We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What can I say but wow!”

The lazy Gecko cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Clarens
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We specialize in Breakfast, light lunch, pancakes and waffles (savoury and sweet).
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What can I say but wow!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Spending a day in Clarens, I decided to go have lunch at this coffee shop and had one of the best meals I have had in a very long time. Tried the tomato soup and it was perfect, it reminded me of home. It came with some corn fritters that was absolutely divine. Staff was so friendly and food came out quick. They make the best cappuccino. Also tried their caramel banana pancake..amazing! I can recommend this place to anyone going to Clarens. I know they will see me shortly again. Jvz

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnvz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had lunch here. Two sandwiches. Slow service (under-staffed) and somewhat overpriced. No liquor licence.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 3pakx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decadence at its finest”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The lazy Gecko what can be said about a little cafe in a small but elegant town of Clarens, offering menu items such as wholesome savoury pancakes and sweet decadent waffles. One can sit and enjoy a fine coffee or full bodied creamy milkshake while enjoying reading a book and nibbling on one of many options of savoury pancakes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sweetest tasts”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Cakes and more cakes to die for. You just have to try all of it, you won't be sorry and most defenately be back for more i promise

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannes E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great burger!”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Friendly staff, very well priced burger, which was delicious. The rest of the party had pancakes. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The lazy Gecko cafe also viewed

 

Been to The lazy Gecko cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing