We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eddie's is a great place to stay”
Review of Clarens Eddies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarens Eddies
Ranked #2 of 39 Clarens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Lovely Dawn was very insistent that we write a review and here it is:

Totally recommend this place. We (four of us) stayed in one of the smaller quarters which worked for us fine. Dawn also showed us the larger rooms and they were quite something. The rooms were clean and comfortable and I've no bad word about the facilities. The view on the balcony over to the Lesotho mountains was magnificent.

Dawn was very eager to help in any way she could. She also invites quests to join her in early morning walks to the nearby hills, unfortunately we could not manage to go with her this time.

I would not hesitate to go to Eddie's again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efrmfinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Dawn is a wonderfully attentive hostess and our self-catering room with a balcony overlooking the beautiful countryside was very well appointed. We enjoyed its central location and the laid back nature of the town. I would highly recommend Eddie's. Dawn's offer to include us in her morning hike was also very kind and generous.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Ann for just one night but we were delighted with our accommodation that had everything that we needed and more.

A short walk took us to a great German restaurant.

There is new building in the next plot so we were awakened by the sound of the music played by the builders but it didn't last for long. I actually didn't mind waking up to Bob Marley, I must try it at home.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balerno0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Eddie's is very well located, just a few minutes walk from the town centre. Our room, Santa, was comfortable and had all the necessities for self-catering, including a weber on the balcony. It also had a fireplace. Dawn was very welcoming and informative. Unfortunately, we could only stay the one night and had to leave early, so we couldn't join Dawn on her guided morning mountain walk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emielke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife Izzy and I stayed in ANKI, for three nights accompanied by her parents Liz and Andrew. The rooms offered all that we required, and more, for a serious self-catered stay in the serviced apartment.
Dawn made us feel most welcome in this superb spot overlooking the mountains.
It's just a short walk down the main street into Clarens for shopping, eating or tourist purchases or down the non-tarred roads to the tracks into the local mountain reserve area on well marked routes giving a range of easy, to testing tramping. We intend to return in the future with Izzy's brother who also enjoys his "off road" walking and real ale drinking which can be enjoyed at Clarens Brewery by the grassed quadrangle in the centre of Clarens.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dik-bardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this establishment for a weekend. Dawn was very welcoming and gave us a pleasant stay. A quick walk to town. The unit June is well equipped and is spacious.

Well worth the price. And the location is ideal.

Bear in mind if you a light sleeper you will hear the church bells.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yusuf11223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

we arrived at eddies in the pouring rain.Our hostess,Dawn,met us at our car(to pevent us from getting wet) and showed us to our apartment.Wow the kitchen is fully equipped,the rooms and bathrooms are very cosy,the bedding and towels are the best i have ever seen (in SA and abroad)in a sc unit.Dawn advised us where and what to do in and around Clarens.She is a fantastic lady with lots of knowledge about the area,especially the beer tasting which was fun.
We had a fantastic stay and would definitly recommend Eddies to anyone looking for a home away from home.Will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trentkaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
152 reviews
0 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#5 of 39 in Clarens
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
#1 of 39 in Clarens
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarens Retreat
Clarens Retreat
#3 of 39 in Clarens
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mt Rouge Guest House
Mt Rouge Guest House
#14 of 39 in Clarens
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarens Eddies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarens Eddies

Address: 176 Main Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Clarens
Price Range: £28 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eddies Self catering/bed and breakfast (b&b) offers 3 self-catering units named Santa, June, and Anki. The units Ada and Ann each are rooms only and not equipped for self-catering. They each offer a microwave, bar fridge, and electric kettle. The units Santa, Ada and Ann each sleep 2. The unit June sleeps 4 and the unit Anki sleeps 6. In total Eddies sleep, 16 guests. Find out more on our available Clarens Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Clarens Eddies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing