We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful accomodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Clarens Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful accomodation.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We has a great stay at Clarens Country House. It was affordable and went beyond our expectations. From the nightcap that is left on the table in the room, the free vouchers they give you, the friendly owners to the spacious and comfortable rooms, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni W, Owner at The Clarens Country House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your great review. It's great to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.
With best wishes,
Toni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    35
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great stay at the country house, friendly staff and the loft was a great private room with really good facilities. Spent 4 nights and it was perfect with Golden Gate reserver close by and Clarens just down the road. Would definitely recommend, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni W, Owner at The Clarens Country House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your very positive review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
With best wishes,
Toni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent an evening in one of the units in the Clarens Country House on the way to the Cape. It is in a lovely setting and it is equipped with everything you need for self-catering. Close to restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni W, Owner at The Clarens Country House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your very positive comments. We trust that you had a good journey, and hopefully, you'll be able to stay a little longer next time.
With best wishes,
Toni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely private self catering cottage - perfectly clean and stylishly furnished. We had a lovely undisturbed stay, hosts fabulous, highly recommended!! Accommodation very close to Clarens but nice and private too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni W, Owner at The Clarens Country House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your fantastic comments. It's great to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay.
With best wishes,
Toni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After a very long trip an route back home from our holiday destination, we arrived at The Clarens Country House tired and worn out. We were greeted with warmth and friendliness, and upon entering our unit, we immediately noticed all the effort that went into even the smallest details. The wonderful supply of coffee, teas, biscuits and rusks, and a very welcome carafe of sherry. The rooms and bathrooms are very well appointed, and we had a lovely time relaxing in the autumn sun on the stoep. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni W, Owner at The Clarens Country House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. Yes - the stoep is great for warming up in the sun - and we've now installed new stoves on the stoep to make it extra warm in winter.
With best wishes,
Toni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were so pleasantly surprised by the little extras that you provided. The simplest things like wall heaters, electric blankets, sherry to warm up and even coffee, sugar and milk. For self-catering, this was almost in a category "semi-catering".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni W, Owner at The Clarens Country House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments. It's great to know that our guests have had an enjoyable stay.
With best wishes,
Toni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have a very quick brief stay at the Clarens Country House but will go back.

We arrived very late and our hosts accommodated us by staying up late to meet us. The accommodation was good. The rooms are nicely decorated and we were well looked after with the little things like rusks, fresh milk, wide variety of coffee and tea and the well deserved sherry when we arrived. Not to mention the much needed electric blankets! My only fault is the pillows that gave us all neck ache and should be replaced.

The view is lovely and the golf course surroundings provide a nice walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni W, Owner at The Clarens Country House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the comment about the pillows. We are now putting extra pillows in every room so that our guests have a choice of different pillows to use.
With best wishes,
Toni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 29 in Clarens
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 29 in Clarens
162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#6 of 38 in Clarens
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ash River Lodge B&B
Ash River Lodge B&B
#9 of 38 in Clarens
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarens Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarens Country House

Property: The Clarens Country House
Address: 213 Clarens Golf and Trout Estate | Clarens, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Clarens Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast suites with self-catering facilities. Large spacious bedrooms (kingsize or twin beds) with en-suite bathrooms (bath and shower). Each suite has a private lounge area, fireplace and kitchenette. Free WiFi and satellite TV. Generous home-cooked breakfast served in the dining room or delivered to the guest's apartment at a pre-arranged time. Situated in a quiet area on the secure Clarens Golf Estate. Private off-road parking and a large garden with barbeque facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarens Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing