We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Selection of all things German”
Review of Roter Hahn

Roter Hahn
Ranked #14 of 32 Restaurants in Clarens
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Selection of all things German”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had a great time!

The Menu is very German - so if you are not a fan, rather just try out the beer, or perhaps a small platter. There's a large selection of German Fare, with just as many condiments. Everything we tried was very tasty, and most enjoyable. On our next visit, we will attempt the remainder of the menu! The Beer was the highlight of our Lunch of Course - such a great selection.

We enjoyed the German Vibe and Background music. We appreciated the decor.

Some of your Staff we're very friendly and helpful, but there was a few that seemed completely disinterested in their work. Your Cloakrooms need some attention.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZizMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    127
    67
    29
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very little quality control”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked a table for dinner to celebrate my birthday and as a vegetarian about the only item on the menu was a cheese platter. The cheeses were good but most of the bread on offer was old and stale. It is such a basic thing, just pay attention and get it right.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mouth watering”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This German restaurant serves great Eisbein with a huge portion of sides. Go hungry and enjoy a big meal and great beer. Traditional German music plays I the background, the outdoor area has a lovely view (just don't look over the deck - needs a clean down there). Still highly recommended

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy_Travel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent German Food and Beer”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had lunch here. We sat outside with a lovely view. Service was good. Food and German beer on tap was excellent. Did not see the manager r owner, which I think is always a nice touch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“German food, beer and deli.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This restaurant has great German food and beers. Other types of food are also served. The prices are reasonable and the outside the restaurant has a great view. It felt a bit like being at a beer festival. We had never had German food before and the variety we tried was an adventure that left us all very happy and definitely fatter!

This is definitely a family restaurant and not a "pub". Their Deli has a variety of foods served in the restaurant.

Service is a bit slow but this is characteristic of the area and not specific to Roter Hahn.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roter Hahn also viewed

 
Clarens, Free State
 

Been to Roter Hahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing