We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and terrible service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maluti Mountain Lodge
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The room we stayed in looked nothing like the broachers or the website. They claim to be 3 star lodge, but this lodge is more comparable with a back packers retreat at 4 star price. There are so many beautiful places to stay in Clarens at similar or cheaper prices. Reception staff was exceptionally rude and had a terrible attitude. The only pleasant thing about this place was the beautiful view at breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chivaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at Maluti Mountain Lodge for the first time over Easter Weekend...it was about a 15 minute walk into an exceptionally busy town from there. The lodge itself is a great venue for bikers except for the poor quality of the toilet rolls, some due consideration should be given the sometimes saddle sore riders...Dude that stuff was unforgiving!!!!. However the place is casual and friendly with a great breakfast. Walking back from town after dinner and a few drinks is safe, just bring a torch for the road.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 but they all looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McGuigan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The lodge is located approx 1km outside on the way to Betlehem. The rooms are clean, functional and no-frill. Bar and breakfast really nice. Reception friendly and helpful. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Hospitable, functional hotel accommodation with old friends. Warm and comfortable rooms with everything you need for an enjoyable weekend away. Lovely views from the hotel of the Maluti Mountains. Tasty breakfast each morning, served by Anna and her helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillyS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Maluti Mountain Lodge provides simple, comfortable accommodation to use as your base for exploring the village of Clarens and the Eastern Free State in South Africa.
This is surely one of the most beautiful parts of the country with its magnificent sandstone formations and wide skies and is well worth a meandering visit.
We went for the Clarens Craft Beer Festival (held each year in February) and wanted somewhere far enough away that the festivities would not bother us. Maluti Mountain Lodge was a good choice, the individual units with their own verandahs providing the perfect spot to watch the sunrise with a cup of coffee.
The television was not working, but to be fair we didn't report it, and I'm quite sure they would have attended to it had they known. I also think the mattress in our room could have done with replacing, I was fine but my husband mentioned he was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zakaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed there twice. Its a biker friendly venue with lovely clean and practical rooms. Breakfast realy great and dinner menu simple but very good. Food well prepared and tasty. Service good and staff very friendly.
Its a smoke free lodge and that is a BIG PLUS. Designated smoking areas are available for smokers and they are very welcome anyway.
Well done Dan and staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leontjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

What a lovely place to stay over the new year period. The breakfast which is included were exactly what we needed.

They went out of the way to accommodate us, and must state that the room with the airconditioning were a plus over the very warm period.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the airconditioning room if you travel during warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AniaGauteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarens
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
310 reviews
0 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
161 reviews
15.4 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#2 of 36 in Clarens
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
By the Way Guesthouse
By the Way Guesthouse
#15 of 39 in Clarens
50 reviews
5.7 mi away
Baris Guesthouse
Baris Guesthouse
#8 of 39 in Clarens
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maluti Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maluti Mountain Lodge

Address: Steil Street, Clarens, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Clarens
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing