised to hear that the cleaning staff had handed it in. The manager, Tommy, then also made a plan to have the jewelry delivered to me in Bloemfontein.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We recently went to this hotel for part 2 of our honeymoon to do some mountain biking and catch downtime before back to work. The staff and manager went out of their way and made us feel like it was a honeymoon stay! Renovations were noisy during the day but finished promptly at 4pm and we were out for most of the day at least. Views are amazing and would recommend the mountain biking after consulting the manager (or even the local brewery owners!) for advice on trails! We drove to the Katse dam in Lesotho (in a car not crazy to cycle) and were packed a generous breakfast/lunch pack by the hotel for our day trip. The rooms were clean and comfortable and restaurant food portions generous and tasty in comparison to some local restaurants. After renovations are completed and with some minor improvements, the hotel will be outstanding!

Room Tip: Request mountain view and executive suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The manager of this place is very dramatic and racists. Not four star quality at all. My fiance and I were kicked out at this hotel in the middle of the night due us not agreeing to take our drinks to our room as we had ordered 3 rounds of drinks and had guests who had come join us.
He kicked out of "his" hotel because we refused to leave our drinks. I would have been nice to have been told that the bar would be closing and be informed that we would have to mive our guests to our room with 3 rounds of drinks each.
The manger told us to get out of his hotel because we do not want to listen to him when all we asked for was to finish our drinks and see our guests off.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Noxi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarens
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
282 reviews
15.5 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
71 reviews
11.5 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#5 of 34 in Clarens
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 34 in Clarens
209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
#1 of 38 in Clarens
133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarens Eddies
Clarens Eddies
#2 of 38 in Clarens
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont d'Or Hotel

Property: Mont d'Or Hotel
Address: 502 Sias Oosthuizen Lane, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mont d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three hours from Johannesburg and Bloemfontein and four hours from Durban, Mont d 'Or Hotel and Conference Centre invites you to exhale deeply, surrounded by the natural beauty of the Maluti Mountains, the luxurious décor, the outstanding service, and the first-class dining of our fine establishment. To further indulge during your stay, the Mont d’Or Day Spa located on the hotel premises offers the ultimate repose. The magnificence of Mont d 'Or welcomes you.Accommodation is offered in classically furnished en-suite rooms with views of the Clarens golf course, the village of Clarens, the majestic Maluti Mountains, and the picturesque countryside. Accommodation comprises Executive Rooms, Classic Rooms, Family Rooms and a Paraplegic Room, all equipped with plasma televisions with satellite channels, air-conditioning or an open fireplace. All rooms are also fully serviced and a laundry and dry-cleaning facility is available. Your requirements are certain to be met with elegance and old-world French charm.La Cerise, our 80 patron capacity restaurant, caters for every palate, predilection and absolutely any occasion. The fine décor is complemented by the friendly and efficient service, and the simple magic of the exquisite ambience will only add to the pleasure of your dining experience. The enjoyment of sumptuous cuisine, prepared with passion, skill and an abundance of freshly harvested local ingredients, keeps food enthusiasts on our list of regular clientele. From preparation to presentation, you are sure to receive only the finest.Services and timesCheck-In 02:00 PM Check-Out 10:00 AMWellness & Spa: We have an on-site spa that offers a range of treatments.Wedding Venues: Our wedding venue can host up to 60 guests.Conference Venues: The hotel offers a conference venue for up to 100 delegates cinema styleFacilities and ServicesWheelchair EnabledFireplaceSatellite TV*Credit Card FacilitiesRestaurantOn-site ParkingLanguages SpokenEnglishAfrikaansGrading4 Stars - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mont d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing