We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience the wonder of nature”
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Gate Hotel
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Experience the wonder of nature”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Golden Gate Hotel is 20km away from the beautiful town of Clarens. We stayed in the self catering bungalows and it was 1st class. The bungalows are very clean and the view is spectacular. There is lot to do for exercise and there are 8 walking trails, from 1 hour to 8 hours. The scenery can be described as "Gods own creation". A family that is active would really enjoy the outdoors. Spending time at Golden Gate is like traveling 20 years back in time. It is really peaceful to be surrounded by the most awesome nature scenery.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    79
    46
    8
    4
See reviews for
40
79
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
208 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed one night in January 2013. The balcony room was really well appointed with an unbelievable view of the 'Golden Gate'. The furnishings were stylish and luxurious and the bathroom-en-suite the biggest I've ever seen! The restaurant, however, was disappointing - not much choice on the menu and the meal we had wasn't great. Breakfast next morning was under-catered for a crowd of conference guests. We took a hike around their local cave area, which was fun and offered even more interesting views, with a scary trip up a rickety ladder. A location well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony (first floor of the hotel) facing the Golden Gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ethnee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The view is stunning! And at night the "Gate" is elumenated which is also stunning! But the charlets is not kept up to date.....the bath was cracked and the ants were there the minute we spilled something! The bedding reaked of smoke - and we asked for a non smoking room....!
We escaped to the small attached room where the linen were a crisped white but the cupboard doors were off?!
Not a good impression....
I would recommend the restaurant as their food were excellent and my husband went for seconds.
So drive passed the Hotel if you want to sleep, but if it's lunch or dinner time....turn in and enjoy!

Room Tip: All the charlets face the Golden Gate, not all the rooms of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyT165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in November 2012.
The hotel is set within amazing scenery. If you are an outdoors person there are many easily accessible walks and drives in the area.
The inside is clean, stylish and comfortable. Couldn't fault our room at all apart from the view of the side of the hill out of our window! The bathroom was very large and clean.
We had the buffet dinner in the restaurant which was good value for money and very tasty.
Didn't use any other facilities so can't comment on those.

We bought some glasses from the gift shop which was actually priced reasonably.

Staff were kind and helpful.

Overall, would recommend for a relaxed stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klake4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

My wife and her 3 sisters stayed at Golden Gate Hotel in "newly revamped" chalet. Linen on single beds were very dirty. No aircon or fan to help with 37o heat. Carpets very dirty. Response from SAN park suggest they are aware of issues

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius Schoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Brandwacht Hotel in the Golden Gate Park towards the end of January and loved the natural beauty which seemed to embrace us! The Hotel accommodation was great and the staff exceptionally helpful and friendly.

The rooms were comfortable but could be problematic during the warmer periods as the ventilation and lack of air conditioning would be a problem, particularly as you cannot leave your sliding doors or windows open due to the local baboons.

The walks were really special and offered magnificent views over the stunning rock formations

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evander
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Visiting here with work colleagues. Stunning views, very comfortable room. Staff friendly and helpful. A visit any time of the year would be worth the effort! The town of Clarens has much to offer and the scenery will feed your soul.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerttravelnovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clarens hotels
11.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
11.4 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
11.3 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 30 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#6 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
11.5 mi away
Ash River Lodge B&B
Ash River Lodge B&B
#9 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Clarens Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Property: Golden Gate Hotel
Address: Golden Gate National Park, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing